[CDB] gTranslate

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Scam Warning
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 6700
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James

[CDB] gTranslate

Post by HiFiKabin »

Extension Name: gTranslate Image Image
Author: HiFiKabin

Extension Description: Adds gTranslate to your board. This is a replacement for my Google Translator whose code is now at its end of life

Screenshots:


Image


Image


Limitations: This extension packages the gTranslate code for easy use on phpBB so its operation is limited to how they have written that code.

The gTranslate code translates THE WHOLE PAGE, including Topics, Categories, Usernames etc.

Some spaces in the template are removed but this does not affect readability.

If you are using the board in a translated language not all of the Moderation Tools will function.

It sets the default language to that of your browser.

Omit Translation: You can omit text from being translated by one of the following methods:-

1) HTML (Template files)

Wrap the text you want to be omitted within

Code: Select all

<span class="notranslate"></span>
2) BBCode (Posts and PM's)

BBCode Usage

Code: Select all

[notranslate]{TEXT}[/notranslate]
HTML Replacement

Code: Select all

<span class="notranslate">{TEXT}</span>.
Help Line

Code: Select all

NoTranslate

Extension Version: 3.3.1


Language: All

Supported Styles: All

How to change the default colours: Styling

Live Demo: HERE

IMPORTANT: If you are migrating from my Google translator extension, you MUST disable it as well as delete its Data BEFORE installing gTranslate

Download : HERE

Installation:
  • Download the latest release and unzip it.
  • Upload the folder hifikabin to root/ext/ and enable it in the ACP
Support:

My extensions board or the CDB topic
User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 26636
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am

Re: [3.3][RC] gTranslate

Post by Mick »

Very nice, smooth and quick. It even works with Afrikaans👍🏼
  • "The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski©
  • "The good news is hell is just the product of a morbid human imagination.
    The bad news is, whatever humans can imagine, they can usually create.
    " - Harmony Cobel
mrix2000
Registered User
Posts: 1210
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 2:23 pm

Re: [3.3][RC] gTranslate

Post by mrix2000 »

Thanks for your efforts on getting this up and running.
Just a couple of questions firstly the scroll bar seems a little small so much so I never initially noticed it, is there a way to slightly thicken it ? obviously when using the mobile phone there is no issue as you can simply scroll it with your finger but when using my laptop its more difficult.
Secondly will there be any chance of being able to incorporate it into the actual theme at any point ?
Thanks again
mrix2000
Registered User
Posts: 1210
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 2:23 pm

Re: [3.3][RC] gTranslate

Post by mrix2000 »

Not sure how this system works :?
My default language on this EXT is English but when I create a topic in Spanish text it stays in Spanish ? I then thought I would need to click the English in the drop down menu again but I dont have the option there as its already set to EN Default ?
Confused ............. could it be for some reason because I posted Spanish text ? not sure how this system works etc :?
mrix2000
Registered User
Posts: 1210
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 2:23 pm

Re: [3.3][RC] gTranslate

Post by mrix2000 »

From what I can tell it basically translates a English forum to whatever language ?
If anyone creates a post in another language it stays in that language, this never happened before with Google translate.
or am I missing something ?
User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 6700
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James

Re: [3.3][RC] gTranslate

Post by HiFiKabin »

mrix2000 wrote: Sun Jul 02, 2023 9:25 pm Thanks for your efforts on getting this up and running.
Just a couple of questions firstly the scroll bar seems a little small so much so I never initially noticed it, is there a way to slightly thicken it ? obviously when using the mobile phone there is no issue as you can simply scroll it with your finger but when using my laptop its more difficult.
Not that I have found, but you can change the colour of the scrollbar by adding the following to the bottom of the extensions CSS file and changing the colours to make it move visible, remembering to purge the browser cache to see the changes

Code: Select all

.gt_container--hich1m .gt_switcher .gt_option {
	scrollbar-color: red yellow;
}
mrix2000 wrote: Sun Jul 02, 2023 9:25 pm Secondly will there be any chance of being able to incorporate it into the actual theme at any point ?
Thanks again
Do you mean a dropdown like Google Translate was? Yes, that will happen Is now in RC2
mrix2000 wrote: Sun Jul 02, 2023 9:49 pm Not sure how this system works :?
My default language on this EXT is English but when I create a topic in Spanish text it stays in Spanish ? I then thought I would need to click the English in the drop down menu again but I dont have the option there as its already set to EN Default ?
Confused ............. could it be for some reason because I posted Spanish text ? not sure how this system works etc :?
The 'problem' with gTranslate is that it was designed for static pages in one language. Having multiple languages on the same page confuses it. I have been in contact with gTranslate and they are passing my query up the design chain to see if anything can be done. (which also answers your last point)

I am afraid that this is the best I can find from whats available right now. Hopefully this will improve, or a better option might become available.
User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 6700
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James

Re: [3.3][RC] gTranslate

Post by HiFiKabin »

3.3.0-RC2 now available.

Update from previous version:
  • Download the latest release and unzip it.
  • Disable gTranslate in the ACP
  • Delete the gTranslate folder from the server
  • Upload the folder hifikabin to root/ext/ and enable gTranslate in the ACP
With many thanks to those who have made many helpful suggestions and tweaks
SeewolfPK
Registered User
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 10:18 am

Re: [3.3][RC] gTranslate

Post by SeewolfPK »

Thanks, the new Button-Position is very good.

Hope that the problems with Multilanguage will fix soon.
Best wishes
Paul
User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 6700
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James

Re: [3.3][RC] gTranslate

Post by HiFiKabin »

So do I, but we are all in the hands of the gTranslate team
SeewolfPK
Registered User
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 10:18 am

Re: [3.3][RC] gTranslate

Post by SeewolfPK »

I am astonished that in my german forum translation to dutch works with Multilanguage.
Translation to english works sometimes.
Best wishes
Paul
User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 6700
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James

Re: [3.3][RC] gTranslate

Post by HiFiKabin »

Both Dutch and English have a lot of words the originated in German, so that is probably why gTranslate can cope with them as well as it does
SeewolfPK
Registered User
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 10:18 am

Re: [3.3][RC] gTranslate

Post by SeewolfPK »

HiFiKabin wrote: Mon Jul 03, 2023 11:00 am Both Dutch and English have a lot of words the originated in German,
The lot of words translate to dutch if written in german or english
Some words translate to english if written in dutch

No word is translate to german, when written in dutch and english in the forum which has normaly german language.
Best wishes
Paul
SeewolfPK
Registered User
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 10:18 am

Re: [3.3][RC] gTranslate

Post by SeewolfPK »

Mistake?

Since the button for language has new position, I can not reach personal space via Username.
personal space.jpg

Can you put the button more left?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Best wishes
Paul
User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 6700
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James

Re: [3.3][RC] gTranslate

Post by HiFiKabin »

Thanks for that, I'll look into it straight away
User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 6700
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James

Re: [3.3][RC] gTranslate

Post by HiFiKabin »

Fixed in RC3

OPEN

gtranslate_navbar.css

FIND

Code: Select all

.gt_switcher_wrapper {
	position: relative !important;
}

REPLACE WITH

Code: Select all

.gt_switcher_wrapper {
	position: relative !important;
	z-index: 1 !important;
}
SAVE>UPLOAD>PURGE BROWSER CACHE

Return to “Extensions in Development”