Does the Prune Posts option remove them from the database?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.3.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
wonder_wonder
Registered User
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:52 pm

Does the Prune Posts option remove them from the database?

Post by wonder_wonder »

I have this doubt;
I have a large forum (which I converted from another forum) so I created a forum with the auto purge option enabled.
The idea is to delete certain subforums that I want to delete, by clicking on delete said subforum I indicate that it move all the messages to the forum where I have enabled the auto purge function.
I have tried a few, it deletes them but....are these deleted from the database?

I ask this because I did not see the size of the database decrease.

I suppose the doubt will arise; Why do I move them to the forum created with the auto purge option instead of deleting directly?

Because with the move option, it takes seconds, if I click delete... there are hundreds of thousands of posts...

Thanks
Last edited by Mick on Tue Apr 23, 2024 7:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Solved.
User avatar
warmweer
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 11372
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:34 am
Location: Van Allen Bel ... gium

Re: Does the Prune Posts option remove them from the database?

Post by warmweer »

wonder_wonder wrote: Tue Apr 16, 2024 11:03 pm I ask this because I did not see the size of the database decrease.
To decrease the size of the database, you need to optimise/defragment the database.
Spelling is freeware, which means you can use it for free.
On the other hand, it is not open source, which means you cannot change it or publish it in a modified form.


Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.
wonder_wonder
Registered User
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:52 pm

Re: Does the Prune Posts option remove them from the database?

Post by wonder_wonder »

warmweer wrote: Tue Apr 16, 2024 11:07 pm
wonder_wonder wrote: Tue Apr 16, 2024 11:03 pm I ask this because I did not see the size of the database decrease.
To decrease the size of the database, you need to optimise/defragment the database.
Ok, thanks for the prompt response.
The truth is that he was "worried", he thought that they would remain in the database, with some type of mark so that they would not appear...
Ok, if they are deleted from the database and the only thing I have to do is optimize it, perfect then, as I indicated, he had doubts that I would delete them from the database.

I am going to wait a few hours for the next purge, this time I have set it to purge about 200k posts, it will have to reduce the size of the database.

I optimized, but it increased the size a little and that led me to think about the possibility that it did not eliminate them...

That said, thank you very much for your response.
User avatar
warmweer
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 11372
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:34 am
Location: Van Allen Bel ... gium

Re: Does the Prune Posts option remove them from the database?

Post by warmweer »

Upon rereading your opening post, it seems to me you moved posts from a forum to another forum, and are relying on the autopurge to delete the posts. Perhaps the autopurge hasn't set in yet.
Last edited by warmweer on Wed Apr 17, 2024 6:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
Spelling is freeware, which means you can use it for free.
On the other hand, it is not open source, which means you cannot change it or publish it in a modified form.


Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.
wonder_wonder
Registered User
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:52 pm

Re: Does the Prune Posts option remove them from the database?

Post by wonder_wonder »

warmweer wrote: Tue Apr 16, 2024 11:28 pm Upon rereading your opening post, it seems to me you moved posts from a forum to another forum, and the rely on an autopurge to delete the posts. Perhaps the autopurge hasn't set in yet.
Yes, it is possible that I explained it wrong, my English is not very good...

Indeed, I did that, I opened a new forum with the autopurge option, and I moved a few posts there, I wanted to do it in phases to see the results (and not move all of them at the same time...).

I think that has happened, it has not been activated yet.

Again, thank you very much for your response.
User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 26639
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am

Re: Does the Prune Posts option remove them from the database?

Post by Mick »

FWIW - deleting data from a database doesn’t recover the space used by the removed data hence it’s necessary to carry out an optimise as mentioned. Don’t forget to backup first.
  • "The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski©
  • "The good news is hell is just the product of a morbid human imagination.
    The bad news is, whatever humans can imagine, they can usually create.
    " - Harmony Cobel
wonder_wonder
Registered User
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:52 pm

Re: Does the Prune Posts option remove them from the database?

Post by wonder_wonder »

Mick wrote: Wed Apr 17, 2024 7:18 am FWIW - deleting data from a database doesn’t recover the space used by the removed data hence it’s necessary to carry out an optimise as mentioned. Don’t forget to backup first.
Thanks again for the reply.
Yes, in past experiences one ends up learning that any change, no matter how small, backup first...

I'm waiting for the autopurge to run in the forum programmed for it, I've already moved a few thousand messages there.

When this autopurge is performed, backup the database as indicated and then click optimize (I do it through phpmyadmin, select all the tables and optimize).

Thanks for the directions, information and help.
wonder_wonder
Registered User
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:52 pm

Re: Does the Prune Posts option remove them from the database?

Post by wonder_wonder »

First of all, I don't know if this reply should go in this topic or it would be better to open a new topic...

After several tests I have seen that the autopurge function works, it eliminates the posts, topics, it eliminates them from the database... but... only if a user accesses the forum who has the autopurge option enabled.

Let me explain, I have configured two subforums with an autopurge option, one of them is in the staff section, it only has access to admins and mods, and I have another one in the general forum, with access to all users.

I realized that the one I have in the staff section was not purged until I entered the subforum, and only those seen on the first page are deleted (if that subforum has 25 pages, for example, they are only deleted those of the page I view).

So I opened another subforum with access for everyone, with the autopurge option, moved two topics there and configured it so that:

"Frequency:
Time in days elapsed between one purge and another." 1 day

"Validity:
Number of days the topic will remain without new messages before automatically deleting it." 1 day

"Expiration:
Number of days the topic will remain without new visits before automatically deleting it." 0 days.

After moving 2 posts (with the last reply 2 years ago) they were not purged even if I viewed them, after more than 1 day, I logged in with a normal user for testing and, as soon as I logged in, they were purged.

So, is it necessary to visit the auto-purging forums for the posts to be purged?

I thought it was an automatic process, with an internal cron and it would purge them as I configure the auto-purge option.

This is very strange to me...

Or do I have something configured wrong?

PS: Sorry for the long reply and my bad English...

Edit: Edit to correct terminology, but not the body of the message :)
User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 53447
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}

Re: Does the Prune Posts option remove them from the database?

Post by Brf »

As you have experienced, the pruning is done when the forum is visited.
wonder_wonder
Registered User
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:52 pm

Re: Does the Prune Posts option remove them from the database?

Post by wonder_wonder »

Brf wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 12:30 pm As you have experienced, the pruning is done when the forum is visited.
Ok, thanks for the confirmation.
I thought that autopurge worked as a cron internally and it was not necessary to visit it...
I thought it could be a problem with some of my configuration.

That said, thanks for the reply and indication

Return to “[3.3.x] Support Forum”