Could not connect to the database - ideas?

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
unktehi
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 3:12 am

Could not connect to the database - ideas?

Post by unktehi » Sat Feb 18, 2006 3:18 am

Template(s) used:

Any and all MODs:

Do you use a port of phpBB:

I'm getting this error when I try to install phpbb:

"phpBB : Critical Error

Could not connect to the database "

I'm not sure if the mySQL/MySQLadmin is installed properly (as the host has never installed either before). I'm not sure if it's a problem with phpbb (me) or with php or mysql/mysqladmin...any ideas?


Version of phpBB:
Version of PHP: unsure
Which database server and version:
Host: MySQL 3.23.54
Did someone install this for you/who: I'm trying to
Is this an upgrade/from what to what: no
Is this a conversion/from what to what: no
Have you searched for your problem: yes
If so, what terms did you try: connect, critical
State the nature of your problem: unable to connect to database
Do you have a test account for us:

Psychotic_Carp
Registered User
Posts: 556
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:45 pm

Post by Psychotic_Carp » Sat Feb 18, 2006 3:21 am

You usually get that when your typing the wrong item in the wrong field.

unktehi
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 3:12 am

Post by unktehi » Sat Feb 18, 2006 3:25 am

Well, I'm not sure what would be typed in the wrong field. I've looked over it several times, and re-tried it several times (and have also installed a forum on another server and it worked fine).

Psychotic_Carp
Registered User
Posts: 556
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:45 pm

Post by Psychotic_Carp » Sat Feb 18, 2006 3:30 am

Could your server be running something other than php4?

unktehi
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 3:12 am

Post by unktehi » Sat Feb 18, 2006 3:31 am

It could be, but I thinkt this is most likely the problem. When I log into the mysql admin this error is displayed:

Your configuration file contains settings (root with no password) that correspond to the default MySQL privileged account. Your MySQL server is running with this default, is open to intrusion, and you really should fix this security hole.

Any idea where the host can get information on fixing this?

unktehi
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 3:12 am

Post by unktehi » Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:07 pm

Is there an article or someplace I can get information on setting up the mysql and php correctly - so that I can send to my hoster?

AcousticJames
Registered User
Posts: 970
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:59 am
Location: St. Cloud, MN
Contact:

Post by AcousticJames » Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:18 pm

The initial MySQL accounts have not been setup. When MySQL is installed, there are two accounts named "root"; one for localhost and one for a hostname/IP address. By default, these accounts do not have a password set, you need to set one. Then you also need to setup two separate user accounts with the same user/pass that aren't admin accounts. One for localhost, one for a hostname/IP address.

Right now, you are trying to use MySQL with the root accounts that have no password set for them. This is a HUGE security risk.

Look at the MySQL documentation at http://dev.mysql.com for information on Securing the initial MySQL accounts and setting up new user accounts. Use that account information in config.php.

unktehi
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 3:12 am

Post by unktehi » Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:23 pm

Thanks - I'll send this info on to the host. Hopefully it'll help them understand things a little bit better.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66471
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:33 pm

why are you using a host that doesn't know what they are doing. I hope you aren't paying for this.

robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

unktehi
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 3:12 am

Post by unktehi » Sat Feb 18, 2006 6:33 pm

No, I'm not paying for it. If it were my choice, I'd switch. I'm helping a friend with his website, and the hoster is his brother - who didn't have php or mysql installed, let alone mysqladmin.

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”