Attachment Mod

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.

Rating:

Excellent!
2035
71%
Very Good
444
16%
Good
175
6%
Fair
54
2%
Poor
156
5%
 
Total votes: 2864

OKCRandy
Registered User
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:07 am
Location: NE of OKC

Post by OKCRandy » Sat Jul 15, 2006 2:57 am

DavidIQ wrote: Turn off the FTP option. You don't need that if you're hosting the files in the same place you're hosting your forum.


Is there any way to upload the files ftp, and then add them to the post. I would not bother asking but I only have dial up in my area. Ftp is a more sure way for me to upload.

Thank you

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 17052
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Post by DavidIQ » Sat Jul 15, 2006 3:00 am

OKCRandy wrote:
DavidIQ wrote:Turn off the FTP option. You don't need that if you're hosting the files in the same place you're hosting your forum.


Is there any way to upload the files ftp, and then add them to the post. I would not bother asking but I only have dial up in my area. Ftp is a more sure way for me to upload.

Thank you

What would the difference be? You'd still have to use the forum with attachment mod to upload the file.

In any case if you insist on using FTP then the path is wrong. Try opening the ftp site via a browser to get the actual path seen by the mod.
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.

OKCRandy
Registered User
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:07 am
Location: NE of OKC

Post by OKCRandy » Sat Jul 15, 2006 3:32 am

DavidIQ wrote:
OKCRandy wrote:
DavidIQ wrote:Turn off the FTP option. You don't need that if you're hosting the files in the same place you're hosting your forum.


Is there any way to upload the files ftp, and then add them to the post. I would not bother asking but I only have dial up in my area. Ftp is a more sure way for me to upload.

Thank you

What would the difference be? You'd still have to use the forum with attachment mod to upload the file.

In any case if you insist on using FTP then the path is wrong. Try opening the ftp site via a browser to get the actual path seen by the mod.


The difference is that if I can upload ftp I can resume if disconnected.

I have used the same info that I use in my BulletProof ftp client. How is this different?

There is a screenshot of the settings in my prior post.

This is what I get in the browser:

ftp://ftp.okcrandy.com/web/okcrandy.com/phpBB2/upload/

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 17052
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Post by DavidIQ » Sat Jul 15, 2006 3:53 am

OKCRandy wrote:
DavidIQ wrote:
OKCRandy wrote:
DavidIQ wrote:Turn off the FTP option. You don't need that if you're hosting the files in the same place you're hosting your forum.


Is there any way to upload the files ftp, and then add them to the post. I would not bother asking but I only have dial up in my area. Ftp is a more sure way for me to upload.

Thank you

What would the difference be? You'd still have to use the forum with attachment mod to upload the file.

In any case if you insist on using FTP then the path is wrong. Try opening the ftp site via a browser to get the actual path seen by the mod.


The difference is that if I can upload ftp I can resume if disconnected.

I have used the same info that I use in my BulletProof ftp client. How is this different?

There is a screenshot of the settings in my prior post.

This is what I get in the browser:

ftp://ftp.okcrandy.com/web/okcrandy.com/phpBB2/upload/

Ummm...I think you have a missunderstanding of how this mod works. There's no way for you to resume the upload using this mod. If the script times out you'll need to restart the upload with or without the FTP setting turned on. The FTP option is if you're not using the same site the forum is in to host the files.
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.

drib
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 6:44 am

Re: Flash Files in Attachment Mod

Post by drib » Sat Jul 15, 2006 4:07 am

DavidIQ wrote:
drib wrote:
DavidIQ wrote:
drib wrote:I have the Attachment Mod installed and I realise that it does allow SWF files to be added as an attachment, but what I have been looking for is a button on the attachment that gives the poster the option of attaching a flash file from his own server by posting a link to it. This way all swf files will not be needed to keep on my own server. I know I have seen this on another phpBB site, but for the life of me, I can't find a mod for this anywhere. I would truly appreciate someone's assistance in locating this mod (or option) or at least pointing me in the right direction.
Thanks in advance!

First...this is the attachment mod thread.

Second...you could just allow html although this could pose a security issue.

Third...you'll need to ask your question in the support forum.


Yes, I realise this is the attachment mod thread...my question was about the attachment mod. Perhaps I wasn't clear. I want to allow people to post flash movies IN AN ATTACHMENT but from their own server. I've seen this option before. When you selected the attachment, there was a flash button and that allowed you to either upload the swf file, or type in your url for where the flash was kept. Either way, it would play in the attachment.
I have posted this question in the Support Forum and was told it was a mod issue. If it's just a matter of altering the BBCode file, could someone please give me a hint. Thanks again.

Is this not what you're trying to accomplish?
http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.ph ... ight=flash


Thank you for your help. The Flash Mod is not the same as what I saw on another site but it effectively does the same thing. The only difference is that the Flash movies are posted directly into the forum instead of as an attachment but as long as it gets the job done, I'm happy. Thanks again.

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 17052
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Re: Flash Files in Attachment Mod

Post by DavidIQ » Sat Jul 15, 2006 4:09 am

drib wrote: Thank you for your help. The Flash Mod is not the same as what I saw on another site but it effectively does the same thing. The only difference is that the Flash movies are posted directly into the forum instead of as an attachment but as long as it gets the job done, I'm happy. Thanks again.

Hmmm...what website is it?

And what was the problem using attachment mod for attaching swf files again?
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.

OKCRandy
Registered User
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:07 am
Location: NE of OKC

Post by OKCRandy » Sat Jul 15, 2006 5:10 am

DavidIQ wrote:
OKCRandy wrote:
DavidIQ wrote:
OKCRandy wrote:
DavidIQ wrote:Turn off the FTP option. You don't need that if you're hosting the files in the same place you're hosting your forum.


Is there any way to upload the files ftp, and then add them to the post. I would not bother asking but I only have dial up in my area. Ftp is a more sure way for me to upload.

Thank you

What would the difference be? You'd still have to use the forum with attachment mod to upload the file.

In any case if you insist on using FTP then the path is wrong. Try opening the ftp site via a browser to get the actual path seen by the mod.


The difference is that if I can upload ftp I can resume if disconnected.

I have used the same info that I use in my BulletProof ftp client. How is this different?

There is a screenshot of the settings in my prior post.

This is what I get in the browser:

ftp://ftp.okcrandy.com/web/okcrandy.com/phpBB2/upload/

Ummm...I think you have a missunderstanding of how this mod works. There's no way for you to resume the upload using this mod. If the script times out you'll need to restart the upload with or without the FTP setting turned on. The FTP option is if you're not using the same site the forum is in to host the files.


Well I still do not understand why I cannot get it to stop the errors when the settings seem correct. :?

madpwr1
Registered User
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 4:24 am

Post by madpwr1 » Sat Jul 15, 2006 6:16 am

DavidIQ wrote: To change the thumbnail size just change $max_width = 150; in functions_thumbs.php to whatever you'd like. It was 400 before. As far as the tables go you'll just need to edit viewtopic_attach_body.tpl. Like I said...I don't like what the mod author did with the tables so I kept the original file as is. The changes he made basically place the attachments all in one row in the case there's more than one.


yeah i just put it back to how it was originally, i think i may try without the boxes at all like when you use img tags ... anyway i have two questions ... i'm tryin to attach a file that has an "asx" extension, i added it to the extension control and real media once and streams another time as the Extension Group and both settings gives me a response "No post mode specified" when i attempt to attach ... another is the Shadow Attachments in the ACP doesn't show any attachments? does it only show attachments that are no longer attached to any postings or is it suppose to show all attachments? i don't understand how an attachment would still exist if the post has been deleted, wouldn't it get deleted with the post? ... any help on these would be as always much appreciated

User avatar
Kurt R
Registered User
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: After Installing ImageMagick

Post by Kurt R » Sat Jul 15, 2006 6:36 am

Kurt R wrote: New here, so bear with me.
I just finished installing this Mod and ImageMagick and wanted to test out Thumbnails. Had a friend upload and image to see if it would work, unfortunatly he received the following error.

Code: Select all

Warning: passthru(): Unable to fork [C:\Program Files\ImageMagick-6.2.8-Q16\convert.exe -quality 85 -antialias -sample 400x300 "c:/inetpub/wwwroot/phpBB2/files/gw017_139.jpg" +profile "*" "c:/inetpub/wwwroot/phpBB2/files/thumbs/t_gw017_139.jpg"] in c:\inetpub\wwwroot\phpBB2\attach_mod\includes\functions_thumbs.php on line 166

Warning: passthru(): Unable to fork [C:\Program Files\ImageMagick-6.2.8-Q16\convert.exe -quality 85 -antialias -sample 400x300 "C:/PHP/uploadtemp/php710A.tmp" +profile "*" "c:/inetpub/wwwroot/phpBB2/files/thumbs/t_gw017_139.jpg"] in c:\inetpub\wwwroot\phpBB2\attach_mod\includes\functions_thumbs.php on line 166

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at c:\inetpub\wwwroot\phpBB2\attach_mod\includes\functions_thumbs.php:166) in c:\inetpub\wwwroot\phpBB2\includes\page_header.php on line 483

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at c:\inetpub\wwwroot\phpBB2\attach_mod\includes\functions_thumbs.php:166) in c:\inetpub\wwwroot\phpBB2\includes\page_header.php on line 485

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at c:\inetpub\wwwroot\phpBB2\attach_mod\includes\functions_thumbs.php:166) in c:\inetpub\wwwroot\phpBB2\includes\page_header.php on line 486 
I tested convert.exe before all of this and the test worked fine.
Any help would be greatly appricated. :)


How often does the Author of the Mod check these forums?
I am still having an issue and haven't gotten any response.
HELP PLEASE

Qudeid
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:17 pm

Post by Qudeid » Sat Jul 15, 2006 8:30 am

@David: It worked here properly. Had the Thumbnails as I wanted them to, and I had the comments as i wanted them. I mean, that they show up. That was no big deal to do so...

Code: Select all

	<tr>
		<td align="center" valign="middle"><a href="{postrow.attach.cat_thumb_images.IMG_SRC}" target="_blank"><img src="{postrow.attach.cat_thumb_images.IMG_THUMB_SRC}" alt="{postrow.attach.cat_thumb_images.DOWNLOAD_NAME}, {postrow.attach.cat_thumb_images.FILESIZE} {postrow.attach.cat_thumb_images.SIZE_VAR}
		{postrow.attach.cat_thumb_images.L_DOWNLOADED_VIEWED} {postrow.attach.cat_thumb_images.L_DOWNLOAD_COUNT}" border="0" /></a><br /><span class="gensmall">{L_CLICKFULLSIZE}</span></td>
			<tr>
				<td class="attachrow" valign="top" align="center" height="125"><span class="gensmall"><b>{L_COMMENTARY}</b><br />{postrow.attach.cat_thumb_images.COMMENT}</span></td>
			</tr>
	</tr>
this "L_COMMENTARY" Variable. Is one I added personally, because I wanted to have a "Comment:" like in this cell... Anyway, that's not the problem at all.
The only thing that's the problem is, that I want this comment cell to vanish if there is no comment in the comment variable for that particular image.
Therefore I posted the Topic of my forums which contains images. To make it more clear what I want: http://wv.awardspace.com/WV/viewtopic.php?p=21#21

See Anny's images? There are no comments, right? Well, then I want them to vanish and not have such a empty box.

I'm skilled enough to know that this can be handles with some kind of it-clause. But I know that HTML does not have such a clause, but PHP has. And I know that in the tpl-files there is no php code possible (without this one extreme style mod, or what ever it is called, which I don't know what it changes). So I ask if there is another way. Like as a friend of mine said, in editing the php-files (here, display.php). I said to him, that the phps are not resposible for the visual thing, but the tpls are... Anyway.. I've cam to a dead-end.

@Kurt: As far as I know IMagick has to be on the server, not somewhere in your local directories. I might be wrong, though. But there is not always a need for ImageMagick. It works with the PHP's "GD1/2" as well. At least for me.

@Randy: Just switch of this "FTP-Upload" if you want to upload the attachments on the same server as your forum is located. FTP-Upload is only if you use the webspace elsewhere. Let's say...

Scenery 1:

Forum is on server A of your host A. There you have enough webspace to upload enough stuff. Then you switch of this "FTP-Upload".

Scenery 2:

Forum is on server A of your host A. But there is only enough webspace to place the forum on, so you have another host (B), that provides you with webspace. THEN you need to activate "FTP-Upload" and fill in the username and password and of course the adress of that host B. For the Mod won't upload on the server of host A but on the server of host B...

If that didn't make it clear for you, then I don't know...
madpwr1 wrote: yeah i just put it back to how it was originally, i think i may try without the boxes at all like when you use img tags ... anyway i have two questions ... i'm tryin to attach a file that has an "asx" extension, i added it to the extension control and real media once and streams another time as the Extension Group and both settings gives me a response "No post mode specified" when i attempt to attach ... another is the Shadow Attachments in the ACP doesn't show any attachments? does it only show attachments that are no longer attached to any postings or is it suppose to show all attachments? i don't understand how an attachment would still exist if the post has been deleted, wouldn't it get deleted with the post? ... any help on these would be as always much appreciated


Yes, these Shadow-Attachmetns are only for attachments that are in no PM or Post. And it is possible. If you upload something and it's completely uploaded and you lose the connection or something. It happend sometimes in my forum.
To see what attachments there are (not the shadow ones) go to the ACP and click on the first entry unter "Attachments", then there should be somewhere a dropdown-bar (right upper corner, I think it was) there you can chose "Attachments" and this will show you every single attachment that is in your forum. It shows you even where to find it (PM, or which post).

Evilthing
Registered User
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 5:15 pm

Re: [2.0.19] Attachment Mod

Post by Evilthing » Sat Jul 15, 2006 12:54 pm

Hi, i don't quite understand..
Where do you put the file?
On the forum directory?

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 17052
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Re: After Installing ImageMagick

Post by DavidIQ » Sat Jul 15, 2006 12:56 pm

Kurt R wrote:
Kurt R wrote:New here, so bear with me.
I just finished installing this Mod and ImageMagick and wanted to test out Thumbnails. Had a friend upload and image to see if it would work, unfortunatly he received the following error.

Code: Select all

Warning: passthru(): Unable to fork [C:\Program Files\ImageMagick-6.2.8-Q16\convert.exe -quality 85 -antialias -sample 400x300 "c:/inetpub/wwwroot/phpBB2/files/gw017_139.jpg" +profile "*" "c:/inetpub/wwwroot/phpBB2/files/thumbs/t_gw017_139.jpg"] in c:\inetpub\wwwroot\phpBB2\attach_mod\includes\functions_thumbs.php on line 166

Warning: passthru(): Unable to fork [C:\Program Files\ImageMagick-6.2.8-Q16\convert.exe -quality 85 -antialias -sample 400x300 "C:/PHP/uploadtemp/php710A.tmp" +profile "*" "c:/inetpub/wwwroot/phpBB2/files/thumbs/t_gw017_139.jpg"] in c:\inetpub\wwwroot\phpBB2\attach_mod\includes\functions_thumbs.php on line 166

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at c:\inetpub\wwwroot\phpBB2\attach_mod\includes\functions_thumbs.php:166) in c:\inetpub\wwwroot\phpBB2\includes\page_header.php on line 483

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at c:\inetpub\wwwroot\phpBB2\attach_mod\includes\functions_thumbs.php:166) in c:\inetpub\wwwroot\phpBB2\includes\page_header.php on line 485

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at c:\inetpub\wwwroot\phpBB2\attach_mod\includes\functions_thumbs.php:166) in c:\inetpub\wwwroot\phpBB2\includes\page_header.php on line 486 
I tested convert.exe before all of this and the test worked fine.
Any help would be greatly appricated. :)


How often does the Author of the Mod check these forums?
I am still having an issue and haven't gotten any response.
HELP PLEASE

He wouldn't be able to help you much with this anyways. It's an Imagick problem you're having not a mod problem so you'll need to get help in a Imagick support forum.
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 17052
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Post by DavidIQ » Sat Jul 15, 2006 12:59 pm

Qudeid wrote: this "L_COMMENTARY" Variable. Is one I added personally, because I wanted to have a "Comment:" like in this cell... Anyway, that's not the problem at all.
The only thing that's the problem is, that I want this comment cell to vanish if there is no comment in the comment variable for that particular image.
Therefore I posted the Topic of my forums which contains images. To make it more clear what I want: http://wv.awardspace.com/WV/viewtopic.php?p=21#21

See Anny's images? There are no comments, right? Well, then I want them to vanish and not have such a empty box.

I'm skilled enough to know that this can be handles with some kind of it-clause. But I know that HTML does not have such a clause, but PHP has. And I know that in the tpl-files there is no php code possible (without this one extreme style mod, or what ever it is called, which I don't know what it changes). So I ask if there is another way. Like as a friend of mine said, in editing the php-files (here, display.php). I said to him, that the phps are not resposible for the visual thing, but the tpls are... Anyway.. I've cam to a dead-end.

Like I said...this is possible but you'll have to wait until I can sit down and add some code for that.
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 17052
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Post by DavidIQ » Sat Jul 15, 2006 1:06 pm

madpwr1 wrote: i'm tryin to attach a file that has an "asx" extension, i added it to the extension control and real media once and streams another time as the Extension Group and both settings gives me a response "No post mode specified" when i attempt to attach ...

I lost you on this one... so I'll ask how big are these files?
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.

Evilthing
Registered User
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 5:15 pm

Post by Evilthing » Sat Jul 15, 2006 1:07 pm

I don't understand how to do these mods?
Were do i save the files ect...
Is there a tutorail on installing mods?

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”