IP Address: How can I get the user's IP w/no posts?

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
IgnorantNewGuy
Registered User
Posts: 452
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 9:27 pm

IP Address: How can I get the user's IP w/no posts?

Post by IgnorantNewGuy » Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:26 am

A user hasn't posted yet and I don't want them to. I want to ban them via IP, but because they haven't posted yet, how can I get their IP?

User avatar
Marshalrusty
Project Manager
Project Manager
Posts: 29253
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:45 pm
Location: New York City
Name: Yuriy Rusko
Contact:

Re: IP Address: How can I get the user's IP w/no posts?

Post by Marshalrusty » Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:32 am

IgnorantNewGuy wrote: A user hasn't posted yet and I don't want them to. I want to ban them via IP, but because they haven't posted yet, how can I get their IP?

phpBB only stores IPs when users post. The only way to do his would be to either catch the user online and get the IP from the who is online in the administration panel, or to check the server access logs.
Have comments/praise/complaints/suggestions? Please feel free to PM me.

Need private help? Hire me for all your phpBB and web development needs

IgnorantNewGuy
Registered User
Posts: 452
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 9:27 pm

Post by IgnorantNewGuy » Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:46 am

I'll try the server access logs. I know when they were on last. Thanks a bunch! Now I just need to figure out how to do that. :) I'm sure my host can help out.

morestuff
Registered User
Posts: 816
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 6:19 am

Post by morestuff » Sun Feb 25, 2007 6:17 am

you won't be able to ban them via IP anyway. most people get a new IP everything they logon to the internet.

IgnorantNewGuy
Registered User
Posts: 452
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 9:27 pm

Post by IgnorantNewGuy » Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:47 am

Well, that is partly true, especially true with AOL but many others are static if they're with the big ones.

User avatar
karlsemple
Former Team Member
Posts: 39802
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Hereford, UK
Contact:

Post by karlsemple » Sun Feb 25, 2007 8:17 am

IgnorantNewGuy wrote: Well, that is partly true, especially true with AOL but many others are static if they're with the big ones.



Very few are static, most ISP's only assign static IP's if the user pays extra, I know my ISP charges a small fortune for one. If you are having spam bot problems you should give the VIP mod a go, if you are having a user problem you are best reporting them to their ISP via the abuse contact email you will find when doing a lookup of their IP :)
Image

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”