prosilver GDK v0.1 for translators

Having a question about translating phpBB3? Want to discuss and collaborate with people currently translating phpBB3? Here would be the correct place to do so.
Ideas Centre
User avatar
wilkc
Registered User
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2002 2:43 am
Location: Tampa, FL
Contact:

Re: prosilver GDK v0.1 for translators

Post by wilkc »

Is it possible to break out the main file into smaller files? When I try to load the file in PS, I get an error message saying I'm out of memory.

I just need the site_logo.psd file...

THanks,
wilkc
NWTAMPA.COM
Serving NW Tampa
Kail
Former Team Member
Posts: 4924
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2001 9:57 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: prosilver GDK v0.1 for translators

Post by Kail »

I've taken the GDK into FWCS3, and I am now cleaning up the layer structure since there's a lot of nesting which makes things overly complex. I've recreated the buttons as 9-slice-scaled symbols so you can scale them as necessary (don't forget to edit the imageset .cfg file too!). The other graphics are as they were.

Jakob Persson - Style Designer, Freelance Web Designer, Usability Consultant and Developer | BLOG | PORTFOLIO
My Complete phpBB Template Design Guide
Creator of Chronicles, SpacePilot3K (updated!), Solaris, Cobalt 2.0 and JustFooty.
Image phpbb-se.com - phpBB på svenska!
User avatar
angelside
Registered User
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Türkiye
Contact:

Re: prosilver GDK v0.1 for translators

Post by angelside »

Why use commercial font? I don't agree :x
phpBB Türkiye | Turkish phpBB3 support and develop
phpBB3 Portal | simple portal for phpBB3 Olympus
Kail
Former Team Member
Posts: 4924
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2001 9:57 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: prosilver GDK v0.1 for translators

Post by Kail »

It's a valid point, since there are hundreds of free quality fonts by now, as is evident here:
http://www.alvit.de/blog/article/20-bes ... cial-fonts

But it's a discussion that should be taken elsewhere. After all, no one forces you to use Helvetica Neue.

Jakob Persson - Style Designer, Freelance Web Designer, Usability Consultant and Developer | BLOG | PORTFOLIO
My Complete phpBB Template Design Guide
Creator of Chronicles, SpacePilot3K (updated!), Solaris, Cobalt 2.0 and JustFooty.
Image phpbb-se.com - phpBB på svenska!
rødøye
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 6:31 pm

Re: prosilver GDK v0.1 for translators

Post by rødøye »

I have put slices on the file, but it is rather creepy and should not be used for anything but temp. buttons untill final release.

Rødøye @ phpbb.no
Attachments
gdk_sliced_buttons.rar
with slices
(108.93 KiB) Downloaded 727 times
Jeg kom, jeg så, og jeg gikk igjen (Cæsar)
Norwegian support: phpbb.no
I appologise for my bad English, and hope you understand me!
User avatar
lurttinen
Translator
Posts: 4670
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 12:05 pm

Re: prosilver GDK v0.1 for translators

Post by lurttinen »

Looks like the lower half of the "quote" button is 1px lower than the one that comes with the RC1.
This makes the whole button jump up and down when hovering over it.
(Checked this by copying the outlines from GDK to the button in RC1 and they did not align) :ugeek:
Signature is here
Kail
Former Team Member
Posts: 4924
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2001 9:57 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: prosilver GDK v0.1 for translators

Post by Kail »

Yeah I noticed that too when I sliced it in Fireworks. It's easy to fix though.

Jakob Persson - Style Designer, Freelance Web Designer, Usability Consultant and Developer | BLOG | PORTFOLIO
My Complete phpBB Template Design Guide
Creator of Chronicles, SpacePilot3K (updated!), Solaris, Cobalt 2.0 and JustFooty.
Image phpbb-se.com - phpBB på svenska!
dvyjones
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 11:11 am

Re: prosilver GDK v0.1 for translators

Post by dvyjones »

Very annoying with the fonts, I have them, but Photoshop says I don't so I have to set the font manually, because it has a different name in the PSD file
User avatar
lurttinen
Translator
Posts: 4670
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 12:05 pm

Re: prosilver GDK v0.1 for translators

Post by lurttinen »

I'm not sure, but doesnt photoshop have a replace option in the menus to replace all fonts at once?
Signature is here
User avatar
IoanFilipov
Translator
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 7:40 pm

Re: prosilver GDK v0.1 for translators

Post by IoanFilipov »

lurttinen wrote:I'm not sure, but doesnt photoshop have a replace option in the menus to replace all fonts at once?
Yes, select all layers (these who you want to edit) then click on Horizontal Type Tool and change the font. This will change all fonts in selected layers with the choosen one.
User avatar
Infarinato
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: prosilver GDK v0.1 for translators

Post by Infarinato »

If I’m not mistaken, the “ONLINE” diagonal banner is missing, too…?
User avatar
Raimon
Former Team Member
Posts: 12088
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Netherlands
Name: Raimon Meuldijk
Contact:

Re: prosilver GDK v0.1 for translators

Post by Raimon »

Infarinato wrote:If I’m not mistaken, the “ONLINE” diagonal banner is missing, too…?
That was al mentioned by dhn in his first posting ;)
Need phpBB installation, extenstions, Styles or integrate phpBB with you website?
Contact me for fair prices and good service!
User avatar
Infarinato
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: prosilver GDK v0.1 for translators

Post by Infarinato »

Raimon wrote:That was al mentioned by dhn in his first posting ;)
Oops! I do apologize: I completely missed that line out. :oops:

So, no PSDs for those banners yet?… I’m asking because I saw some people (e.g., Arabic) have already translated them… :?
“Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler.” (A. Einstein)
Veron
Registered User
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 6:14 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: prosilver GDK v0.1 for translators

Post by Veron »

I realy don't get how to make proper transation of buttons without the same font... :roll:

no ofensive please

Edit: i done Slovenian translation of prosilver icons and buttons (attached). I used Arial font :evil:
http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 6&t=552989
WWay
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 4:45 pm
Location: Россия, Уральский ФО
Contact:

Re: prosilver GDK v0.1 for translators

Post by WWay »

Yes, 'online' banner is missed.
I can say more - text smoothing for diagonal is not correct. So I think you have to convert your text (afrer typing it in horizontal position) into shape and then use 'free transformation. Then yu'll get 1:1 pixels indentic (for 'ONLINE' text with correct font).


btw
Those fonts contain no Cyrillic(
when I've making buttons for Russian translation, I used latin characters (half ot them are same) and used Arial forn for some exotic buttons like Ч or Ц :D

P.S.
When we'll get subsilver2 graphic kit?
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Translations”