Add "User Rank" Column to groupcp.php

This forum is now closed as part of retiring phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

This forum is now closed due to phpBB2.0 being retired.
Post Reply
taifunbrowser
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 2:09 am
Contact:

Add "User Rank" Column to groupcp.php

Post by taifunbrowser »

I'd really like to add a "user rank" column to the "view the members of this user group" page.

http://taif.selfip.com/forums/groupcp.php?g=5

If someone could describe, or even make an entire mod, that achieved this feat, I would be indebted to him muchly. Thank you!


I want this because I've got a single group for "Staff members" (and thereby I can use the group lookup page as the "staff list") but I want the viewer to see each member's "job' (which is their user rank.)

So, you could see which of the staff members are "graphics artists" and which are "steppers" or "judges". However, I find that the "location" column is frivolous, so it would be great if I could remove that.
taifunbrowser
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: Add "User Rank" Column to groupcp.php

Post by taifunbrowser »

bump. Please is the magic word?

edit: forgot to mention that I had previously tried to use this mod: http://david.smigit.com/mdd/?keyword=ra ... opment=yes

but it just didn't seem to apply... the things it wanted me to find (of course couldn't be found), but I didnt' even find anything that looked remotely like it! it looks like groupcp.php handles the members differently :(

I mean, I don't think this is such a complex mod compared to some others I've seen... I'm sure if you had an in depth knowledge of phpbb you could do this in < 5 minutes...
taifunbrowser
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: Add "User Rank" Column to groupcp.php

Post by taifunbrowser »

I'm not giving up on this <_<

Come on guys, its a simple enough request. There's a mod that does it for memberlist.php. Just tell me what to do get it working in groupcp.php!

Thank you.
taifunbrowser
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: Add "User Rank" Column to groupcp.php

Post by taifunbrowser »

3rd bump. This is pretty important to me, guys... At the moment, when people click "staff list", they dont see who does what... just that we're all staff...
taifunbrowser
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: Add "User Rank" Column to groupcp.php

Post by taifunbrowser »

4th bump. I tried again today, and throuroughly killed my local copy, twice. Thankfully, I always have backups.

Come on guys, I have no idea how to do this.
Josh18657
Registered User
Posts: 425
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 9:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Add "User Rank" Column to groupcp.php

Post by Josh18657 »

open templates/subSilver/groupcp_info_body.tpl

find

<th class="thTop">{L_USERNAME}</th>

after add

<th class="thTop">Rank</th>

find

<td class="row1" align="center"><span class="gen"><a href="{U_MOD_VIEWPROFILE}" class="gen">{MOD_USERNAME}</a></span></td>

after add

<td class="row1" align="center"><span class="gen">{MOD_RANK}</span></td>

find

<td class="{member_row.ROW_CLASS}" align="center"><span class="gen"><a href="{member_row.U_VIEWPROFILE}" class="gen">{member_row.USERNAME}</a></span></td>

after add

<td class="{member_row.ROW_CLASS}" align="center"><span class="gen">{RANK}</span></td>

--------------------------------------------

open groupcp.php

find

//
// Add the moderator
//
$username = $group_moderator['username'];
$user_id = $group_moderator['user_id'];

after add

$sql = "SELECT user_rank FROM phpbb_users WHERE user_id=$user_id";
$result = $db->sql_query($sql);
$row = $db->sql_fetchrow($result);
$mod_rank = $row['user_rank'];

$sql = "SELECT rank_title FROM phpbb_ranks WHERE rank_id=$mod_rank";
$result = $db->sql_query($sql);
$row = $db->sql_fetchrow($result);
$mod_rank = $row['rank_title'];

find

'MOD_USERNAME' => $username,

after add

'MOD_RANK' => $mod_rank,

find

$row_color = ( !($i % 2) ) ? $theme['td_color1'] : $theme['td_color2'];
$row_class = ( !($i % 2) ) ? $theme['td_class1'] : $theme['td_class2'];

after add

$sql = "SELECT user_rank FROM phpbb_users WHERE user_id=$user_id";
$result = $db->sql_query($sql);
$row = $db->sql_fetchrow($result);
$user_rank = $row['user_rank'];

$sql = "SELECT rank_title FROM phpbb_ranks WHERE rank_id=$user_rank";
$result = $db->sql_query($sql);
$row = $db->sql_fetchrow($result);
$user_rank = $row['rank_title'];

find

'USERNAME' => $username,

after add

'RANK' => $user_rank,
I can help you edit your forums at a reasonable price, send a PM if you can't get something figured out here.
taifunbrowser
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: Add "User Rank" Column to groupcp.php

Post by taifunbrowser »

One problem, in the:

Code: Select all


find

<td class="{member_row.ROW_CLASS}" align="center"><span class="gen"><a href="{member_row.U_VIEWPROFILE}" class="gen">{member_row.USERNAME}</a></span></td>

after add

<td class="{member_row.ROW_CLASS}" align="center"><span class="gen">{RANK}</span></td>
it should be:

Code: Select all

find

<td class="{member_row.ROW_CLASS}" align="center"><span class="gen"><a href="{member_row.U_VIEWPROFILE}" class="gen">{member_row.USERNAME}</a></span></td>

after add

<td class="{member_row.ROW_CLASS}" align="center"><span class="gen">{member_row.RANK}</span></td>
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!

The final product: http://taif.selfip.com/forums/groupcp.php?g=5

I think in thanks I may learn the .mod format to help others with my same problem. First though, I'm going to try to figure out how to order the members on Rank...
Josh18657
Registered User
Posts: 425
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 9:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Add "User Rank" Column to groupcp.php

Post by Josh18657 »

looks good, to list by user rank I think you need to change, in groupcp.php

$sql = "SELECT u.username, u.user_id, u.user_viewemail, u.user_posts, u.user_regdate, u.user_from, u.user_website, u.user_email, u.user_icq, u.user_aim, u.user_yim, u.user_msnm
FROM " . GROUPS_TABLE . " g, " . USER_GROUP_TABLE . " ug, " . USERS_TABLE . " u
WHERE ug.group_id = $group_id
AND g.group_id = ug.group_id
AND ug.user_pending = 1
AND u.user_id = ug.user_id
ORDER BY u.username";

to

$sql = "SELECT u.username, u.user_id, u.user_viewemail, u.user_posts, u.user_regdate, u.user_from, u.user_website, u.user_email, u.user_icq, u.user_aim, u.user_yim, u.user_msnm
FROM " . GROUPS_TABLE . " g, " . USER_GROUP_TABLE . " ug, " . USERS_TABLE . " u
WHERE ug.group_id = $group_id
AND g.group_id = ug.group_id
AND ug.user_pending = 1
AND u.user_id = ug.user_id
ORDER BY u.user_rank";

but I'm not positive since we don't use ranks on any of my boards

and of course this will only work if the first ranks you added in the acp are the ones you want displayed first
I can help you edit your forums at a reasonable price, send a PM if you can't get something figured out here.
taifunbrowser
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: Add "User Rank" Column to groupcp.php

Post by taifunbrowser »

Well, I tried to replace the whoole block you gave me? and the indenting was all off int he file then (which I thought was fine), but so I refreshed it in the forums and it said "You have no members". So i freaked, and UNDO! UNDO! UNDO!

but so then, all I did was replace

ORDER BY u.username";

with

ORDER BY u.user_rank";

, and then it worked fine.

Thanks! *doo dee doooo*
Josh18657
Registered User
Posts: 425
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 9:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Add "User Rank" Column to groupcp.php

Post by Josh18657 »

glad to help
I can help you edit your forums at a reasonable price, send a PM if you can't get something figured out here.
taifunbrowser
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: Add "User Rank" Column to groupcp.php

Post by taifunbrowser »

Err, one more quick request still in the groupcp.php:

Image

Can I get rid of the row that says to log in to change group memberships if you're a guest? We have a lot of guests see that page, and It would mean alot to me.
taifunbrowser
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: Add "User Rank" Column to groupcp.php

Post by taifunbrowser »

K. did it myself:

In templates/subsilver/groupcp_info_body.tpl:
FIND:

Code: Select all

	<tr> 
		<td class="row1" width="20%"><span class="gen">{L_GROUP_MEMBERSHIP}:</span></td>
		<td class="row2"><span class="gen">{GROUP_DETAILS} &nbsp;&nbsp;
		<!-- BEGIN switch_subscribe_group_input -->
		<input class="mainoption" type="submit" name="joingroup" value="{L_JOIN_GROUP}" />
		<!-- END switch_subscribe_group_input -->
		<!-- BEGIN switch_unsubscribe_group_input -->
		<input class="mainoption" type="submit" name="unsub" value="{L_UNSUBSCRIBE_GROUP}" />
		<!-- END switch_unsubscribe_group_input -->
		</span></td>
	</tr>
And delete it.

Now, once again, my forums are special, because I manually put my staff members on staff... I handle applications through a recruitment email account, where people can send me their past works.

Anyway, thanks to subsilver for being to simple to modify!~

it looks like now: http://taif.selfip.com/forums/groupcp.php?g=5 (guest viewable)
Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Requests”