Conversion from phpbb2 to RC5 stalls

Converting from other board software? Good decision! Need help? Have a question about a convertor? Wish to offer a convertor package? Post here.
Suggested Hosts
someone124
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 8:56 pm
Location: in front of my computer

Conversion from phpbb2 to RC5 stalls

Post by someone124 » Thu Aug 30, 2007 6:50 pm

Hey everyone,

So I've successfully installed RC5, but when I try to convert, the conversion process keeps stalling (at step 16 of 27). It says "Conversion in Progress" and then times out.

I don't get an error, FF (and IE) just say the connection has timed out.
Please note that this conversion process may take quite some time and depending on your hosting provider this may result in it failing (due to web server or other timeout issues). If this is the case you should ask your provider if they are willing to allow the convert script to temporarily exceed their limits (be nice and they will probably be quite helpful).
I know it says this on the conversion FAQ, and my server is run from my house, so how can I get it to not time out?

Any ideas would be appreciated.

User avatar
SpongeWeb
Registered User
Posts: 766
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 2:57 pm
Location: End of the Universe
Contact:

Re: Conversion from phpbb2 to RC5 stalls

Post by SpongeWeb » Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:27 pm

Join the club..........I would love an answer too,

my 3rd thread on this is still unanswered.
A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart, and will sing, when you forget the words..

someone124
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 8:56 pm
Location: in front of my computer

Re: Conversion from phpbb2 to RC5 stalls

Post by someone124 » Fri Aug 31, 2007 1:35 am

I've been searching the internet for a long time now, and can find no way to increase the apache time out.

someone124
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 8:56 pm
Location: in front of my computer

Re: Conversion from phpbb2 to RC5 stalls

Post by someone124 » Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:03 pm

I increased the timeout, but it still times out.

Am I the ONLY one with this problem? My forum isn't even that large? How are other people getting theirs to convert? :x :cry:

sassycat80
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 2:56 am

Re: Conversion from phpbb2 to RC5 stalls

Post by sassycat80 » Sat Sep 01, 2007 3:14 am

I have a small forum too and I've been having problems with it timing out I guess since after about 40 seconds I get a blank white page. But I did some searching here on the forum and found a couple of things that have helped and my forum is currently converting smoothly.

I found some posts that suggested to edit the install_convert.php file and these are the two things that I did:

Open up install.php and find:

Code: Select all

<?php
/** 
*
* @package install
* @version $Id: install_convert.php,v 1.50 2007/07/16 01:06:34 davidmj Exp $
* @copyright (c) 2006 phpBB Group 
* @license http://opensource.org/licenses/gpl-license.php GNU Public License 
*
*/

/**
*/
After add:

Code: Select all

set_time_limit(40);
Then find:

Code: Select all

	var $batch_size = 2000;
Change the 2000 to 6000

Save and upload the file and try converting again and see if it goes through.

User avatar
SpongeWeb
Registered User
Posts: 766
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 2:57 pm
Location: End of the Universe
Contact:

Re: Conversion from phpbb2 to RC5 stalls

Post by SpongeWeb » Sat Sep 01, 2007 6:22 am

Nice! but mine still times out, thanks anyway
A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart, and will sing, when you forget the words..

User avatar
DPK
Registered User
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 5:02 am
Contact:

Re: Conversion from phpbb2 to RC5 stalls

Post by DPK » Sun Sep 02, 2007 9:51 am

n/m, finally got the thing to convert. Was driving me bat-$h1t insane all night though. I had to mess around with how the server was handling the load. Also I had php operating in safe-mode. I flipped that off and for some reason everything worked. I'm not even going to try to understand at this point, I'm tired.

One other tip I have; try running the convertor during non-peak hours. I know it helped me with less people bombarding our server when I was doing this overnight.
See those lights up in the distance? That's me; just try and catch up.

wiccaan
Registered User
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 12:33 am

Re: Conversion from phpbb2 to RC5 stalls

Post by wiccaan » Tue Oct 09, 2007 7:53 pm

Sorry for bumping an older topic >.> just wanted to say I ran into this issue myself, but fixed it by doing the following:

Open phpbb3/install/install_convert.php

Find:

Code: Select all

<?php
/** 
*
* @package install
* @version $Id: install_convert.php,v 1.50 2007/07/16 01:06:34 davidmj Exp $
* @copyright (c) 2006 phpBB Group 
* @license http://opensource.org/licenses/gpl-license.php GNU Public License 
*
*/

/**
*/
After add:

Code: Select all

@set_time_limit(0);
@ini_set('memory_limit', '256M');
@ini_set('upload_max_filesize', '128M');
@ini_set('post_max_size', '256M');
@ini_set('max_input_time', '-1');
@ini_set('max_execution_time', '-1');
@ini_set('expect.timeout', '-1');
@ini_set('default_socket_timeout', '-1');
(Adjust timeouts and size as needed.)

Next find:

Code: Select all

var $batch_size = 4000;
Change to:

Code: Select all

var $batch_size = 6000;
Hope that helps :x (Worked for me >.>)

Edit:: Also, during the install, if you timeout during the SQL things, you can simply hit enter in your address bar which should continue the conversion where it last left off.

User avatar
SpongeWeb
Registered User
Posts: 766
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 2:57 pm
Location: End of the Universe
Contact:

Re: Conversion from phpbb2 to RC5 stalls

Post by SpongeWeb » Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:24 pm

This did the trick after 2 months of failure!

I kept refreshing after the 404 error, and sure enough it finally got passsed the stalling first time!

excellent tip my friend, thanks,
A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart, and will sing, when you forget the words..

somedevilguy
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:51 pm

Re: Conversion from phpbb2 to RC5 stalls

Post by somedevilguy » Sat Dec 22, 2007 6:27 am

none of this works for me.
any other suggestions?

User avatar
Footballer
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 9:47 pm

Re: Conversion from phpbb2 to RC5 stalls

Post by Footballer » Wed Dec 26, 2007 10:03 pm

Doing what wiccaan said a few posts above. Worked great for me converting from phpBB 2.0.22 to phpBB 3.0 Gold. Thanks for posting that wiccaan!

scottishgold
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 10:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Conversion from phpbb2 to RC5 stalls

Post by scottishgold » Tue Jan 01, 2008 11:47 pm

I'm having a nightmare of a time trying to convert my small board. I've tried all these suggested settings and still it won't convert.

Can I just say chaps; if there is a known issue on conversion, why not look into it for the non boffins? I'm so frustrated with the conversion, I want to defect to VB.

I'm no boffin, but even some sort of error log for the conversion that if the conversion fails at the last hurdle, at least you can see roughly what the problem is? At first, all I got was error 500! Not much use to me. Give us a clue?

I would have thought clicking on the tab 'Convert' would do just that. Can I just say, apart from this conversion problem, my main board has been without a glitch for 2 years, superb!

I'm away to grease the knot!

G5Club.net
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 8:31 pm

Re: Conversion from phpbb2 to RC5 stalls

Post by G5Club.net » Sat Jan 05, 2008 5:57 am

I can confirm I was having that error 500... But using this fix fixed it... No need for that local machine stuff... THANKS GUYS!!! :-D

gardensgrey
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 5:15 am

Re: Conversion from phpbb2 to RC5 stalls

Post by gardensgrey » Sun Jan 13, 2008 8:51 pm

I was having this problem and this worked for me on one of my boards, but my last board (the biggest) still gets the error, but not until Step 4 of the final step. (It was previously getting the error right away)

Is there anything else I can change in the install_convert.php file?

Lordstimpy
Registered User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 8:44 pm

Re: Conversion from phpbb2 to RC5 stalls

Post by Lordstimpy » Wed Jan 16, 2008 10:02 pm

This worked!!!

Thanks

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Convertors”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron