[MODDB] simple syndication

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Scam Warning
Locked
User avatar
mrTablet
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 6:59 am

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by mrTablet »

Open install.xml in e.g. Internet Explorer
greyforum
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 6:39 pm

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by greyforum »

Resolved.

Now i'm coming across another issue:

The rss icon appears in the address bar when using Opera to browse the forum, while it doesn't appear in any part when using Explorer...

Why this?
Browser settings?? Other?

Thanks
Kojote1980
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 2:39 am

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by Kojote1980 »

greyforum wrote:Resolved.

Now i'm coming across another issue:

The rss icon appears in the address bar when using Opera to browse the forum, while it doesn't appear in any part when using Explorer...

Why this?
Browser settings?? Other?

Thanks
only supported by IE7+
User avatar
Balint
Registered User
Posts: 952
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2002 2:19 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by Balint »

Hi!

Could you implement a search function for this, like syndication.php?fid=20&t=1&keyword=phpbb ?


Greets,
Bálint
Colin Kaminski
Registered User
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by Colin Kaminski »

I installed the mod and when I try to past the link into Google's feed reader it says it can't find it.

http://www.holographyforum.org/phpBB2/s ... p?type=rss

I am not sure what I have done wrong. I have phpbb3 rc5 (even thought the directory is named phpbb2.)
Colin Kaminski
Registered User
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2004 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by Colin Kaminski »

:oops: OK for some reason I just had to wait 15 minutes now all is working great. It would be nice if it cashed the results and only updated it every 15 minutes or when it gets a request. That would lower my server load. Is this possible?
brasilblog
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:22 am

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by brasilblog »

Hi, I installed the Mod into RC5.

There are two errors.
1) The reducing of the chars will not work. Always the full post is parsed in the feed. Or only the title (most in FF)
2) And if a post contains the

Code: Select all

 BBcode ....  the Feedvalidator says that this [code] it`s not UTF-8 and the feed is invalid.

Anybody heard about these errors?

Greetz from Brazil,
digdigger
cunyalen
Registered User
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 9:09 pm

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by cunyalen »

I'm not using IE 7. When I tried this, it always let me download the syndication.php file.
I tried feed validation: http://validator.w3.org/feed/. It seems some posts cause errors.
If I use a small count to include only the first couple posts, it's valid. But my IE still can't read it. It's asking me to download. If this version works only for IE7, is it possible to make this 1.1.1b version work with IE 6?

Here's the errors from the validation. With old version rss.php, I don't have these errors.
Sorry
This feed does not validate.

line 109, column 47: 'utf8' codec can't decode byte 0xa0 in position 11325: unexpected code byte (maybe a high-bit character?) [help]

e5eUYeBnuCw" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" ^
line 84, column 100: guid values must not be duplicated within a feed: http://www.domain.com/viewtopic.php?f=4 ... b7b496138a (4 occurrences) [help]

... amp;sid=b08e0779d25a25e3a055d6b7b496138a</guid> ^
line 95, column 51: Undefined description element: br (3 occurrences) [help]

<description>fasfasfdasdfasdfasdfsafasdfasdfasdfasdfasdfas<br />Chris li</description> ^
line 199, column 30: XML parsing error: <unknown>:199:30: not well-formed (invalid token) [help]

<description><iframe align=center src=http://www.flickr.com/slideShow/ind ... ^
In addition, this feed has issues that may cause problems for some users. We recommend fixing these issues.

line 63, column 370: description contains bad characters (24 occurrences) [help]

... eys/Word_Greetings/1.gif" alt="Image" />??<br />Alen]]></description> ^
line 103, column 0: description should not contain object tag [help]

<description><![CDATA[What kind of phone do you want? Has a fantastic loo ...
line 103, column 0: description should not contain param tag (2 occurrences) [help]

<description><![CDATA[What kind of phone do you want? Has a fantastic loo ...
line 107, column 0: description should not contain embed tag [help]

value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/
line 107, column 0: description should not contain wmode attribute [help]

value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/
It seems v1.0.2 rss.php works more easily. I have some questions.
1.

Code: Select all

rss.php?fid=2,3&count=2
It only read the most recent 2 as a total from forum 2 and 3. Is it possible to read recent 2 from the each forum?

And I also have the problem: the reducing of the chars will not work. Always the full post is parsed in the feed.

Thanks.
KaiserGimmel
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by KaiserGimmel »

Hi,

ive used a mod called smartfeed in phpbb2 - it worked fine for me and it supported login via the url so that u can read private forums - so you do not need an active session. On the second hand it was very customizable, every you can choose what he wants to see in his feed.

Perhaps you can watch smartfeed working (http://phpbb.potomactavern.org/smartfeed/index.html) and copy some of its features :))

Thanks for your efforts!
K.
=> First i didnt know what love was - then i bought my first PC <=
User avatar
themadhatterz
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 9:07 pm

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by themadhatterz »

hello all

How is the development on this mod going, will there be a release soon ?

I have installed the mod on my board but it is not working.. I tested the syndication.php on
:arrow: http://feedvalidator.org/

it could read the feed i saw the posts there however it produced several errors.

I continued to set it up for testing on my webportal.. to see if it would show. it didnt it came with an error saying invalid feed.. and undefined ... I used the google feed fetcher and gAjax RSS Feeds Displayer

:arrow: http://code.google.com/apis/ajaxfeeds/documentation/

and you find the ajax here :

:arrow: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicinde ... player.htm

:cry:


if you need someone to help testing maybe I can help you. :mrgreen:


###################################################################################
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
new information I was wrong it works, however it takes some time from u install the feed to it works on my forums. the first one started to work, then i innstalled the syndication mod on another forum i have and it took around 15 minute from i did that until the feed appear to be picked up .... SEEMS. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
User avatar
ArchY
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2001 10:34 am
Location: Saint Germain en Laye

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by ArchY »

Hi

I use this mod on my board to inject one forum postz in the main page of my main website. It has works great until I send some post on the forum with video embeded.

Now the feeds is like broken...

you can see what's happen :

http://everdying.archy.net/forums/syndi ... p?type=rss

Code: Select all

The XML page cannot be displayed 
Cannot view XML input using XSL style sheet. Please correct the error and then click the Refresh button, or try again later. 


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A semi colon character was expected. Error processing resource 'http://everdying.archy.net/forums/syndication.php?type=rss'...

   <description><embed src="http://lads.myspace.com/videos/vplayer.swf" flashvars="m=20122536&v=2&type=vide...
do you think it's possible to feed post with embeded video ?
User avatar
ArchY
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2001 10:34 am
Location: Saint Germain en Laye

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by ArchY »

**bump**
irani forum
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 1:42 pm

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by irani forum »

angelside wrote:MOD Title: simple syndication
MOD Description: phpBB 3.0 rss/atom content syndicator
MOD Version: 1.1.1b

MOD Download: http://downloads.sourceforge.net/canver ... .1b.tar.gz

Demo Board: http://www.phpbbturkiye.net/syndication.php?fid=20&t=1


changelog from 1.0.0b
* fix minor error
* add new parameter for show topic only first post


Updated on: 2007-06-20 - Version 1.1.1b
that mod workd fine in Firefox and Googleig (iGoogle Reader) but not worked in IE 7.
There is a solution or a better Mod , RSS or XML for phpBB3
Thanks.
saaiberke
Registered User
Posts: 1126
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 8:13 am
Location: Gent/Belgium
Contact:

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by saaiberke »

I'm getting double and triple feeds in my newsreader. Always the same post are read in again and again. Any idea how this can be fixed?

Grtz,

Nic
REVELAT10N
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 7:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [BETA] simple syndication

Post by REVELAT10N »

It would seem that something in the update has caused this mod to stop working... at least for me anyway. Anyone else?
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”