GooglePuller

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
User avatar
Wicher
Registered User
Posts: 1806
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 10:33 pm
Location: Netherlands or Holland, your choice..
Contact:

Re: GooglePuller

Post by Wicher » Fri Nov 09, 2007 5:09 pm

'META' => '<META NAME="ROBOTS" CONTENT="NOARCHIVE">'

and it should be somewhere in the header, but i dont know at a glance how to acomplice that.
Maybe someone else knows?

garlandpool
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:45 am

Re: GooglePuller

Post by garlandpool » Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:50 am

How exactly does this work? I mean, I've read everyone's input and I just don't see how it would work. It's not that I don't believe...I just want to know how it works. Like, say I install it. What happens then? Does it take my existing posts and modify them to include links created out of existing words in the text such that they sort of cross reference other posts?
And hoping I can understand the magic here...does it only do that magic for posts created after I install the MOD?
I'm very interested...

User avatar
Wicher
Registered User
Posts: 1806
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 10:33 pm
Location: Netherlands or Holland, your choice..
Contact:

Re: GooglePuller

Post by Wicher » Sat Nov 10, 2007 9:24 am

It does not affect your existing post in any way.
It takes all words fron the word search tables and creates url's from that, and puts them all on a page.
That page has pagination so there can be many many pages with url's for google to index.
Each page can contain 500 ur'l's.

See an example here.

rehan
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:24 am

Re: GooglePuller

Post by rehan » Sat Nov 10, 2007 2:52 pm

i installed this using ez mod.. its installed.. but how can i make sure its working on my forum.

User avatar
Wicher
Registered User
Posts: 1806
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 10:33 pm
Location: Netherlands or Holland, your choice..
Contact:

Re: GooglePuller

Post by Wicher » Sat Nov 10, 2007 8:50 pm

You have to let google do the work, and make sure your metatags are ok.
Submit for starters your forum to google: http://www.google.com/intl/en/submit_content.html
Ones google had added your url to there database, it will pick up the googlepuller page to.
It can take up to several months though until its in google itself.

rehan
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:24 am

Re: GooglePuller

Post by rehan » Sun Nov 11, 2007 12:00 pm

thx Wicher.. i had already submited my url to google..

garlandpool
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:45 am

Re: GooglePuller

Post by garlandpool » Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:47 pm

Okay! I read your reply, clicked on that example page you showed me...then found my own googlepuller folder under my board and THERE IT WAS! Awesome! I can't wait to see the results in Google!

I only have one worry...that down the road they might make me pay for using this method to attract traffic. I guess if that day comes, I'll just have to uninstall it.

Is there any way to get this mod to allow a person like myself to choose the kinds of words it links up? Because if it could, then I could get mine to all be about "guitar", "lesssons", etc...since my board is about playing guitar. Then Google wouldn't have much of a problem with this method at all because it would be content that is more relevant to my site. Have you given any thought to adding that kind of feature, or would that be too much work? (I have no idea how to write these codes, but I understand some things are harder than others).

Either way, thanks! I'm very grateful...
Fred

User avatar
Wicher
Registered User
Posts: 1806
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 10:33 pm
Location: Netherlands or Holland, your choice..
Contact:

Re: GooglePuller

Post by Wicher » Wed Nov 14, 2007 9:31 pm

I do believe that it is possible, but at the moment i dont have the time to make it happen.
Please post your idea at my own board at http://www.detecties.com/modforum in the idea section.

User avatar
Studio 2
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 9:17 pm
Location: Portsmouth - Hampshire
Contact:

Re: GooglePuller

Post by Studio 2 » Thu Nov 15, 2007 9:29 pm

You should never need to submit any URL to any search engine. If your site is linked from another indexed page, it will be found. Your robots.txt file will allow / disallow any given crawlers, and every link it finds it will 'hold onto' for a while (it's called the sandbox) then come back later and do a deep link. You shouldn't even need robots=index, follow, as Google and many others will follow and index anyway!

Cams
Registered User
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 7:18 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: GooglePuller

Post by Cams » Fri Nov 16, 2007 11:30 am

Looks like a nice mod. I checked in here looking for just such a mod and was pleased to find it so quickly! I just installed it on [removed] and hopefully will get some more Google juice!

Many thanks!

Cams
Last edited by will_hough on Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: removed url - irrelevant to post

User avatar
JJneyJr
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:11 pm

Re: GooglePuller

Post by JJneyJr » Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:19 pm

Please, can you turn it off without uninstalling. I would like to be able to turn it off so it is not consuming resources but leave the guggle puller page and what I have so far. Also I have hidden forums that I don't want indexed. How do I turn off the indexing of the hidden forums? Please give a detailed answer because saying check the search tables is not enough for me.

Peter77sx
Registered User
Posts: 3254
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 2:51 pm

Re: GooglePuller

Post by Peter77sx » Thu Dec 13, 2007 3:11 am

If your forums are hidden from public view, search engine bots will not index them. :)

Athlon101
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:15 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: GooglePuller

Post by Athlon101 » Sun Jan 13, 2008 12:46 pm

Hi Guys

Does this mod set up a cron job.

Reason I ask is that my site seems to get crawled by google far more often now and I have just had an e-mail from my hosting company warning me that I am in breach of the fair usage policy with regards cron jobs.

The only cron job I have intentionally set up is to send out e-mail once every 24 hours.

User avatar
Wicher
Registered User
Posts: 1806
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 10:33 pm
Location: Netherlands or Holland, your choice..
Contact:

Re: GooglePuller

Post by Wicher » Sun Jan 13, 2008 5:40 pm

No, it has nothing to do with cronjobs what so ever.

LightBred
Registered User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 5:30 am

Re: GooglePuller

Post by LightBred » Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:21 am

for some reason mine is showing duplicate words, is this normal?

when I first installed it this was not happening.

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”