Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss phpBB here. Non-phpBB related discussion goes in General Discussion!
Ideas Centre
jderosa3
Registered User
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by jderosa3 »

The RokBridge is not out yet though... any speculations on when this will be released?
User avatar
MikovChain
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:19 am

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by MikovChain »

I had been waiting for his release for months... till I found it's not so difficult as I thought.
phpBB3 has great APIs for integration. :D
subfighter
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 9:10 pm

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by subfighter »

rhuk wrote:The RocketWerx bridge is about 95% complete, there are a few minor routing bugs, but registration is syncing both ways, profile syncing is working joomla->phpbb3 direction, only phpbb3->joomla profile syncing is left. We even have the ability to turn on SEF url's via joomla's built in capabilities. Overall it's working very well and shoudl be able to beta test in a couple of weeks. We should soon have a proper site up and test forum.

cheers,

Any news on your Bridge?? As I see you are running phpbb3 on your site with joomla...

people cant wait to much longer :o
User avatar
ssnobben
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:28 am

3 bridges/connectors to Joomla 1.5

Post by ssnobben »

There is three bridges for doing a Joomla 1.5 and phpBB 3.0 solution as I believe.

The new Jfusion that I have tested myself and is working
http://extensions.joomla.org/component/ ... Itemid,35/
and then the more mature CB connector that I have tested and is also working http://www.cbconnector.com/

Then we have the new Rokbridge that I have not tested yet bcs not released.

Should be interesting to see how well these are when comparing them finally.
krawhitham
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 12:10 am

Re: 3 bridges/connectors to Joomla 1.5

Post by krawhitham »

ssnobben wrote:There is three bridges for doing a Joomla 1.5 and phpBB 3.0 solution as I believe.

The new Jfusion that I have tested myself and is working
http://extensions.joomla.org/component/ ... Itemid,35/
and then the more mature CB connector that I have tested and is also working http://www.cbconnector.com/

Then we have the new Rokbridge that I have not tested yet bcs not released.

Should be interesting to see how well these are when comparing them finally.
CB connector is for Joomla 1.0.x not 1.5
User avatar
Eelke
Registered User
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 8:00 am
Location: NL, Bussum
Name: Eelke Blok
Contact:

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by Eelke »

Well, it's not a "native" 1.5 component (since Community Builder - the CB in CBConnector - is not), but are you sure it won't work with 1.5? CB does work with 1.5, right?
krawhitham
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 12:10 am

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by krawhitham »

Eelke wrote:Well, it's not a "native" 1.5 component (since Community Builder - the CB in CBConnector - is not), but are you sure it won't work with 1.5? CB does work with 1.5, right?
Site admin at CBconnector wrote:Plans are that after v2 goes final then I will start on a Joomla! 1.5 version.
CBConnector is currently in their 1st 2.0 beta


It might work in legacy mode but that will cause a significant loss in performance
User avatar
MikovChain
Registered User
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:19 am

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by MikovChain »

#######################################################
## Title: Joomla1.5 User Bridge for phpBB3.0
## Author: IOsetting
## Description:
## Integrate phpBB3 with Joomla1.5
## Version: 1.1 (Build 20080207)
##
## Installation Level: Easy
## Installation Time: 10 Minutes
## Download
## Demo
#######################################################

BEFORE INSTALL:
1. This bridge can handle one database only, which means your joomla and phpBB3 should be installed in the same database.


>>deleted>>
Last edited by darcie on Wed Mar 12, 2008 5:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Discussion is not for posting MOD instructions.
voonchong
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 4:55 am

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by voonchong »

thanks MikovChain , i am able to utilise ur mod and done the integration. demo is at

http://www.ethansoft.com/v2/
username: test
password: password

Lets help others that need help ..:)
Maurizio1230
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 11:27 am

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by Maurizio1230 »

voonchong wrote:thanks MikovChain , i am able to utilise ur mod and done the integration. demo is at

http://www.ethansoft.com/v2/
username: test
password: password

Lets help others that need help ..:)
How do you integrate phpbb3 in your joomla theme? I ask you this because the bridge works only with Joomla style rhuk_milkyway.

Bye and thanks
Caspero
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 8:45 pm

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by Caspero »

phpBB3:

1. COPY <bridge file>/phpbb_files/includes/auth/auth_db.php TO <phpbb3 root>/includes/auth/auth_db.php
2. COPY <bridge file>/phpbb_files/includes/auth/helper.php TO <phpbb3 root>/includes/auth/helper.php
3. OPEN
<phpbb3 root>/includes/auth/auth_db.php
FIND
jos_users
REPLACE WITH
<your joomla user table name>


where can i find my joomla user table name

i dun remeber that i entered such data before
plzzzzzzzzzzzz help me
voonchong
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 4:55 am

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by voonchong »

Maurizio1230 wrote:
voonchong wrote:thanks MikovChain , i am able to utilise ur mod and done the integration. demo is at

http://www.ethansoft.com/v2/
username: test
password: password

Lets help others that need help ..:)
How do you integrate phpbb3 in your joomla theme? I ask you this because the bridge works only with Joomla style rhuk_milkyway.

Bye and thanks
you can easily do that by changing the header and footer of your phpbb template, also do some redirection from your login and logout of phpbb, after that, change the link change profile to link to joomla user profile changing page.

where can i find my joomla user table name
if you dint change the any joomla particular table prefix during the installation, then no changes is needed, if you do change, then go into phpmyadmin, check into ur joomla table and get the table name with *_users
Maurizio1230
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 11:27 am

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by Maurizio1230 »

it's not very simple for my theme (HiveMind of Rockettheme) and for prosilver of phpbb3. Can you explain better, please? and if it possible post the hack of phpbb3 theme ;)

Thank you very much ;)
voonchong
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 4:55 am

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by voonchong »

well, most of the editing involve the overall header and overall footer file, try to search and locate it at the phpbb theme directory and after that you also need to modify the prosilver css part. Beside that, i think you can really modify prosilver to match HiveMind header and footer, but it do take your time for it. Let me know if i can help you further. :)
fullmetalracket
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 4:55 pm

Re: Anyone working on a Joomla Bridge for 3.0 RC1?

Post by fullmetalracket »

i am trying something like this as well, this time with the template Populus also by rockettheme.

I've had a go editing the headers and footers and am struggling in getting it to work. Any tips or if possible a guide on how to include joomla headers into a phpbb3 style?
Post Reply

Return to “phpBB Discussion”