Posting template

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in the Customisations Database.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTICE: This forum is only for the announcement of new releases and/or updates of MODs. Any MOD support should be obtained through the Customisations Database in the support area designated for each MOD.

A direct link to support for each MOD is in the first post of the respective topic.
mag00_br
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 3:09 pm
Location: Brasil -SP
Contact:

Re: Posting template

Post by mag00_br »

Finally!

Just work when I purge the forum cached files. One week trying to solve this. :lol:

[]'s
*[NMT]*Mag00* / [Granja] Falco Peregrinus / | CDA | Mr.Orange |
http://www.granjaklan.com/forum
Image

Mr Fishy
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:50 pm
Location: City under the Sea
Contact:

Re: Posting template

Post by Mr Fishy »

Sorry for asking the same question as others have done, but I've now installed this very useful mod and yet can see no changes in either the Forum itself, within ACP and when editing the Forums.

I've refreshed every cache in sight under the Styles tab, but still nothing. I'm getting no error anywhere on the site so can only assume the mod has installed correctly.

I note some have said it works after deleting the contents of the cached folder or cached files. Is this the same as going into ACp and navigating to Styles/Templates/Cache then selecting all and deleting? Thought I'd better check before doing this just in case I delete something imporatant! :o

I've followed all the other comments in this thread and this seems to be the only thing it can be, so any advice would be most welcome.

Thnx.
Mr Fishy
ImageDover-Sea-Angling.com

mag00_br
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 3:09 pm
Location: Brasil -SP
Contact:

Re: Posting template

Post by mag00_br »

Mr Fishy, in ACP, General TAB. Scroll down and search for a "Run now" button that is created to purge the forum cache.

This is the miserable button that nobody can found :)

I searched it for 2 weeks before can finally make this MOD works.

[]'s
*[NMT]*Mag00* / [Granja] Falco Peregrinus / | CDA | Mr.Orange |
http://www.granjaklan.com/forum
Image

Mr Fishy
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:50 pm
Location: City under the Sea
Contact:

Re: Posting template

Post by Mr Fishy »

Many thanks mag00_br, what a star!

Cache purged and hey presto, template area appears. :D

Saved me doing something possibly very nasty to my site.

Mr Fishy
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:50 pm
Location: City under the Sea
Contact:

Re: Posting template

Post by Mr Fishy »

Well I thought I was there but today I've tried adding things in the template area, but on submitting I get the following error:

Code: Select all

General Error
SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

Unknown column 'forum_post_tpl' in 'field list' [1054]

SQL

UPDATE phpbb_forums SET parent_id = 28, forum_type = 1, forum_status = 0, forum_parents = '', forum_name = 'Southern Breakwater', forum_link = '', forum_desc = 'Post your catch reports from the Southern Breakwater here.', forum_desc_uid = '', forum_desc_options = 7, forum_desc_bitfield = '', forum_post_tpl = '', forum_rules = '', forum_rules_uid = '', forum_rules_options = 7, forum_rules_bitfield = '', forum_rules_link = '', forum_image = '', forum_style = 0, display_on_index = 1, forum_topics_per_page = 0, enable_indexing = 1, enable_icons = 0, enable_prune = 0, prune_days = 0, prune_viewed = 0, prune_freq = 0, forum_flags = 34 WHERE forum_id = 1

BACKTRACE


FILE: includes/db/mysql.php
LINE: 158
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_error()

FILE: includes/acp/acp_forums.php
LINE: 1236
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_query()

FILE: includes/acp/acp_forums.php
LINE: 179
CALL: acp_forums->update_forum_data()

FILE: includes/functions_module.php
LINE: 471
CALL: acp_forums->main()

FILE: adm/index.php
LINE: 74
CALL: p_master->load_active()

Now having trawled through all the Support Forums for advice and possible resolution until my eyes bled, I haven't managed to crack it.

Ok, these are the things I have done:

Clean install from 2.0.x to 3.00
Converted database
Run database_update.php from Install folder
Checked database and tables in phpMyAdmin (no issues)
Resynchronised Forums under Forum Administration

I also removed the mod and started from scratch, checking each step as I went along. The only time this problem apprears is when I upload the amended acp_forums.php file in the includes/acp directory. All other updates do not produce any error.

It's not just the Posting Template box that results in this error, it also occurs when trying to change anything in the Edit Forum section.

I've obviously missed a trick somewhere, but can anyone please help and point me in the right direction?

Many thanks.
Mr Fishy
ImageDover-Sea-Angling.com

User avatar
igorw
Former Team Member
Posts: 8024
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:23 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Name: Igor Wiedler

Re: Posting template

Post by igorw »

Run the SQL, which is the first action of the MOD? :D
Igor Wiedler | area51 | GitHub | trashbin | Formerly known as evil less than three

Mr Fishy
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:50 pm
Location: City under the Sea
Contact:

Re: Posting template

Post by Mr Fishy »

Indeed, that was the first thing I did and the field was created in phpbb_forums with no problems.

Looks like this:

forum_post_tpl text latin1_general_ci Yes NULL
Mr Fishy
ImageDover-Sea-Angling.com

Patriz
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 8:27 am

Re: Posting template

Post by Patriz »

Hi!

Is it also possible to configure the MOD that the predifined text will onlý shown if I klick a button in the editor?

I am looking for a solution where i can post a predefined text not generally but if I want.

Thx

Patriz

Patriz
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 8:27 am

Re: Posting template

Post by Patriz »

Hi!

Is there no idea how I can use this MOD to insert a predefined text by mouseklick into the editor field?

Thanks in advance

Patriz

netjet5030
Registered User
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 5:03 pm

Re: Posting template

Post by netjet5030 »

Guys I read everything but still doesn't work for me.
For sure it's because I didn't do the first thing which is
ALTER TABLE phpbb_forums ADD forum_post_tpl TEXT DEFAULT '' NULL;
but where should I write this/execute it?

Thank you

netjet5030
Registered User
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 5:03 pm

Re: Posting template

Post by netjet5030 »

Guys I found my answer on phpbbmodders, but when I do the sql query I have a general error:
SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

BLOB/TEXT column 'forum_post_tpl' can't have a default value [1101]

SQL

ALTER TABLE phpbb_forums ADD forum_post_tpl TEXT DEFAULT '' NULL

BACKTRACE


FILE: includes/db/mysql.php
LINE: 158
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_error()

FILE: sql.php
LINE: 45
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_query()

User avatar
igorw
Former Team Member
Posts: 8024
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:23 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Name: Igor Wiedler

Re: Posting template

Post by igorw »

Patriz, it's on my list to write some javascript for that, but i havn't got round to it yet.
netjet5030 wrote:ALTER TABLE phpbb_forums ADD forum_post_tpl TEXT DEFAULT '' NULL
Try running this instead:

Code: Select all

ALTER TABLE phpbb_forums ADD forum_post_tpl TEXT NULL
Igor Wiedler | area51 | GitHub | trashbin | Formerly known as evil less than three

Patriz
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 8:27 am

Re: Posting template

Post by Patriz »

Hi Evil!
eviL<3 wrote:Patriz, it's on my list to write some javascript for that, but i havn't got round to it yet.
Great! Hopefully you will find few minutes to do it! :-) You will be commendatory named in my testament :-)

Thanks in advance!

Patriz

netjet5030
Registered User
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 5:03 pm

Re: Posting template

Post by netjet5030 »

Thanl you EVIL for your fast help but now here is the message I have got:

Code: Select all

SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

Duplicate column name 'forum_post_tpl' [1060]

SQL

ALTER TABLE phpbb_forums ADD forum_post_tpl TEXT NULL

BACKTRACE

FILE: includes/db/mysql.php
LINE: 158
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_error()

FILE: sql.php
LINE: 45
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_query()

User avatar
igorw
Former Team Member
Posts: 8024
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:23 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Name: Igor Wiedler

Re: Posting template

Post by igorw »

Code: Select all

ALTER TABLE phpbb_forums ADD forum_post_tpl TEXT DEFAULT '' NOT NULL
Igor Wiedler | area51 | GitHub | trashbin | Formerly known as evil less than three

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MOD Database Releases”