3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
delicata
Registered User
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:49 am
Location: South Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by delicata »

I resolved my 'no forums' problem. I logged onto my server, moved all files from the folder /cache to a new folder and refreshed the page in my browser. All forums are now displayed as a guest.

HTH others
John - Delicata Designs
Tel: +44 (0) 7930 343276 | Fax: +44 (0) 7092 004104


Supporter of:
Independent Web Designers Portal | Mini Tutorials

Image
User avatar
Eelke
Registered User
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 8:00 am
Location: NL, Bussum
Name: Eelke Blok
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by Eelke »

That's basically just another way of clearing the cache :) How did you clear the cache the first time? There is a button on the main page of the ACP to do it.
lordofthisworld
Registered User
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 9:14 am
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by lordofthisworld »

i've cleared the cache a couple of times now and still showing no forums?? :(
delicata
Registered User
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 12:49 am
Location: South Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by delicata »

Eelke wrote:That's basically just another way of clearing the cache :) How did you clear the cache the first time? There is a button on the main page of the ACP to do it.
<blushes>I only cleared the browser cache the first time</blushes>
John - Delicata Designs
Tel: +44 (0) 7930 343276 | Fax: +44 (0) 7092 004104


Supporter of:
Independent Web Designers Portal | Mini Tutorials

Image
EightOhProlene
Registered User
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 4:44 pm

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by EightOhProlene »

nm
User avatar
Eelke
Registered User
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 8:00 am
Location: NL, Bussum
Name: Eelke Blok
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by Eelke »

<blushes>I only cleared the browser cache the first time</blushes>
:) Happens to the best of us.
User avatar
Derky
Development Team Member
Development Team Member
Posts: 4838
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by Derky »

I had this problem too, cleared cache mutliple times didn't helped anything..

Edited 1 forum but didn't changed a thing and then hit the submit button, and all forums were back. :|
zandner
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 12:29 pm

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by zandner »

I'm seeing the same.
The posts are there (if I click on View Active Topics" then I can see a list of active topics) but there's no forums listed at all...

Tried everything suggested above - with no luck.
Any other ideas anyone?
zandner
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 12:29 pm

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by zandner »

A bit more potential diagnosis - switching the board to SubSilver2 works, and successfully shows the forum list on the index.
Esq
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 12:08 am

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by Esq »

I had the same problem but for guest users only (?). The problem was after I cleared cache.

I re-applied guest forum rights for one (first) forum and all forums (including the one I applied rights for) came back to guest's homepage.
ormaric
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:19 pm

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by ormaric »

hi guys...
I tryed to empty folder cache... and no chage...
and the a purge cache from Admin Control Panel...
and it worked...

so try this... worked for me :)
GTechPro
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:45 pm

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by GTechPro »

I'm running 3.0.1 and I'm having the same issue.

I have tried every suggestion in this thread.
  • *Purged the cache via ACP
    *Manually emptied cache folder
    *Re-applied Forum and Guest permissions
    *Re-synced topics, post counts and stats
    *Tried to "edit one post"
    *Attempted to switch style to SubSilver2
Now what?
ToonArmy
Former Team Member
Posts: 4608
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 5:29 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Name: Chris Smith
Contact:

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by ToonArmy »

Try setting the permissions all to read only, I know they already appear to be set that way but just to be sure then clear the cache.
Chris SmithGitHub
GTechPro
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:45 pm

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by GTechPro »

ToonArmy wrote:Try setting the permissions all to read only, I know they already appear to be set that way but just to be sure then clear the cache.
yep, i've tried that, and other variations multiple times.
but, I will try again just for the heck of it, hang on.... fail :(

i am cursed.
GTechPro
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:45 pm

Re: 3.0.0 -> 3.0.1 and "This board has no forums."

Post by GTechPro »

ALSO, when I manually remove the cache files from the back end and then hit Purge Cache on in the ACP, no new cache files appear in their place.

Thoughts?
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”