[ABD]Ajax Shoutbox 1.2.x

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
stuckinlimbo
Registered User
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:21 am

Re: [RC1]Ajax Shoutbox 1.2.x

Post by stuckinlimbo »

I downloaded the 1.2RC1 version from page 1 and that's the one I'm using.

When I go to the .mods tab, I get the following error:
General Error
Language file ajax_shoutbox.php couldn't be opened.

User avatar
thomas.d
Registered User
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:14 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [RC1]Ajax Shoutbox 1.2.x

Post by thomas.d »

Yes, because ajax_shoutbox.php is not in the correct place.

Please, do me one favour and do not ...
install.xml wrote:Copy: root/language/en/mods/acp/mods/ajax_shoutbox.php
To: language/en/mods/acp/mods/ajax_shoutbox.php


... but ...
Copy: root/language/en/acp/mods/ajax_shoutbox.php
To: language/en/acp/mods/ajax_shoutbox.php
----------------------------
and caution ...
install.xml wrote:Copy: root/acp/acp_shoutbox.php
To: includes/acp/acp_shoutbox.php

... is nonsense, it must be
Copy: root/includes/acp/acp_shoutbox.php
To: includes/acp/acp_shoutbox.php
As far as I remember there are one or two more of those gimmicks in install.xml ... hmmm ... the MOD-author is member of the phpBB-MOD-Team ... :shock:
Best Regards

Thomas

Deutsche Sprachdateien für
[Alpha] phpBB Calendar 0.0.8 (alightner) | [RC] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC8 |
ACP Add User MOD 1.0.0 |

El_Vindicador
Registered User
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 4:43 pm

Re: [RC1]Ajax Shoutbox 1.2.x

Post by El_Vindicador »

since i installed the soutbox

in the ACP...on the admins logs...i see many users...(normal users, NOT ADMINS)...and the log..

{LOG_AS_PURGED}

nmnm some relationship whit this mod?

User avatar
thomas.d
Registered User
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:14 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [RC1]Ajax Shoutbox 1.2.x

Post by thomas.d »

El_Vindicador wrote:since i installed the soutbox

in the ACP...on the admins logs...i see many users...(normal users, NOT ADMINS)...and the log..

{LOG_AS_PURGED}

nmnm some relationship whit this mod?
Hola,

yes.

In the ACP you set the time span after the shouts will automatically be deleted ("Prune time"). When you set it to e.g. 24 hrs. the MOD will delete the shouts 24 hrs. after they have been saved, and this is logged with LOG_AS_PURGED (as "AS" stands for "Ajax Shoutbox").
Best Regards

Thomas

Deutsche Sprachdateien für
[Alpha] phpBB Calendar 0.0.8 (alightner) | [RC] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC8 |
ACP Add User MOD 1.0.0 |

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25818
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Re: [RC1]Ajax Shoutbox 1.2.x

Post by Paul »

thomas.d wrote:Yes, because ajax_shoutbox.php is not in the correct place.

Please, do me one favour and do not ...
install.xml wrote:Copy: root/language/en/mods/acp/mods/ajax_shoutbox.php
To: language/en/mods/acp/mods/ajax_shoutbox.php


... but ...
Copy: root/language/en/acp/mods/ajax_shoutbox.php
To: language/en/acp/mods/ajax_shoutbox.php
----------------------------
and caution ...
install.xml wrote:Copy: root/acp/acp_shoutbox.php
To: includes/acp/acp_shoutbox.php

... is nonsense, it must be
Copy: root/includes/acp/acp_shoutbox.php
To: includes/acp/acp_shoutbox.php
As far as I remember there are one or two more of those gimmicks in install.xml ... hmmm ... the MOD-author is member of the phpBB-MOD-Team ... :shock:
And is also a human ;).
Nobody else reported this mistakes before, so I didnt know about them. If you copy all files directly with the same structure as in the zip its the correct place.
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

User avatar
h32Lg
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 8:55 am
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: [RC1]Ajax Shoutbox 1.2.x

Post by h32Lg »

Paul, you're alive xD help me please!i!

What shall i do with my problem ?¿? The text isn't displayed correctly as it should be.

greets h32Lg 8)
Image

stuckinlimbo
Registered User
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:21 am

Re: [RC1]Ajax Shoutbox 1.2.x

Post by stuckinlimbo »

Copy: root/language/en/acp/mods/ajax_shoutbox.php
To: language/en/acp/mods/ajax_shoutbox.php
And is also a human ;).
Nobody else reported this mistakes before, so I didnt know about them. If you copy all files directly with the same structure as in the zip its the correct place.
but I think that is where the problem is lying. :) For example.

The instructions say to copy:

root/language/en/acp/mods/ajax_shoutbox.php into

language/en/acp/mods folder, right?

but there isn't an language/en/acp/mods folder. It just stops at the acp. If you look back at my screen captures, it will show that. So how do I copy all files directly with the same structure as the zip, when the phpbb3 ftp files dont have the same direction?

Segundo
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 6:58 pm

Re: [RC1]Ajax Shoutbox 1.2.x

Post by Segundo »

Works excellent Paul! Thanks again man!

I am trying to get the Shout to show on viewforum_body.html and viewtopic_body.html

I added the include line those...

and added

Code: Select all

if (!function_exists('as_display'))
{
        include($phpbb_root_path . 'includes/functions_shoutbox.' . $phpEx);
}
as_display();
after

Code: Select all

$auth->acl($user->data);
in the viewforum.php and viewtopic.php files.

Purged cache, and they still don't show up.

Any suggestions?

I know that in index.php you add the code after

Code: Select all

$user->setup('viewforum');
but that line isn't in my viewforum.php and viewtopic.php files.

Any help would be much appreciated.

(I browsed most of this thread for an answer- if it's there and I missed it just point me in the right direction.)

Thanks again man!
Segundo

br3nd4n
Registered User
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 7:20 am

Re: [RC1]Ajax Shoutbox 1.2.x

Post by br3nd4n »

Segundo

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... &start=435

look at my post via that link..
if you do that it will show up ;)

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25818
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Re: [RC1]Ajax Shoutbox 1.2.x

Post by Paul »

stuckinlimbo wrote:
Copy: root/language/en/acp/mods/ajax_shoutbox.php
To: language/en/acp/mods/ajax_shoutbox.php
And is also a human ;).
Nobody else reported this mistakes before, so I didnt know about them. If you copy all files directly with the same structure as in the zip its the correct place.
but I think that is where the problem is lying. :) For example.

The instructions say to copy:

root/language/en/acp/mods/ajax_shoutbox.php into

language/en/acp/mods folder, right?

but there isn't an language/en/acp/mods folder. It just stops at the acp. If you look back at my screen captures, it will show that. So how do I copy all files directly with the same structure as the zip, when the phpbb3 ftp files dont have the same direction?
As I said already, the directory structure in the zip is correct, and the MOD install file is wrong.
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

Segundo
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 6:58 pm

Re: [RC1]Ajax Shoutbox 1.2.x

Post by Segundo »

stuckinlimbo wrote:but there isn't an language/en/acp/mods folder. It just stops at the acp. If you look back at my screen captures, it will show that. So how do I copy all files directly with the same structure as the zip, when the phpbb3 ftp files dont have the same direction?
Stuckinlimbo, if the folder doesn't exist just create it.
br3nd4n wrote:Segundo

viewtopic.php?f=70&t=645725&st=0&sk=t&sd=a&start=435

look at my post via that link..
if you do that it will show up
Thanks br3nd4n. I'll try it. But if I remember correctly with 1.0.3a Paul had mentioned that it wasn't a good idea to place the include in the overall_header or footer. I don't remember the repercusions, but I remember something about it. I'll go back and look at that thread. But a definite thanks to you man!

Segundo
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 6:58 pm

Re: [RC1]Ajax Shoutbox 1.2.x

Post by Segundo »

br3nd4n wrote:Segundo

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... &start=435

look at my post via that link..
if you do that it will show up ;)

Thanks again man! All I needed was the 'where' to place the code in the .php files. I just placed the includes in the corresponding .html files and it worked just like I wanted.

User avatar
RickieIzfazt
Registered User
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:21 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC1]Ajax Shoutbox 1.2.x

Post by RickieIzfazt »

nice mod, downloaded, wil run it live and help test if see bugs, follow topic by this message
Running PHPbb3 canverPORTAL, SEO advanced URL MOD, SEO dynamic metatags, BRIDGED Ajax Chat & Coppermine, various small mods, Cutenews, Crawltrack (check http://www.crawltrack.fr if you don't now) SEO & crawler tracking on all scripts. Running phpBB Arcade and posts rating system.

have a look at http://tjoogle.com

JirkaX
Registered User
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 8:12 am

Re: [RC1]Ajax Shoutbox 1.2.x

Post by JirkaX »

Hi, I installed this Mod a few hours ago and have 2 questions:
- Shoutbox size is in FF bigger than in IE (both for 1 posted message) - is that normal?

IE:
Image

FF:
Image

As you can see, there is also alignment problem - text of the message is not in the center from vertical point of view. This problem occurs if user can not modify or delete messages and thus buttons are not displayed ... occurs in IE and also FF. Is there any solution for this?

- I tried to add Shoutbox also to other page, I added 'as_display' code to relevat php file, but this file is not directly in root, so when I tried to view that page in browser, I get this error message:

Code: Select all

'SERVER_ERR'			=> 'There was something wrong while doing a request to the server'
I suppose this is caused because mentioned php file is not in root, yes? What can I do to fix this issue?

oceanic815
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 8:32 pm

Re: [RC1]Ajax Shoutbox 1.2.x

Post by oceanic815 »

Hi Paul!

Is there any way for the shoutbox to be at the top of the forum? Right now, it's at the bottom underneath the Statistics. Also, how do I edit the padding from the Post Message button to the top of the container?

Thanks!


--
Shane H

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”