EasyMOD alpha3 v0.0.8 released

This forum is now closed as part of retiring phpBB2.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

This forum is now closed due to phpBB2.0 being retired.
Locked
User avatar
god49
Registered User
Posts: 186
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 2:57 pm

Post by god49 » Tue May 27, 2003 3:27 pm

ok so it doen't work on my localhost ok? I can't even get it to read any of the mods that it is suppossed to be able to install let alone anything else

Nuttzy99
Former Team Member
Posts: 4917
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2001 7:09 am
Location: the 11th dimension
Contact:

Post by Nuttzy99 » Tue May 27, 2003 3:29 pm

Glad to see you guys trying to help each other. I'd also ask that you be kind and patient with each other too ;)

UPDATE: I think the program is fundamentally sound as it worked very well in all my tests on multiple servers. However, EM is fairly complex, and complex things break in complex ways. I have discovered through a series of little miscoded things, that many people are getting bad recommendation results through the program. The problem is further complicated by the occerence of a completely seperate series of little miscodings that was leading to certain errors not getting reported and the program appearing to function when it was indeed not.

So the next version not only fixes these problems, it also will include more information in the debug results and I'm also thinking about adding a "verification" step on the installer to make sure it is really installed and not just saying so ;) BTW, these things won't take me long to code, but the thing that could take some time before releasing 0.0.9 is making the installer also be an upgrader. I don't want a seperate script or proggie for doing updates.

Lastly, anyone interested in doing translations, please let me know. You can send translated versions of lang_easymod.php to nuttzy --AT-- blizzhackers --DOT-- com (trying to avoid spam ;)). So far we have a couple coming. I probably won't be using them until 0.0.10 though. We'll see. I'm also tracking any changes that I've made to the lang_easymod file so updates will be easy.

FYI, when 0.0.9 comes out I plan on making another new topic. Hopefully that one won't start off with 10 pages of problems like this one does :lol:

-Nuttzy :cool:
SpellingCow.com - Free spell check service for your forums or any web form!
No Support via PM please!

User avatar
god49
Registered User
Posts: 186
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 2:57 pm

Post by god49 » Tue May 27, 2003 4:17 pm

let me know if ya need a beta test on a localhost machine

Nuttzy99
Former Team Member
Posts: 4917
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2001 7:09 am
Location: the 11th dimension
Contact:

Post by Nuttzy99 » Tue May 27, 2003 4:22 pm

god49 wrote: let me know if ya need a beta test on a localhost machine
If your definition of "localhost" is the same as mine, then yes it wil run on "localhost". You install it on the same machine that is running phpBB and then EM becomes a part of phpBB. If you are referring to your webserver as "localhost" then yes, it will run on localhost. In fact all the FTP methods use "localhost" as the server to connect to. The bottom line is that once all the kinks are worked out, the program should work for all phpBB configurations without modifiying the server's security.

-Nuttzy :cool:
SpellingCow.com - Free spell check service for your forums or any web form!
No Support via PM please!

Questions
Registered User
Posts: 705
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 11:06 pm
Location: Cyberspace Learning: PHP & MySQL
Contact:

Post by Questions » Tue May 27, 2003 5:07 pm

Hey Nuttzy, is version 0.0.9 the debug stuff that i need??

cause you said wait for the next versions and it should fix my problems...
ok, thanks
I will Install MODs to your forum, or install a fresh phpBB 2.0.10 to your host for reasonable prices.
Contact me via AIM @: Gam LDub


(Please note: I use paypal as my money transaction, so before you contact me to do any work to your site, make sure you have one. Thank you.)

Nuttzy99
Former Team Member
Posts: 4917
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2001 7:09 am
Location: the 11th dimension
Contact:

Post by Nuttzy99 » Tue May 27, 2003 5:51 pm

Actually I said to wait for the version and then we'll be able to see what you problem is ;)

-Nuttzy :cool:
SpellingCow.com - Free spell check service for your forums or any web form!
No Support via PM please!

Questions
Registered User
Posts: 705
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 11:06 pm
Location: Cyberspace Learning: PHP & MySQL
Contact:

Post by Questions » Tue May 27, 2003 6:05 pm

whoooops....my mistake thats what i mean... :wink:

so yeah, im patiently waiting...lol...this is a very awesome mod.....


CONGRATs to Nuttzy
I will Install MODs to your forum, or install a fresh phpBB 2.0.10 to your host for reasonable prices.
Contact me via AIM @: Gam LDub


(Please note: I use paypal as my money transaction, so before you contact me to do any work to your site, make sure you have one. Thank you.)

User avatar
Ptirhiik
Registered User
Posts: 7411
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 10:36 pm
Contact:

Post by Ptirhiik » Tue May 27, 2003 9:24 pm

I get something very strange as result of processing FIND/REPLACE WITH on this sample. It seems like sometime the first "line" (sometime more than one line) from the find part is not replaced. It also appends on some inline-find. It's not a systematical issue : I didn't get the case that make the issue happening, but it's quite often. Check ie privmsg after modding.

Note: the screen displaying what will be changed seems to be ok.

Another thing : multiple inline find/action for a same line are not supported after a find.

Nuttzy99
Former Team Member
Posts: 4917
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2001 7:09 am
Location: the 11th dimension
Contact:

Post by Nuttzy99 » Tue May 27, 2003 11:05 pm

Ptirhiik - RPGnet-fr wrote: I get something very strange as result of processing FIND/REPLACE WITH on this sample.
I'll take a look. Thanks!
Another thing : multiple inline find/action for a same line are not supported after a find.
Hrmmmm... that's not good and now that you mention it I think I remember breaking that... opps! I'll check it out.

-Nuttzy :cool:
SpellingCow.com - Free spell check service for your forums or any web form!
No Support via PM please!

Nuttzy99
Former Team Member
Posts: 4917
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2001 7:09 am
Location: the 11th dimension
Contact:

Post by Nuttzy99 » Tue May 27, 2003 11:27 pm

Holy Crap! That's a 3500 line MOD!! 8O If this thing installs then its a testament to the power EM ;)

First thing...

Code: Select all

//
// That's all Folks!
// -------------------------------------------------
...don't use this as the line does not appear in all lang packs (it's not in Spanish which I use as a test lang). You should do an AFTER, ADD after the last entry (for example, $lang['A_critical_error'] in lang_main).

Other than that, it did had some problems on my blueGray theme...

Code: Select all

.helpline { background-color: {T_TR_COLOR2}; border-style: none; }
...fails because I added a more settings on the end. You need to trim the FIND down to something more unique like...

Code: Select all

.helpline { background-color:
Also this line has no pray of working for any theme other than subSilver...

Code: Select all

	<tr> 
		<td class="spaceRow" colspan="2" height="1"><img src="templates/subSilver/images/spacer.gif" alt="" width="1" height="1" /></td>
	</tr>
...b/c of the reference to subSilver in the spacer.gif path. Is there some way of identifying this line with have subSilver in it?

Other than that, no other warnings. I'm going to keep examing the install. Still to early to see if its an EM problem.


EDIT: FYI, I'm testing on a fresh install of phpBB with Spanish+English and blueGray+subSilver

Thanks again for all your debugging ;)
-Nuttzy :cool:
SpellingCow.com - Free spell check service for your forums or any web form!
No Support via PM please!

Nuttzy99
Former Team Member
Posts: 4917
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2001 7:09 am
Location: the 11th dimension
Contact:

Post by Nuttzy99 » Tue May 27, 2003 11:31 pm

your MOD install wrote: Files Edited: 34
Commands Processed: 279
WOW! 8O

-Nuttzy :cool:
SpellingCow.com - Free spell check service for your forums or any web form!
No Support via PM please!

Nuttzy99
Former Team Member
Posts: 4917
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2001 7:09 am
Location: the 11th dimension
Contact:

Post by Nuttzy99 » Tue May 27, 2003 11:51 pm

Random comments:

I have an error in includes/page_header.php right away. Investigating.

BLAH!!! I wouldn't change this now or anything, but this is going to be problematic on anything but a virgin board and also for any MODs that need to install later...

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------------
#
	$sql = "SELECT u.username, u.user_id, u.user_allow_viewonline, u.user_level, s.session_logged_in, s.session_ip
		FROM ".USERS_TABLE." u, ".SESSIONS_TABLE." s
		WHERE u.user_id = s.session_user_id
			AND s.session_time >= ".( time() - 300 ) . "
			$user_forum_sql
		ORDER BY u.username ASC, s.session_ip ASC";
#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]---------------------------------------- 
#
//-- mod : profile cp ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
//-- delete
//	$sql = "SELECT u.username, u.user_id, u.user_allow_viewonline, u.user_level, s.session_logged_in, s.session_ip
//		FROM ".USERS_TABLE." u, ".SESSIONS_TABLE." s
//		WHERE u.user_id = s.session_user_id
//			AND s.session_time >= ".( time() - 300 ) . "
//			$user_forum_sql
//		ORDER BY u.username ASC, s.session_ip ASC";
//-- add
	$sql = "SELECT u.user_id, u.username, u.user_allow_viewonline, u.user_level, s.session_logged_in, s.session_time, s.session_page, s.session_ip 
		FROM ".USERS_TABLE." u, ".SESSIONS_TABLE." s
		WHERE u.user_id = s.session_user_id
			AND s.session_time >= ".( time() - 300 ) . "
			$user_forum_sql
		ORDER BY u.username ASC, s.session_ip ASC";
//-- fin mod : profile cp --------------------------------------------------------------------------
...first of all the FIND is looking for a completely unmodified SQL line. Not going to be like that after too many MOD installs ;) Next, the REPLACE (which I hate this command) has those commented lines. Any MOD installs after this needing those line is going to make the modification to those commented outlines since they will be found first 8O

Wow, I can't believe EM actually FINDs all this! There is a ton of array manipulation required to make all this happen :D

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------------
#
	while( $row = $db->sql_fetchrow($result) )
	{
		// User is logged in and therefor not a guest
		if ( $row['session_logged_in'] )
		{
			// Skip multiple sessions for one user
			if ( $row['user_id'] != $prev_user_id )
			{
				$style_color = '';
				if ( $row['user_level'] == ADMIN )
				{
					$row['username'] = '<b>' . $row['username'] . '</b>';
					$style_color = 'style="color:#' . $theme['fontcolor3'] . '"';
				}
				else if ( $row['user_level'] == MOD )
				{
					$row['username'] = '<b>' . $row['username'] . '</b>';
					$style_color = 'style="color:#' . $theme['fontcolor2'] . '"';
				}

				if ( $row['user_allow_viewonline'] )
				{
					$user_online_link = '<a href="' . append_sid("profile.$phpEx?mode=viewprofile&" . POST_USERS_URL . "=" . $row['user_id']) . '"' . $style_color .'>' . $row['username'] . '</a>';
					$logged_visible_online++;
				}
				else
				{
					$user_online_link = '<a href="' . append_sid("profile.$phpEx?mode=viewprofile&" . POST_USERS_URL . "=" . $row['user_id']) . '"' . $style_color .'><i>' . $row['username'] . '</i></a>';
					$logged_hidden_online++;
				}

				if ( $row['user_allow_viewonline'] || $userdata['user_level'] == ADMIN )
				{
					$online_userlist .= ( $online_userlist != '' ) ? ', ' . $user_online_link : $user_online_link;
				}
			}

			$prev_user_id = $row['user_id'];
		}
		else
		{
			// Skip multiple sessions for one user
			if ( $row['session_ip'] != $prev_session_ip )
			{
				$guests_online++;
			}
		}

		$prev_session_ip = $row['session_ip'];
	}
	$db->sql_freeresult($result);

more to come...........

-Nuttzy :cool:
SpellingCow.com - Free spell check service for your forums or any web form!
No Support via PM please!

Nuttzy99
Former Team Member
Posts: 4917
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2001 7:09 am
Location: the 11th dimension
Contact:

Post by Nuttzy99 » Wed May 28, 2003 12:02 am

Well here's the problem...

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ AFTER, ADD ]------------------------------------------
#
//-- mod : profile cp ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
//-- add
include($phpbb_root_path . 'profilcp/functions_profile.'.$phpEx);
//-- fin mod : profile cp --------------------------------------------------------------------------
...this works fine except for he fact that the MOD script doesn't actually COPY this file into place ;) So I can't actually install this MOD b/c you didn't include functions_profile.php in the zip.

I'll take a look at primsg for errors anyway.

-Nuttzy :cool:
SpellingCow.com - Free spell check service for your forums or any web form!
No Support via PM please!

Nuttzy99
Former Team Member
Posts: 4917
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2001 7:09 am
Location: the 11th dimension
Contact:

Post by Nuttzy99 » Wed May 28, 2003 12:14 am

Found a legit EM error...

Code: Select all

		$edit = '';
		$l_box_name = $lang['Sent'];
	}
		$l_box_name = $lang['Sent'];
	}
...thanks for finding it, I'll take it from here ;)

to do: CRITICAL - some kind of FIND/REPLACE error

-Nuttzy :cool:
SpellingCow.com - Free spell check service for your forums or any web form!
No Support via PM please!

Nuttzy99
Former Team Member
Posts: 4917
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2001 7:09 am
Location: the 11th dimension
Contact:

Post by Nuttzy99 » Wed May 28, 2003 12:35 am

I figured it out without even looking at my code :D I knew there was something unusal about the FIND with the previous messed up REPLACE, but I couldn't think of it. Then when I came across...

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------------
#
		'YIM' => $yim)
	);

	$template->pparse('body');

	include($phpbb_root_path . 'includes/page_tail.'.$phpEx);
...I predicted this would fail too... and it did ;) The reason is that I've been discarding whitespace when doing a FIND and this seems to be causing a problem. Don't ask me why, I've not looked at the code ;)

-Nuttzy :cool:
Last edited by Nuttzy99 on Wed May 28, 2003 12:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
SpellingCow.com - Free spell check service for your forums or any web form!
No Support via PM please!

Locked

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Writers Discussion”