RedBar³

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in the Customisations Database.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTICE: This forum is only for the announcement of new releases and/or updates of MODs. Any MOD support should be obtained through the Customisations Database in the support area designated for each MOD.

A direct link to support for each MOD is in the first post of the respective topic.
Locked
Extensions Robot
Extensions Robot
Extensions Robot
Posts: 27919
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 7:36 am

RedBar³

Post by Extensions Robot » Tue Jul 29, 2008 4:04 pm

Modification name: RedBar³
Author: stickerboy
Modification description: Places a links/navigation bar along the top and bottom of your forums (header & footer), which can be easily updated via the ACP.
Modification version: 1.0.2
Tested on phpBB version: 3.0.3

Download file: RedBar3.zip
File size: 160.55 KiB

Modification overview page: View

The phpBB Team is not responsible nor required to provide support for this modification. By installing this MOD, you acknowledge that the phpBB Support Team or phpBB Extensions Team may not be able to provide support.

-->Modification support<--
Last edited by Extensions Robot on Mon Mar 27, 2017 3:10 pm, edited 10 times in total.
(this is a non-active account manager for the phpBB Extension Customisations Team)

User avatar
A_Jelly_Doughnut
Former Team Member
Posts: 34457
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 1:26 am
Location: Where the Rivers Run
Contact:

RedBar³

Post by A_Jelly_Doughnut » Tue Jul 29, 2008 4:04 pm

Modification validated/released

Notes:
A Donut's Blog
"Bach's Prelude (Cello Suite No. 1) is driving Indiana country roads in Autumn" - Ann Kish

User avatar
stickerboy
Former Team Member
Posts: 7349
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 2:27 pm
Location: Airdrie, UK (127.0.0.1)
Name: Kenny Cameron
Contact:

RedBar³

Post by stickerboy » Tue Jul 29, 2008 4:04 pm

# Demo Board: http://www.sixstringmods.co.uk
Here's another demo. This ones shows the redbar moving to 2 lines :)
http://www.sixstringromance.co.uk/home.php#link

# Features:
  • Places a links/navigation bar in Header and/or Footer.
  • Easy to use ACP section.
  • Add, edit & delete links.
  • Integrated with phpBB permissions - choose who you want to have access (ACP only - add/edit/del)
  • Custom link colours
  • ACP Pagination
# Feature Requests: http://www.sixstringmods.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=48

# Development: http://www.sixstringmods.co.uk/viewforum.php?f=15
Current Development Status: v1.0.2 BETA1

# Bug Tracker: http://www.sixstringmods.co.uk/viewforum.php?f=26

# Screenshots:
acp_main.png
acp_main.png (43.97 KiB) Viewed 26556 times
acp_edit.png
acp_edit.png (34.08 KiB) Viewed 24895 times
acp_add.png
acp_add.png (33.07 KiB) Viewed 24194 times
redbar.png
redbar.png (5.45 KiB) Viewed 55983 times
# Translations:
Dutch Translation - v1.0.1 by Fridge
Dutch Translation - v1.0.2 BETA1 by Johan-NL - phpBB.nl Support Team member
German Translation - v1.0.1 by Metzle
Spanish Translation - v1.0.1 by Ahri89
French Translation - v1.0.1 by Xaphos
Turkish Translation - v1.0.1 by Marchandes

# subSilver2 Support: Officially there is none, but you may want to look at this post by Fridge
Please note that I will not provide any support for this code as of 13/11/08
*updated 06/08/08

# FAQ:

RedBar Tab won't show in the ACP - all file edits have been made
I've narrowed this issue down to duplicate permissions. Check the acl_options table in your database and look for a_redbar - if you have more than 1, delete the extra's. Now go to the main page of your ACP and purge the cache.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can I turn off the RedBar if I don't want to use it?
There isn't an on/off switch, but if you delete all the links then the bar will not show in the template.
RedBar will show up as soon as 1 link has been entered :)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I want to make my links open up in a new window
This is very simple and the method I use will keep your site valid XHTML :mrgreen:
Open your header/footer html files and find:

Code: Select all

<!-- BEGIN redbar --><a href="{redbar.U_REDBAR_URL}"
After add:

Code: Select all

 onclick="window.open(this.href); return false;"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My links don't show in a bar like on your development board.
Make sure you edited your CSS files correctly. If you're using a style other than prosilver, this is crucial.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How can get my links to extend to 2 lines?
I got this working as I have a fixed width style, I haven't tested it on a fluid style yet.
Basically just add more links and the bar should automatically wrap for you.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can I use this on subSilver2 or a sS2 based style?
Please see the section on sS2 support above ;)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's saying that REDBAR_TABLE doesn't exit!

You either haven't run the SQL queries that came with this MOD, or you haven't edited constants.php.
Double check your edits and make sure all the SQL queries have been executed.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I get an an error when running the SQL - phpbb_acl_options doesn't exist.
You need to edit the SQL query to match your prefix:

Code: Select all

INSERT INTO phpbb_acl_options( auth_option, is_global, is_local, founder_only )
VALUES ( 'a_redbar', 1, 0, 0 )
Where it says "phpbb" in there, you need to change that to whatever your prefix is, then run the SQL query again. After that, everything should be working ok :)
Last edited by stickerboy on Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:02 pm, edited 18 times in total.
Reason: Updated subSilver2 Disclaimer
I'm a web-designing code-decrypting tech-support musician
|| Twitter || Flickr || phpBB Snippets ||
Formerly known as cherokee red

momentum
Registered User
Posts: 1505
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 4:07 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: RedBar³

Post by momentum » Tue Jul 29, 2008 4:27 pm

Congrats on getting this released Kenny.

This looks interesting. Is there a (general) screenshot available?

Craig.
QOTY: phpBB is free, good hosting is not. - robert (Lumpy Burgertushie)

User avatar
stickerboy
Former Team Member
Posts: 7349
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 2:27 pm
Location: Airdrie, UK (127.0.0.1)
Name: Kenny Cameron
Contact:

Re: RedBar³

Post by stickerboy » Tue Jul 29, 2008 4:51 pm

I will be updating my 1st post soon, but I have a live demo up just now :) http://dev.sixstringromance.co.uk
There's also some more info in my dev forum - http://dev.sixstringromance.co.uk/viewforum.php?f=15
I'm a web-designing code-decrypting tech-support musician
|| Twitter || Flickr || phpBB Snippets ||
Formerly known as cherokee red

Mr. Bond
Registered User
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 1:11 pm

Re: RedBar³

Post by Mr. Bond » Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:06 pm

Good MOD, congrats on getting it validated ;)

prudil
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 11:43 pm

Re: RedBar³

Post by prudil » Tue Jul 29, 2008 8:16 pm

General error:
Im refresh style and...

Code: Select all

Could not open ./../styles/proglass/template/colour_swatch.html
colour_swatch.html is in adm/style/colour_swatch.html

User avatar
Alxor
Registered User
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 1:33 am
Contact:

Re: RedBar³

Post by Alxor » Wed Jul 30, 2008 2:51 am

Sounds like a very useful mod ,I would like to see it in action if possible screenshot or demo would be nice!

Congrats on the release! :ugeek:

Edit: I see the demo link! Thanks!
SC2Nation.com - StarCraft 2 Forum

User avatar
stickerboy
Former Team Member
Posts: 7349
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 2:27 pm
Location: Airdrie, UK (127.0.0.1)
Name: Kenny Cameron
Contact:

Re: RedBar³

Post by stickerboy » Wed Jul 30, 2008 8:15 am

prudil wrote:General error:
Im refresh style and...

Code: Select all

Could not open ./../styles/proglass/template/colour_swatch.html
colour_swatch.html is in adm/style/colour_swatch.html
Strange - I'm using almost exactly the same code to pull the swatch that used in the rest of the ACP.
Also, it shouldn't be looking anywhere near the styles folder :?
Can I ask what happens if you copy the colour_swatch file to your templates directory?

*edit* 1st post updated :)
I'm a web-designing code-decrypting tech-support musician
|| Twitter || Flickr || phpBB Snippets ||
Formerly known as cherokee red

Fridge
Registered User
Posts: 307
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 1:41 am
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Name: Martin
Contact:

Re: RedBar³

Post by Fridge » Wed Jul 30, 2008 11:45 am

Congratulations on getting it validated, love this mod :)

User avatar
pertneer
Registered User
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 3:56 pm
Contact:

Re: RedBar³

Post by pertneer » Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:53 am

Congrats on getting this validated.
I intend to live forever. So far, so good.
Steven Wright

Razors Edge
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 8:29 pm
Location: Detroit, MI
Contact:

Re: RedBar³

Post by Razors Edge » Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:07 pm

I have felt this should be a feature in 3.0 from the beginning. Thanks for the awsome work.

Razors Edge

dv-design
Registered User
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 1:05 am

Re: RedBar³

Post by dv-design » Fri Aug 01, 2008 1:08 am

Well im lost. I followed the directions. I get to the point in the ACP where i activate the mod. then i never get the new tab and cannot find the option for permissions of the bar. I dont know why this is. I tired clearing my temp files and history. I tried logging out of ACP and then back in.

Unless i goofed a file or something then i dunt know whats wrong. I could use some help. Thanks.

User avatar
stickerboy
Former Team Member
Posts: 7349
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 2:27 pm
Location: Airdrie, UK (127.0.0.1)
Name: Kenny Cameron
Contact:

Re: RedBar³

Post by stickerboy » Fri Aug 01, 2008 8:34 am

1 or 2 people have had this issue, but I can't replicate it.
Make sure you performed all the file edits - especially permissions_phpbb.php and purged your cache.
Also make sure you ran this SQL Query:

Code: Select all

INSERT INTO phpbb_acl_options (auth_option, is_global, is_local, founder_only) VALUES
('a_redbar', 1, 0, 0);
*edit*
ps. thanks guys :mrgreen:
I'm a web-designing code-decrypting tech-support musician
|| Twitter || Flickr || phpBB Snippets ||
Formerly known as cherokee red

dv-design
Registered User
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 1:05 am

Re: RedBar³

Post by dv-design » Fri Aug 01, 2008 10:02 am

cherokee red wrote:1 or 2 people have had this issue, but I can't replicate it.
Make sure you performed all the file edits - especially permissions_phpbb.php and purged your cache.
Also make sure you ran this SQL Query:

Code: Select all

INSERT INTO phpbb_acl_options (auth_option, is_global, is_local, founder_only) VALUES
('a_redbar', 1, 0, 0);
*edit*
ps. thanks guys :mrgreen:
Im going to start from the beginning, redo all the files and such.

whats the right way to "purge the cache"?

Thanks.

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MOD Database Releases”