[RC] NV newspage 1.0.2

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Get Involved
Locked
User avatar
iyeru42
Registered User
Posts: 1120
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 7:22 pm
Location: Madison, WI
Contact:

Re: [Beta] NV newspage 0.0.2

Post by iyeru42 »

Screenshots don't seem to be working =/
My Website | My MOD Requests | Foreign Key Docs (some topics are not requests)
"It's easy to rebel, but it's hard to be recognized."

special18
Registered User
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 12:46 am
Location: Lelystad
Contact:

Re: [Beta] NV newspage 0.0.2

Post by special18 »

There is a real bug in this mod that is that if you post links in a news artical the layout gets distored. Also there is no option to disable signatures in news aritcals but there is for avatars and such.

Signatures can be removed if you remove the html string tho. And ofcourse the missing lang files you can simply kopi the other file but since its bigger wiht more data then needed and your including it it slows it down without a valid reason wich is a real miss.

kevinroxx
Registered User
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 9:57 pm

Re: [Beta] NV newspage 0.0.2

Post by kevinroxx »

special18 wrote:There is a real bug in this mod that is that if you post links in a news artical the layout gets distored. Also there is no option to disable signatures in news aritcals but there is for avatars and such.

Signatures can be removed if you remove the html string tho. And ofcourse the missing lang files you can simply kopi the other file but since its bigger wiht more data then needed and your including it it slows it down without a valid reason wich is a real miss.
With regards to this post special18 I do believe while you are creating the post for the news page that you can choose to enable or disable your signature. When people reply to a topic for the news or you create a topic you can choose in your options: "Attach a signature (signatures can be altered via the UCP)"

This is a very nice mod nick. Easy, simple, and reliable.

The only thing which I have a problem with is if you specify the total # of characters for the news. Lets say you said 100 characters was the maximum number allowed for the news, but if you have for example 150 characters in that post and you made the text blue than the bbcode would not parse for that news because it just cuts off. I don't think there is a fix for this but if there is that would be a bonus ;)

Thank you nick for developing this :D

User avatar
nickvergessen
Former Team Member
Posts: 4397
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Name: Joas Schilling
Contact:

Re: [Beta] NV newspage 0.0.2

Post by nickvergessen »

kevinroxx wrote:The only thing which I have a problem with is if you specify the total # of characters for the news. Lets say you said 100 characters was the maximum number allowed for the news, but if you have for example 150 characters in that post and you made the text blue than the bbcode would not parse for that news because it just cuts off. I don't think there is a fix for this but if there is that would be a bonus ;)
i know, but i didn't found any fix for this.
just see that the phpbb-search displayes post and cuts of, but they display the post without any bbcode. i don't think that this is what you like to have? ;)
No Support via PM

kevinroxx
Registered User
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 9:57 pm

Re: [Beta] NV newspage 0.0.2

Post by kevinroxx »

nickvergessen wrote:
kevinroxx wrote:The only thing which I have a problem with is if you specify the total # of characters for the news. Lets say you said 100 characters was the maximum number allowed for the news, but if you have for example 150 characters in that post and you made the text blue than the bbcode would not parse for that news because it just cuts off. I don't think there is a fix for this but if there is that would be a bonus ;)
i know, but i didn't found any fix for this.
just see that the phpbb-search displayes post and cuts of, but they display the post without any bbcode. i don't think that this is what you like to have? ;)
No its okay if there is no fix available. I can either make shorter posts or choose to use images instead of all text.

Nerdy0
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 9:31 am
Contact:

Re: [Beta] NV newspage 0.0.2

Post by Nerdy0 »

Hi,
Please, how I do news archiv?
ryudr wrote:... ( "Archive May 2008" , "June 2008" ... ) automaticaly generated ?
... I don't know how it make :-)
I am sorry for the mistakes in my English.
http://www.Jump4.cz

User avatar
nickvergessen
Former Team Member
Posts: 4397
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Name: Joas Schilling
Contact:

Re: [Beta] NV newspage 0.0.2

Post by nickvergessen »

So, i think there are 2possibilities to do that.
  1. normal Pagination at the End/Start of the Page
  2. ?mode=archiv which looks like this click
which would you prefer?
No Support via PM

Nerdy0
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 9:31 am
Contact:

Re: [Beta] NV newspage 0.0.2

Post by Nerdy0 »

I would like this:
Image
This archiv is here

Or just this.
I am sorry for the mistakes in my English.
http://www.Jump4.cz

User avatar
nickvergessen
Former Team Member
Posts: 4397
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Name: Joas Schilling
Contact:

Re: [RC] NV newspage 1.0.0

Post by nickvergessen »

nickvergessen wrote:MOD-Title: NV newspage
MOD-Version: 1.0.0
MOD-Description:
  • Adds a extra-page to the board where a switchable number of news are displayed.
    The text can be shorten to a certain number of chars.
    Also the Icons can be switched of (post icons, user icons)
MOD-Download: phpBB-Version: phpBB 3.0.2
phpBB-Languages: en, de
phpBB-Styles: prosilver, subsilver2
MOD-Demo:
Added an archiv-column to the right side.
Submitted to the DB
No Support via PM

Nerdy0
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 9:31 am
Contact:

Re: [RC] NV newspage 1.0.0

Post by Nerdy0 »

Thanks for new version and I have one question ... why DB update? I am edited newspage.php, newspage.html and works great. :-)
I am sorry for the mistakes in my English.
http://www.Jump4.cz

User avatar
nickvergessen
Former Team Member
Posts: 4397
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Name: Joas Schilling
Contact:

Re: [RC] NV newspage 1.0.0

Post by nickvergessen »

db-update:
increase the version number ;)
No Support via PM

Nerdy0
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 9:31 am
Contact:

Re: [RC] NV newspage 1.0.0

Post by Nerdy0 »

nickvergessen wrote:db-update:
increase the version number ;)
Ahh you're right :-).. ok
I am sorry for the mistakes in my English.
http://www.Jump4.cz

faradfa
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:32 pm

Re: [RC] NV newspage 1.0.0

Post by faradfa »

hello!

I've downloaded your MOD this morning , but since i didn't manage to make it work.

I even return to the original language! but i have this error:

Code: Select all

SQL ERROR [ mysql4 ]

Unknown column 'News' in 'where clause' [1054]

SQL

SELECT t.*, f.*, p.*, s.*, u.*, z.* FROM (phpbb_topics t) LEFT JOIN phpbb_forums f ON (t.forum_id = f.forum_id) LEFT JOIN phpbb_posts p ON (p.post_id = t.topic_first_post_id) LEFT JOIN phpbb_sessions s ON (p.poster_id = s.session_user_id) LEFT JOIN phpbb_users u ON (u.user_id = p.poster_id) LEFT JOIN phpbb_attachments a ON (p.post_id = a.post_msg_id) LEFT JOIN phpbb_zebra z ON (z.user_id = 55 AND z.zebra_id = p.poster_id) WHERE t.forum_id IN (3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28) AND t.forum_id IN (News) GROUP BY t.topic_id, s.session_user_id ORDER BY p.post_time DESC LIMIT 5

BACKTRACE


FILE: includes/db/mysql.php
LINE: 158
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_error()

FILE: includes/db/mysql.php
LINE: 205
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_query()

FILE: includes/db/dbal.php
LINE: 159
CALL: dbal_mysql->_sql_query_limit()

FILE: newspage.php
LINE: 97
CALL: dbal_mysql->sql_query_limit()
please may someone help me! I don't understand where could be the problem !


and I don't remember that at any moment we had to modify the database...

waitin' for any help ! tnx

faradfa
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:32 pm

Re: [RC] NV newspage 1.0.0

Post by faradfa »

solved !!

i did'nt got that "Forum" had to be the number of the forum!
May I abuse, it would have been easier if the operator just had enter the name !

anyway thanks for this pretty MOD :)

User avatar
dethis
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:14 pm
Location: Lisboa, Portugal

Re: [RC] NV newspage 1.0.0

Post by dethis »

Frist thks for the mod.
Is there any way to show the full text instead of having to click "Read full news" to see it ?
Thks

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”