changing the header background image

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.0.
Scam Warning
Locked
drkdeath
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:13 am

changing the header background image

Post by drkdeath »

Hi, im new to phpbb so its kinda confusing. so far ive managed to install the pro silver template and remove the headers logo image but i would like to change the header background image altogether (the grey black rectangle) and put my own image up there. Could somebody explain how i go about changing the code to do this ? the link to my forum is http://gfxpixeldesigns.com/transatlanti ... /index.php
Thanks in advance.
User avatar
TheIlluminative
Former Team Member
Posts: 2451
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2003 11:34 pm
Location: Egypt
Name: Mahmoud
Contact:

Re: changing the header background image

Post by TheIlluminative »

Upload your image to styles/prosilver_se/theme/images directory then open file: styles/prosilver_se/theme/colours.css and find:

Code: Select all

.headerbar {
	background-color: #12A3EB;
	background-image: url("{T_THEME_PATH}/images/bg_header.gif");
	color: #FFFFFF;
}
change bg_header.gif with your image.
drkdeath
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:13 am

Re: changing the header background image

Post by drkdeath »

thanks that worked great :D just my image is a bit to small i made it 800 pixels wide so how wide do i make it ?
User avatar
TheIlluminative
Former Team Member
Posts: 2451
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2003 11:34 pm
Location: Egypt
Name: Mahmoud
Contact:

Re: changing the header background image

Post by TheIlluminative »

What do you mean by small, you mean it isn't completely displayed :roll: ?
tomkoel
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 12:13 am

Re: changing the header background image

Post by tomkoel »

Hi, I want to jump on this a few years late...
I can't get mine to show at all. Plus, like the guy above said, what size to you make the background image?
I want my own graphic behind the logo, and the search, and the title, etc. And I want to randomize it. Is that possible? Can the image be a png? Thanks.
TheChaosFactor
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 1:30 am

Re: changing the header background image

Post by TheChaosFactor »

I'm having a similar problem not being able to get mine to display at all, but I did read somewhere the appropriate size is approx 850 x 129 pixels, I believe. It would be nice to figure out how to replace the header image with one of my own and have it actually display though.

I'm trying to do something similar to what is done here on phpbb.com where the whole bar is removed and replaced with a custom image, and then I'd like to move the search bar.

Is there a variation of the steps above? I'd like to think I'm not doing anything incorrectly as these are straight forward directions, but at this point I'm willing to assume I'm not understanding the concept at all since I've been going at this for over 40 minutes...
User avatar
PlanetStyles.net
Former Team Member
Posts: 4809
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:16 pm
Location: Way up in the sky close to the stars
Name: Christian
Contact:

Re: changing the header background image

Post by PlanetStyles.net »

TheChaosFactor wrote:Is there a variation of the steps above?
You'll find this topic useful.
n3wb13
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 12:23 am

Re: changing the header background image

Post by n3wb13 »

hi,
ive changed the code to this:

Code: Select all

.headerbar {
	background-color: #12A3EB;
        width: 100%;
	background-image: url("{T_THEME_PATH}/images/sitelogo.png");
	color: #FFFFFF;

i added: width: 100%;
but instead of sitelogo.png being 100% of the forum, it repeats.

how can i make it so that it is 100% of the width of the forum, so it stretches across the width and does not repeat?
User avatar
Rahber
Former Team Member
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Pakistan
Name: Rahber
Contact:

Re: changing the header background image

Post by Rahber »

you cant not stretch your image according to screen resolution unless some script is used.

I would suggest use a Fixed width style so that your background image doesnt repeat and it lokks good even on big screen.

and to learn more abouit background repeat visit w3schools

and its always good to start your own new topic :)
n3wb13
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 12:23 am

Re: changing the header background image

Post by n3wb13 »

ok, thanks for your help :) thought it be easier to post in threads that have same subject and this thread seemed to do... even though 2 years old. thx again ;)
davers200
Registered User
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:28 pm

Re: changing the header background image

Post by davers200 »

ur forum has a error u must of alterd sumthin wrong.
davers200
Registered User
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:28 pm

Re: changing the header background image

Post by davers200 »

ur forum has a error u must of alterd sumthin wrong.
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Styles Support & Discussion”