[RC] Printer-friendly topic view mod

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
RCARON
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 10:11 am

Prob Install

Post by RCARON » Fri Aug 29, 2003 10:17 am

I have not the icon to print.

I have installed version 1.0.2

What can I do ?

Thanks

CyanBlue
Registered User
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 9:55 am

Post by CyanBlue » Fri Aug 29, 2003 12:33 pm

Howdy... ;)

Well... Your question does not provide any information...

Did you follow the instruction correctly???

Did you copy printer.gif file to the right place???

Does the link work without the icon???


On the side note, Svyatozar...
Do you know that this MOD does not work well with FI CodeExpand MOD v1.0.0 on phpBB 2.0.6???
I like how that CodeExpand MOD creates code tag, but I cannot live with the problem... So, I am trying to figure out how to work around it... If I cannot, I am going to delete that CodeExpand tag...

If you want to see how weird it gets, you can see it here... But this will be fixed or gotten down sooner or later... ;)
http://forum.flashvacuum.com/viewtopic.php?t=252
http://forum.flashvacuum.com/viewtopic. ... viewresult

Svyatozar
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 5:38 am

Post by Svyatozar » Fri Aug 29, 2003 2:26 pm

RCARON: This is first time I hear about that kind of problem. Did you try to check if you installed everything correctly? Do you have multiple templates? If so, you have to apply installation instructions to every template.

CyanBlue: Looks like a nice mod. I'll work on it. Who's making that mod?

RCARON
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 10:11 am

Problem

Post by RCARON » Fri Aug 29, 2003 3:22 pm

I have templates Subsilver .

I have verified install.

I have also MOD calendar Pro.

I have no icon and no link .

RCARON
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 10:11 am

I progress

Post by RCARON » Fri Aug 29, 2003 3:43 pm

I progress.

The icon appear at the bottom of the page, no at the top...

Is it possible to have the print functiun for all the topics of one forum ?

Thankes

Svyatozar
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 5:38 am

Re: I progress

Post by Svyatozar » Fri Aug 29, 2003 7:53 pm

RCARON wrote: I progress.

The icon appear at the bottom of the page, no at the top...

Is it possible to have the print functiun for all the topics of one forum ?

Thankes

Well, you need to carefully check the viewtopic_body.tpl
Basically you can add the link anywhere on the page in that file if you want.

If you could please give me a link to your page where you seem to have problem, I'd be able to better understand the problem.

Regards,

Svyatozar

CyanBlue
Registered User
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 9:55 am

Post by CyanBlue » Fri Aug 29, 2003 9:42 pm

Howdy, Svyatozar... ;)

The MOD that I have talked about can be found here...
http://www.forumimages.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=324

If you see the page 6, it says they are aware of the problem with your MOD... I wasn't asking you to fix it... I was just letting you know... Besides, that MOD is still in beta status, and it's got some more works before they officially release it... ;)


RCARON...
Please be more specific so that other people can feel your pain... :)

Svyatozar
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 5:38 am

Post by Svyatozar » Mon Sep 01, 2003 10:33 pm

But they have the print button. I wonder what mod they use for print view?
In my printer mod one can easily print a certain range of messages.

CyanBlue
Registered User
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 9:55 am

Post by CyanBlue » Tue Sep 02, 2003 12:09 am

Howdy... ;)

I think they are using this one...
Printable Topics MOD by Adam Ismay...
http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=10910

and some more discussion on this NavSlice MOD here...
http://www.forumimages.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=204

;)

Svyatozar
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 5:38 am

Post by Svyatozar » Tue Sep 02, 2003 12:43 am

That mod discontinued in February 2003 or so,
http://phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=66347&highlight=
...so I had to write a new one from scratch.
I have seen Nav Slices - but that's more of a design issue. To make my mod design-independent I made my own button. You can use their button if you want, of course.

CyanBlue
Registered User
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 9:55 am

Post by CyanBlue » Tue Sep 02, 2003 7:19 am

Howdy... ;)

Well... This isn't really the issue of the design... It goes more with how the script translates the [ CODE ] block to make nice page to print out...

I have tried for several days and I am still not in the right direction...
Will do some more and if it doens't work for me, I'm going to ditch that FI CodeExpand MOD until I hear some good news from them... ;)

Svyatozar
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 5:38 am

Post by Svyatozar » Wed Sep 03, 2003 12:40 am

I wish you best of luck. Me - I've been having troubles making that easyMod work with my mod with no success...

CyanBlue
Registered User
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 9:55 am

Post by CyanBlue » Wed Sep 03, 2003 9:06 am

easyMod??? The one that automatically installs MOD???

I have installed EasyMOD and have tried several MODs on it about three weeks ago or so, and I had not much of luck getting it working... I think I have installed two MODs or so with EasyMOD without any problem, and others just don't work...

Ever since then, I don't use EasyMOD... I feel more comfortable reading what kind of thing has been appened to the phpBB code and that's another way of learning thing or two... ;)

Luck??? Hehe... I'll need it... But by looking at the progress and the situation with that FI CodeExpand MOD taking so much time to parse the code to display, I think I might just get rid of it... I can stand the ugly ano not formatted code, but not the waiting time like that... ;D

Thank you much... ;)

Thanh Binh
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 1:32 am

Post by Thanh Binh » Wed Sep 10, 2003 6:56 am

can i suggest you use a seperate print.php or something like that instead of patching viewtopic.php...

That way it is easier to install without EasyMOD, i prefer manual way anyway..

Also, it will cause less conflict and minimal impact on core PHPBB code...

Svyatozar
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 5:38 am

Post by Svyatozar » Wed Sep 10, 2003 12:42 pm

Hello!
Thanh Binh wrote: can i suggest you use a seperate print.php or something like that instead of patching viewtopic.php...

That way it is easier to install without EasyMOD, i prefer manual way anyway..

Also, it will cause less conflict and minimal impact on core PHPBB code...
That's a good question, and here's my answer. Of course it is possible to make a separate print.php, and if you really need it, I can make it for you. However, the whole idea of patching is to be able to combine several mods. This could be an advantage and a disadvantage depending on how the different mods live togerher.
Also a patch is more portable than a file. Too bad there are no diffutils for Windows, otherwise patching would be a lot of fun: instead of having to manually edit the mod, all I would have to do is just run 'diff' on two folders. And to patch it you would need to run 'patch' command. Actually, for those who has *NIX on their server machine, I will make a patch. Just give me some time, all right?

Regards.

Locked

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”

cron