from 2.0.23 to 3.0

Converting from other board software? Good decision! Need help? Have a question about a convertor? Wish to offer a convertor package? Post here.
Anti-Spam Guide
User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 70218
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: from 2.0.23 to 3.0

Post by KevC »

What version is the very old one?
The version number is at the bottom of the admin panel.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"
User avatar
drn
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:32 am

Re: from 2.0.23 to 3.0

Post by drn »

the very old version is a 1.0

the one I use is a 2.0.23
User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 70218
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: from 2.0.23 to 3.0

Post by KevC »

Oh you should have said. phpBB1 certainly can't be converted. In fact you would probably have a job getting that to phpBB2 let alone 3.

The 2.0.23 should convert just fine.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"
User avatar
drn
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:32 am

Re: from 2.0.23 to 3.0

Post by drn »

Well that is odd as it is converting the phpBB1 fine, just as it looked as I got ride of it - well I thought I did...

Tone I use now is the phpBB2, that is the one I want to convert, but the convert system doesn't even find that forum
User avatar
drn
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:32 am

Re: from 2.0.23 to 3.0

Post by drn »

thanks for helping me Dicky now it works.. I have a few problems finding my way around in the administrator pages... is there a help thing, where you can see how to do?

Or do I just have to look around trying out?
User avatar
D¡cky
Former Team Member
Posts: 11812
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 8:38 pm
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Name: Richard Foote
Contact:

Re: from 2.0.23 to 3.0

Post by D¡cky »

A lot of it is by looking around and trying things out, but the User Guidewill have most of the information you need.
Have you hugged someone today?
User avatar
drn
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:32 am

Re: from 2.0.23 to 3.0

Post by drn »

Thanks so much for all the help.. :P
User avatar
drn
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:32 am

Re: from 2.0.23 to 3.0

Post by drn »

Oh one last question, if I like to change the text for the "registrate as member" page - the text you see before you say how old you are... in wich file do I change that?

In the phpBB2 it was the : language/lang_english/lang_main.php file you found that part in
User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 70218
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: from 2.0.23 to 3.0

Post by KevC »

To change the registration agreement you need to edit the language/en/ucp.php file. Use a basic text editor like notepad++ and use HTML for any bold, underline, italics and linking. Use <br/> for a new line.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"
User avatar
drn
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:32 am

Re: from 2.0.23 to 3.0

Post by drn »

thanks
User avatar
drn
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:32 am

Re: from 2.0.23 to 3.0

Post by drn »

I changed the file, but now it is saying:

phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 3545: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /language/en/ucp.php:1)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 3547: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /language/en/ucp.php:1)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 3548: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /language/en/ucp.php:1)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/functions.php on line 3549: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /language/en/ucp.php:1)

in top of the forum when I go to the page, to registrate...
http://www.d-r-n.com/phpBB3/index.php

Did I use some kind of wrong command or sign? and the first part of the text is inviseble until you highlight it..

I made the text as I wanted it in my html program, then I replaced the old tearms with the new, in the note pad program
User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 70218
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: from 2.0.23 to 3.0

Post by KevC »

Kevin Clark wrote:Use a basic text editor like notepad++
http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/uk/site.htm

Notepad does not save the file in the right format.
Get that one instead.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"
User avatar
drn
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:32 am

Re: from 2.0.23 to 3.0

Post by drn »

Thanks that helped...
Now it is working fine for me...
Aldric55
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 2:32 am

Re: from 2.0.23 to 3.0

Post by Aldric55 »

hi I hope u dont mind me posting my problem on this thread but what if you dont have a convert tab ?
I had a problem with my v2 board and ive had to install v3 the install stuff says i have to run the conversion but there is no conversion tab when i asked my hosting company they said this
ask in a forum how to update a cpanel phpbb
any help would be much apreaciated
User avatar
KevC
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 70218
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: from 2.0.23 to 3.0

Post by KevC »

Aldric55 wrote:hi I hope u dont mind me posting my problem on this thread but what if you dont have a convert tab ?
I had a problem with my v2 board and ive had to install v3 the install stuff says i have to run the conversion but there is no conversion tab when i asked my hosting company they said this
ask in a forum how to update a cpanel phpbb
any help would be much apreaciated
You should start your own topic explaining exactly what you've done so far with links to the 2x and 3x installations.
-:|:- Support Request Template -:|:-
Image
Cheap UK Hosting
"In the land of the blind the little green bloke with no pupils is king - init!"
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Convertors”