[ABD] AJAX Chat

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
gr00vytunes
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:53 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by gr00vytunes »

When you log in you see Ajax Chat top left Can I replace this with my site name or even better a logo ?

Thanks in advance
User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by muggins »

Like this?

Image

In root/chat/lib/template/loggedin.html:

Code: Select all

<body>
	<div id="content">
		<div id="headlineContainer">
			<h1>Sapo's Joint • Chat</h1>
		</div>
;)
Muggins
gr00vytunes
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:53 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by gr00vytunes »

Nice one - that looks better with relevant text! Do you think it would be possible to put a logo in aswell/instead?
User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by muggins »

I don't see why not. Try it and post back! :D
Muggins
gr00vytunes
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:53 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by gr00vytunes »

Ok here is my code for the header text

<div id="content">
<div id="headlineContainer">
<h1>My Chat Room</h1>
</div>

I changed tried my bestest to change it to point an image in /images/sitelogo_chat.png but then i walk into allsorts of xml errors..

Any ideas on what code to try please :)
User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by muggins »

Lots! :lol: I don't know what will work offhand, but post the snippet you tried, and we can tweak it.
Muggins
gr00vytunes
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:53 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by gr00vytunes »

Is Now Working !!

Select

<div id="content">
<div id="headlineContainer">
<h1>My Chat Room</h1>
</div>

Replace

<div id="content">
<img src="http://www.mysite.com/images/sitelogo_chat.png" alt="My Chat Room"></img>
User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by muggins »

Cool! :mrgreen:
Muggins
gr00vytunes
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:53 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by gr00vytunes »

Does anyone know where Ajax gets its time from? I am posted messages and they are 8 or 9 mins behind time??

Thanks in Advance
BryceHockey
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 1:45 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by BryceHockey »

Hi, I am not too knowledgeable at installing mods, but I did read the guide sticky on how to install them. I followed the instructions of this mod, everything is fine up to that point. I can see the chat and it looks great, I can use all the functions. The only part that nothing happens for, is that if I type something in it doesn't show up. I don't show up on the list of users in the room, but the logout button is there and I'm certain that I am logged in.

Question 1: Is the "Socket Server" info at the bottom something I need to do? If so, I'm gonna be lost as to how it gets done.

Questions 2: What else do I need to do, if anything, besides the 3 steps of installation? Note that I don't want the shoutbox, only the regular chat.

Thanks a ton in advance, if anyone could help me that would be great.

Bryce
gr00vytunes
Registered User
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 1:53 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by gr00vytunes »

Have you tried editing the lib/config.php with cookie session id ?

look on page 105 for more detail

cheers
BryceHockey
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 1:45 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by BryceHockey »

Thanks Groovy, I just tried that, nothing changed though unfortunately. :(

As the chat screen is loading, I noticed some errors showing up then disappearing after a second. I took a screenshot of them as it was the only way to record them.
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc11 ... enshot.gif

Any advice on what I need to do?
User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

BryceHockey wrote:As the chat screen is loading, I noticed some errors showing up then disappearing after a second. I took a screenshot of them as it was the only way to record them.
http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc11 ... enshot.gif

Any advice on what I need to do?
Hi,

PHP requires that you set a path where session data can be saved! If you have access
to the php.ini file on this server, please check the session.save_path setting, it should be equal
to your cgi-bin/tmp directory. Otherwise, contact your web host provider.

Regards
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)
BryceHockey
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 1:45 pm

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by BryceHockey »

I'm not sure if I have access to my database, but if I did, would it be done through phpMyAdmin? I just downloaded the files for the program and it seems like a nightmare to install to someone like me that is bad with coding... great.

Even if I get this installed, where are the directions for setting the path? I didn't see them in the mod "readme".
User avatar
easygo
Registered User
Posts: 689
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Post by easygo »

BryceHockey wrote:I'm not sure if I have access to my database, but if I did, would it be done through phpMyAdmin? I just downloaded the files for the program and it seems like a nightmare to install to someone like me that is bad with coding... great.

Even if I get this installed, where are the directions for setting the path? I didn't see them in the mod "readme".
Um, I was talking about access to the php.ini file, not to the database.
Regarding this, the session.save_path is either wrong or missing.

P.S. That's a server config issue and as such it has nothing to do with the AJAX Chat installation itself.
Casual developer for AJAX Chat on behalf of the author / Arcade Center powered by phpBB Arcade

A problem well put is half solved. (John Dewey, 1859–1952)
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”