[How To] Modify prosilver's header

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.0.
Anti-Spam Guide
Locked
baggiesmad
Registered User
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 10:32 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by baggiesmad » Mon May 18, 2009 8:31 am

Hi, is it possible to use this mod on prosilver_se?

I've done a search in my overall_header.html file and I cannot see

Code: Select all

<a href="{U_SEARCH}" title="{L_SEARCH_ADV_EXPLAIN}">{L_SEARCH_ADV}</a> {S_SEARCH_HIDDEN_FIELDS}
            </fieldset>
            </form>
         </div>
      <!-- ENDIF -->


Anywhere?

User avatar
prototech
Former Team Member
Posts: 5406
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:04 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by prototech » Tue May 19, 2009 4:09 pm

Trogan wrote:srry if i am asking something that has already been asked but how do i add a background image to the background for global? like

Code: Select all

background-image: url("http://www.torous1234.co.cc/testbackground.png"); 
?
I'm not exactly sure what you mean by "global." Do you want to add a background image to the body of the page?
vannquish wrote:Hi, is it possible to use this mod on prosilver_se?

I've done a search in my overall_header.html file and I cannot see
Yes, but since you've removed the search box, that code isn't present anymore. Add the </div> before:

Code: Select all

<span class="corners-bottom"><span></span></span></div>
        		</div>
        
        		<div class="navbar">
Need help with MOD/style installations or other phpBB problems? Contact me for a quote.

User avatar
muggins
Registered User
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:12 pm
Location: Texas
Name: Donovan
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by muggins » Tue May 19, 2009 6:25 pm

prototech wrote:
Trogan wrote:srry if i am asking something that has already been asked but how do i add a background image to the background for global? like

Code: Select all

background-image: url("http://www.torous1234.co.cc/testbackground.png"); 
?
I'm not exactly sure what you mean by "global." Do you want to add a background image to the body of the page?
If I can jump in here... Yes! And I would like to have that background image rotate on a timer, too!

I have a code snippet that works for the header image with timed rotation instead of random, but I can't make it work with the background. (I use Swanky, not prosilver, but they're close enough...)

I'll include the code if anyone is interested, but when I try it I get some sort of stylesheet error. :cry:
Muggins

User avatar
Dan27
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 1:07 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Dan27 » Tue May 19, 2009 6:47 pm

This is great! Thanks, I might use the random header image :D
Dan - Registered user.
Click here to visit my forum.

baggiesmad
Registered User
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 10:32 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by baggiesmad » Wed May 20, 2009 8:56 am

vannquish wrote:Hi, is it possible to use this mod on prosilver_se?

I've done a search in my overall_header.html file and I cannot see
Yes, but since you've removed the search box, that code isn't present anymore. Add the </div> before:

Code: Select all

<span class="corners-bottom"><span></span></span></div>
        		</div>
        
        		<div class="navbar">
Thanks! :)

User avatar
Trogan
Registered User
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 8:39 pm
Location: In your dreams
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Trogan » Wed May 20, 2009 12:38 pm

prototech wrote:
Trogan wrote:srry if i am asking something that has already been asked but how do i add a background image to the background for global? like

Code: Select all

background-image: url("http://www.torous1234.co.cc/testbackground.png"); 
?
I'm not exactly sure what you mean by "global." Do you want to add a background image to the body of the page?
yes
"Yet, As i walk through the valley of the shadows of death. I Shall fear no evil."

Sylwia
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 2:16 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Sylwia » Wed May 20, 2009 3:42 pm

Everything works great for me, with one exception. When I add this bit:
prototech wrote: Open styles/prosilver/theme/colours.css
At the end of the file, add

Code: Select all

a#header-link {
  display: block;
  width: auto;
  height: 100px; /* Change according to your needs */
  text-indent: -1000px;
}
the navigation bar below shrinks and moves to left. Could you help?

Here's my site.

ETA: IE shows the navbar normally, while Firefox does not. Only about 70% of the banner becomes a link, and the navbar shrinks to the width of the part that doesn't.

sicem75
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by sicem75 » Thu May 21, 2009 2:58 am

How do you limit how wide the message board will be.

User avatar
Josh
Former Team Member
Posts: 1882
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 3:08 pm
Location: Melbourne, AUS
Name: Josh Simpson
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Josh » Thu May 21, 2009 3:33 am

Josh Simpson- Formerly known as "HardStyle"
Styles: Submission Policy | Database | Knowledge Base | Demo
Please do not PM me for personal support.
Image

Sylwia
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 2:16 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Sylwia » Thu May 21, 2009 4:13 am

For now I'll remove the link from the header so that the navbar returned into its place. Here's a pic of what it looks like when the header is linked.
Image
Could anyone advise how to fix it?

Sylwia
Registered User
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 2:16 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Sylwia » Thu May 21, 2009 4:50 am

It seems that I managed to fix the problem (hopefully).

Here are the changes I made in the prosilver theme:

Code: Select all

/* Site description and logo */
#site-description {
	float: left;
	width: auto;
Changed 70% to auto.

Code: Select all

a#header-link {
  display: block;
  width: 944px;
  height: 288px; /* Change according to your needs */
  text-indent: -1000px;
}
Changed width: auto; to the actual size.

sicem75
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by sicem75 » Thu May 21, 2009 7:09 am

Thank you hard Style. one more thing, I am having a problem getting my
Topics -------REPLIES-----VIEWS-----LAST POST to line up on the message board
here is a link to what I am talking about if anyone can help that would be awesome
http://www.theskipperpartys.net/phpBB_3 ... um.php?f=3
Thank You so much..

Oh ya The problem only seems to happen with Crome, Firefox and Safari browsers. it works fine with IE

castorcanadensis
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 9:22 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by castorcanadensis » Fri May 22, 2009 11:35 am

I'm having a silly problem with the top of my forum since incorporating a banner image. I wonder if anyone can help me?

The site is here: http://www.informa-in-touch.org. You'll notice that the "buttons menu" and the block with the link to 'board index' and so on, are just slightly narrower than the rest of the forum.

There is also a tiny 'nick' in the top right hand side of the banner that is not on the image itself and I think is a vestige of a white corner from something.

Initially I thought this was due to a problem with the button menu but the author of that mod seems adamant that it is not.

Any help would be really appreciated.
Many thanks
Graham.

User avatar
Trogan
Registered User
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 8:39 pm
Location: In your dreams
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Trogan » Fri May 22, 2009 3:35 pm

Trogan wrote:
prototech wrote:
Trogan wrote:srry if i am asking something that has already been asked but how do i add a background image to the background for global? like

Code: Select all

background-image: url("http://www.torous1234.co.cc/testbackground.png"); 
?
I'm not exactly sure what you mean by "global." Do you want to add a background image to the body of the page?
yes

um plz help -_-,
"Yet, As i walk through the valley of the shadows of death. I Shall fear no evil."

User avatar
Trogan
Registered User
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 8:39 pm
Location: In your dreams
Contact:

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Trogan » Fri May 22, 2009 3:39 pm

Upps double post
"Yet, As i walk through the valley of the shadows of death. I Shall fear no evil."

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Styles Support & Discussion”