backup question?

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
cellpack
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 9:54 am

backup question?

Post by cellpack »

Hi,

If i took a FULL backup using the builtin phpbb backup script, and that file is over 14mb, what is the best way to restore the file?

Thanks.
User avatar
Stormscape
Registered User
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 12:13 am
Contact:

Post by Stormscape »

1.5mbps DSL :p
cellpack
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 9:54 am

Post by cellpack »

:D What program is best to use, that will handle the transfer to the server?
MarkS
Registered User
Posts: 613
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2003 5:02 pm
Location: Sunshine State in the Good Ol' US of A
Contact:

Post by MarkS »

I would suggest splitting up the file into 0.5 MB files and restoring each one individually. Yes, you'll have 28 files to restore, but it's the safest way.

Here is a program that will do that:
http://www.rasadam.com/download.php?file=rfsplitter.zip
cellpack
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 9:54 am

Post by cellpack »

umm i dont use phpMyAdmin to make my backups i use the backup utility in the phpbb board itself, selecting full backup from the choices? will this still work?
MarkS
Registered User
Posts: 613
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2003 5:02 pm
Location: Sunshine State in the Good Ol' US of A
Contact:

Post by MarkS »

I believe so. As long as the syntax of the .sql files are correct, which they should be, you can restore it from phpBB.
cellpack
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 9:54 am

Post by cellpack »

hi, just tried running it and it seems to duplicate it but adding .000 to the end?
MarkS
Registered User
Posts: 613
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2003 5:02 pm
Location: Sunshine State in the Good Ol' US of A
Contact:

Post by MarkS »

So, it didn't create more than 1 file?
cellpack
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 9:54 am

Post by cellpack »

no all it create is the one file said it had 9000 lines, split was set to the feault 1000 lines, but only one file was created!
Nitr0
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 2:43 am

Post by Nitr0 »

To backup and restore use Mysql-Front. http://www.mysqlfront.de . I use it myself and its awesome.
cellpack
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 9:54 am

Post by cellpack »

seems to work great, hav'nt tried restoring yet though :) thanks guys!
User avatar
Drexion
Former Team Member
Posts: 8892
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 9:54 pm
Location: City 17

Post by Drexion »

Your backup file is too large for the conventional admin panel backup. (unless your host has somehow set a very high timeout/upload value which is very very unlikely)
The most convenient is probably SSH, but not all hosts offer it.
If you have SSH/telnet access to your host you can use that to upload the backup.
This thread and article have the relevant SSH/telnet backup/restore commands.
http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=17528
http://www.phpbb.com/kb/article.php?article_id=140

It might be easier for you to split the file into 1/2 meg chunks.
Base of this article explains how to do it, and has a link to that same file splitter.
http://www.phpbb.com/kb/article.php?article_id=59
cellpack
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 9:54 am

Post by cellpack »

Hi, i made a backup with mysqlfrontend as nitr0 suggested, the file size is about 7mb compared to 14mb with the phpbb admin panel backup, is this normal does it mean everything is backedup, is the mysqlfrontend okay to use for the backup and restore process?
cellpack
Registered User
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 9:54 am

Post by cellpack »

my mysql database is stored on a seperate database only server, however i do have telnet access, would i still be able to peform the backup process using telnet?
Nitr0
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 2:43 am

Post by Nitr0 »

You could test it, by upload the database on a test_database with the same phpbb files, everything should work fine, since i did this a lot of times.
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”