Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in the Customisations Database.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

NOTICE: This forum is only for the announcement of new releases and/or updates of MODs. Any MOD support should be obtained through the Customisations Database in the support area designated for each MOD.

A direct link to support for each MOD is in the first post of the respective topic.

Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Postby MOD Robot » Sat Sep 26, 2009 7:30 pm

Modification name: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin
Author: Derky
Modification description: This CAPTCHA plugin adds two columns, you can add options to each column. All the options will be displayed into one column, then the user has to sort the options from one to the other column, by dragging them with the mouse. If the options are dragged to the correct columns the CAPTCHA is solved.

Live Demo
So how is this exactly working? Try it out now!

Installing is a Breeze
No more editing files with plugins. Just upload them and it works! See how

Translations
Already available in 23 different languages! Most translations are included in the download package but for the latest added translations see: The list of available translations and how you can submit yours.

Update to Latest Version
Please make sure you're running the latest version to support touch devices such as iPhone, iPad and Android based: Read more
Modification version: 1.0.4
Tested on phpBB version: 3.0.11

Download file: sortables_captcha_plugin_1_0_4.zip
File size: 213260 Bytes

Modification overview page: View

The phpBB Team is not responsible nor required to provide support for this modification. By installing this MOD, you acknowledge that the phpBB Support Team or phpBB Modifications Team may not be able to provide support.

-->Modification support<--
Last edited by MOD Robot on Sun Oct 06, 2013 3:28 pm, edited 28 times in total.
(this is a non-active account manager for the phpBB MOD Team)
MOD Robot
MOD Queue Bot
MOD Queue Bot
 
Posts: 24693
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 7:36 am

Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Postby DavidIQ » Sat Sep 26, 2009 7:30 pm

Modification validated/released

Notes:
THIS IS A MOD FOR phpBB VERSION 3.0.6 AND HIGHER

Please do not attempt to install or use this MOD on a version prior to 3.0.6.

Image
Apply to become a Jr. MOD Validator | My mods | Need a mod Installed/created or a template adaptation?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.
User avatar
DavidIQ
MOD Team Leader
MOD Team Leader
 
Posts: 14665
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Clearwater, FL
Name: David Colón

Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Postby Derky » Sat Sep 26, 2009 7:30 pm

Thanks! :D

The way to get rid of spam on your phpBB3 forum! This plugin is based on the default Question & Answer CAPTCHA so you can really make it suitable for your type of forum! For example if you have a cooking forum, then you can ask "What to include for tomato soup?"
Image
The user has to drag Bananas and Apples to the Throw away column to solve the CAPTCHA. :-)

Features:
  • Left and right columns can be renamed to anything
  • Multiple options per column allowed
  • Options are showed in random order
  • Multiple language support

Screenshots:
Tomato soup example ACP:
Image

Michael Jackson albums example ACP:
Make sure your audience know the answers. For example; this question should only be asked on a Michael Jackson fan site.
Image

So you can really customise it to your type of board. 8-)

Live Demo:
Posting page or Registration page.


subsilver2 template files:
*Download removed* subsilver2 template files are currently included with the MOD.


Translations
http://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/mod/s ... /faq/f_547


Best Captcha Plugin Competition:
This plugin was a candidate in the Best Captcha Plugin Competition, and it won the Team Choice!
Image
Last edited by Derky on Tue Sep 29, 2009 6:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Derky
MOD Team Member
MOD Team Member
 
Posts: 2405
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Postby PinoyEngine™ » Sun Sep 27, 2009 9:17 am

Wow! I found this very useful, anyway, can I just enable this plugin when my members are making new topic in a specified forum?

thanks in advance and more power.
User avatar
PinoyEngine™
Registered User
 
Posts: 239
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 7:12 am

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Postby Derky » Sun Sep 27, 2009 11:58 am

It is a replacement for the current 3.0.6 captcha, so it will only show up for guests. ;)
User avatar
Derky
MOD Team Member
MOD Team Member
 
Posts: 2405
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Postby stokerpiller » Sun Sep 27, 2009 9:57 pm

This is brilliant, thanks for making this.
Hope you will get a teddy bear ;)
I am done with phpBB
stokerpiller
Registered User
 
Posts: 1934
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:06 pm

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Postby Derky » Mon Sep 28, 2009 7:35 am

Thanks, yeah I hope I win too. 8-)
User avatar
Derky
MOD Team Member
MOD Team Member
 
Posts: 2405
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Postby ToonArmy » Tue Sep 29, 2009 12:00 pm

Could I suggest altering the checkboxes for the noscript version to radio boxes.
Chris SmithBlogGitHub
Image
In a foreign field he lay. Lonely soldier unknown grave. On his dying words he prays. Tell the world of Paschendale.
User avatar
ToonArmy
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 4607
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 5:29 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Name: Chris Smith

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Postby Derky » Tue Sep 29, 2009 4:36 pm

Well the problem with that, is that I'm using
Code: Select all
$options_left = request_var('sortables_options_left', array(0), true); 
to retreive the options. They are stuffed in an array. With radio boxes, the left & right box need to have the same names.
So I need to have complete redundant code (which I do not like for an extra noscript feature) for that request/validate part, or does someone know a better way to do it?
User avatar
Derky
MOD Team Member
MOD Team Member
 
Posts: 2405
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Postby Powerlord » Wed Sep 30, 2009 4:15 am

I don't suppose there will eventually be an option to have multiple sortable sets?
Powerlord
Registered User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 11:16 am

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Postby Derky » Wed Sep 30, 2009 5:08 am

You can already add more then 1 question with multiple options, what do you mean exactly?
User avatar
Derky
MOD Team Member
MOD Team Member
 
Posts: 2405
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Postby ToonArmy » Wed Sep 30, 2009 1:17 pm

Derky wrote:which I do not like for an extra noscript feature

Well I'd not use a CAPTCHA on my board that requires javascript, nor would I consider voting for it. ;)

You can achieve the required easily however. You will need a radio button for each item left and right, each with the same name but a different value 'l', 'r' or whatever you choose. I tested by creating an array of radios, like the following:
Code: Select all
<input type="radio" name="sort[value1]" value="l" />
<input type="radio" name="sort[value1]" value="r" />
<input type="radio" name="sort[value2]" value="l" />
<input type="radio" name="sort[value2]" value="r" />
<input type="radio" name="sort[value3]" value="l" />
<input type="radio" name="sort[value3]" value="r" />


You can easily get the required data in one array using the following call to request_var() note that you do not need the multibyte option if you are not requesting multibyte data:
Code: Select all
request_var('sort', array('' => '')); 


You will get an array like this:
Code: Select all
array(3)
{
["value1"]=>  string(1) "l"
["value2"]=>  string(1) "l"
["value3"]=>  string(1) "r"
}
Chris SmithBlogGitHub
Image
In a foreign field he lay. Lonely soldier unknown grave. On his dying words he prays. Tell the world of Paschendale.
User avatar
ToonArmy
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 4607
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 5:29 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Name: Chris Smith

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Postby stokerpiller » Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:06 am

ToonArmy wrote:Well I'd not use a CAPTCHA on my board that requires javascript, nor would I consider voting for it. ;)

Why do you think this is so important?
I am done with phpBB
stokerpiller
Registered User
 
Posts: 1934
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:06 pm

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Postby ToonArmy » Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:16 am

stokerpiller wrote:
ToonArmy wrote:Well I'd not use a CAPTCHA on my board that requires javascript, nor would I consider voting for it. ;)

Why do you think this is so important?

Because I don't like javascript to be a requirement, and will quite often walk away from a site if it is.
Chris SmithBlogGitHub
Image
In a foreign field he lay. Lonely soldier unknown grave. On his dying words he prays. Tell the world of Paschendale.
User avatar
ToonArmy
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 4607
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 5:29 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Name: Chris Smith

Re: Sortables CAPTCHA Plugin

Postby Derky » Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:00 pm

I think you're probably using Firefox with the noscript addon. :P

Thanks for the code, I think I can let the JavaScript part also work with this code. :)
User avatar
Derky
MOD Team Member
MOD Team Member
 
Posts: 2405
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Netherlands

Next

Return to [3.0.x] MOD Database Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests