no quote option vs. quote option

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
GenderBender
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:09 pm
Location: E5K 2A1 CANADA

no quote option vs. quote option

Post by GenderBender » Sun Nov 22, 2009 9:44 pm

Hi,

I am getting along pretty well with my forum now...

We have two language options on the forum, Dutch and English. The majority of the forummembers use the Dutch language.

The users that use the Dutch language don't see the quote, edit, remove etc. option but if they switch to British-English they do.

What do I need to adjust?

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 50681
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: no quote option vs. quote option

Post by stevemaury » Sun Nov 22, 2009 9:48 pm

You need to add the nl images folder to styles/your_style/imageset. If your style is based on (or is) either prosilver or subsilver2, you can find the right imageset in our downloads page.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)

GenderBender
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:09 pm
Location: E5K 2A1 CANADA

Re: no quote option vs. quote option

Post by GenderBender » Sun Nov 22, 2009 9:53 pm

See, I kinda was expecting that...! Thanks.

What do I do if people switch from template to template?

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 50681
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: no quote option vs. quote option

Post by stevemaury » Sun Nov 22, 2009 10:25 pm

You have the folder for both languages in the imageset folder of each style.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)

GenderBender
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:09 pm
Location: E5K 2A1 CANADA

Re: no quote option vs. quote option

Post by GenderBender » Sun Nov 22, 2009 11:00 pm

Thanks!! I really appreciate it!

GenderBender
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:09 pm
Location: E5K 2A1 CANADA

Re: no quote option vs. quote option

Post by GenderBender » Wed Nov 25, 2009 11:31 pm

We upgraded to 3.0.6 and all the 'quoto' and 'edit' have disappeared again. We do still have all the language folders. Do you know of a bug of some sort in the new 3.0.06 ??

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 50681
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: no quote option vs. quote option

Post by stevemaury » Wed Nov 25, 2009 11:46 pm

Please fill out the Support Request Template Generator and post it back here to enable us to assist you better.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)

GenderBender
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:09 pm
Location: E5K 2A1 CANADA

Re: no quote option vs. quote option

Post by GenderBender » Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:29 pm

Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.0.6
What is your board's URL? http://www.vlaamsegenderkring.be/VGK_Forum/index.php
Who do you host your board with? Stone Internet Services
How did you install your board? I used the download package from phpBB.com
Is your board a fresh install or a conversion? Fresh Install
Do you have any MODs installed? No
Is registration required to reproduce this issue? Yes
What styles do you currently have installed? 3.0.06
What language(s) is your board currently using? UK and NL
Which database type/version are you using? I Don't Know
What is your level of experience? New to PHP and phpBB
What username can be used to view this issue? xxxxxx
What password can be used to view this issue? xxxxxxx
When did your problem begin? right after the update 3.05 to 3.06
Please describe your problem. forummembers don't see a quote or edit button
Generated by SRT Generator ($Rev: 3396 $)
Last edited by GenderBender on Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 50681
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: no quote option vs. quote option

Post by stevemaury » Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:50 pm

There is no nl or en folder in styles/redsteel/imageset/. Copy the nl and en folders from prosilver/imageset to redsteel/imageset.
Attachments
quotersnl.png
quotersnl.png (39.91 KiB) Viewed 182 times
quotersen.png
quotersen.png (39.91 KiB) Viewed 182 times
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)

GenderBender
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:09 pm
Location: E5K 2A1 CANADA

Re: no quote option vs. quote option

Post by GenderBender » Sat Nov 28, 2009 11:04 pm

:) Thanks !! We fixed it for every template we have, thanks!

Now, a forummember still claims he cannot edit or quote. He has the permissions though. What else besides language folders can cause this?

MidnightCoder
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 12:05 pm

Re: no quote option vs. quote option

Post by MidnightCoder » Sat Nov 28, 2009 11:10 pm

GenderBender wrote::) Thanks !! We fixed it for every template we have, thanks!

Now, a forummember still claims he cannot edit or quote. He has the permissions though. What else besides language folders can cause this?
Simplest ideas first, make sure the user has cleared his browser cache by hitting ctrl+F5 while viewing the topic. If it's just one user, it's probably a cache problem on his end.

It wouldn't hurt to purge the forum cache, refresh your templates and imagesets, but if you can see the changes yourself that probably isn't the issue.

GenderBender
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:09 pm
Location: E5K 2A1 CANADA

Re: no quote option vs. quote option

Post by GenderBender » Sat Nov 28, 2009 11:50 pm

MidnightCoder wrote:
GenderBender wrote::) Thanks !! We fixed it for every template we have, thanks!

Now, a forummember still claims he cannot edit or quote. He has the permissions though. What else besides language folders can cause this?
Simplest ideas first, make sure the user has cleared his browser cache by hitting ctrl+F5 while viewing the topic. If it's just one user, it's probably a cache problem on his end.

It wouldn't hurt to purge the forum cache, refresh your templates and imagesets, but if you can see the changes yourself that probably isn't the issue.

Well, that's what I did. I have an administrator's login but I also created a normal user's account and no matter what template I go into it's all there, the quote buttons and the edit button, so yeah I guess you're right. Thanks, just needed to be sure!! ;)

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”