Could not update users table

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
vispa
Registered User
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2001 3:15 pm
Contact:

Could not update users table

Post by vispa » Mon May 20, 2002 9:54 pm

Hi all,

I wonder if someone can help me....i updated my forum to 2.0.0 and as I feared would happen, something under the hood is not working.....even though appearences and general use by people appears normal.

Basically, whenever a user tries to update their profile they get the following message 'Could not update users table'. I wondering if this is also tied into the same problem I reported yesterday about not being able to select a rank for a user from admin centre.

I am tempted to upgrade 2.0.1 in the hope that this has been repaired, however I want to solve this before I do if it should already be working.

For developers : I upgraded a plain (no mod) version of php 1.4.4 with around 5000 posts, so i presume something in the upgrade script is not quite right.

All the advice you can give would be welcome.

Many Thanks

Martin

vispa
Registered User
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2001 3:15 pm
Contact:

Post by vispa » Mon May 20, 2002 10:12 pm

Ok I appear to have solved the problem. If your also having this issue then you need to do the following:

Code: Select all

ALTER TABLE phpbb_users ADD COLUMN user_timezone float DEFAULT '0' NOT NULL
Martin

User avatar
primedomain
Former Team Member
Posts: 25944
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2001 10:23 am

Post by primedomain » Mon May 20, 2002 10:15 pm

*cough* *cough* (announcements forum) :wink:

vispa
Registered User
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2001 3:15 pm
Contact:

Post by vispa » Mon May 20, 2002 10:23 pm

shhhhhhhh no one will notice 8O
*hides*

davidX
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 6:27 am

Post by davidX » Tue May 21, 2002 9:59 am

i'm having this same problem but i dont see anything about timezones in the tables for my mysql db ?

vispa
Registered User
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2001 3:15 pm
Contact:

Post by vispa » Tue May 21, 2002 10:09 am

No, you need to add the field with the coding given above to cure the problem.

At the moment because this field is not available when it comes to running the mysql insert statement that the update profile will run, the field is not found thus it bombs out and displays the 'Could not update users table'.

Therefore to review, go to your MySQL frontend of choice and run:

Code: Select all

ALTER TABLE phpbb_users ADD COLUMN user_timezone float DEFAULT '0' NOT NULL
Martin

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests