[ABD] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.4.0

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
User avatar
Hippie459MN
Registered User
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.1

Post by Hippie459MN »

I think I found a bug with the includes/functions_posting.php edit. Some reason with the replaced code when making a reply to a post using the quote button, it will place the quoted reply after the original post you quoted and not at the end of the topic. Say there is 15 posts and I quote the 3rd post, instead of placing it at the end after the 15th post it will place it right after the 3rd post I quoted.

When I undid the edit everything went back to working properly so for now I have the original edit in the includes/functions_posting.php file and disabled the mod in the ACP
User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.1

Post by Smix »

@Hippie459MN
Yes, I´ve proposed this fix page ago ;-)

@madmartyau
html_to_bbcode is not returning values ... It´s changing the content which is available in $this->items ...

@mutank
... please describe it more clearly, what have you done ...
mutank
Registered User
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:47 pm
Location: Toronto, ON
Name: Dominic Struczynski

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.1

Post by mutank »

Smix wrote:@Hippie459MN
Yes, I´ve proposed this fix page ago ;-)

@madmartyau
html_to_bbcode is not returning values ... It´s changing the content which is available in $this->items ...

@mutank
... please describe it more clearly, what have you done ...
I applied the fix to the index.php which you described, and I replaced the cache.php to the 3.0.6 version.

And still the same error appears.
User avatar
Hippie459MN
Registered User
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.1

Post by Hippie459MN »

Smix wrote:@Hippie459MN
Yes, I´ve proposed this fix page ago ;-)
Thanks, I somehow missed it while looking through everything. :oops:

So it will still work just fine without having the includes/functions_posting.php edit then? Time to find out. :D
dramacius
Registered User
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:54 pm

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.1

Post by dramacius »

Smix wrote:@benmac
What´s the URL of the feed which is not working for you?

@Apophis72
Thanks! ... I´ve prepared a forum for translations on my board, where you can post it ... I´ll link it always with the latest version in the first post ... :)

@dramacius
Thanks for reporting of this issue. I´ve never seen this bug before. What´s your PHP version? simplexml_load_file is defaultly enabled in PHP5 ... You might try to consult that problem with your server hosting - why is not simplexml_load_file function not working ...
It´s still possible to run this MOD working without this functions - do you have fopen or cURL on your server enabled? (check phpinfo in ACP).

@madmartyau
Thanks for report, yeah, I´ll need to strip all tags but not those used in html_to_bbcode ... Will check it soonly ;-)

Thanks for reports ... :)
hi it is PHP5.x.x and has cURL enabled, also my PHPinfo says that simplexml is enabled.
User avatar
therat
Registered User
Posts: 285
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2002 6:06 pm

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.1

Post by therat »

How do I find the encoding of a feed? If I don't know it what happens if it's left blank?
User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.1

Post by Smix »

@therat
If you´ll open manually the source of feed, than on first line should be something like ...

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
... and you´ll copy "UTF-8" into the ACP ... If you´ll left it blank, than it´s defaultly set to UTF-8 ...


@dramacius
... which PHP5.x.x ... ? :roll: ...

... anyway try this ...
open includes/mods/smixmods_feed_news_center.class.php
FIND

Code: Select all

// config
private $download_function = 'simplexml';
if you´ve got cURL enabled ...
replace with

Code: Select all

// config
private $download_function = 'curl';
... or fopen if applicable ...


@hippie
yes, it works without that, but it´s not using time of the original message as the post time ...


@mutank
... well, it´s sad, but you´ll really have to update your board completely to 3.0.6 then ... Mod is not working without caching abilities ... :(
User avatar
Apophis72
Registered User
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: France

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.1

Post by Apophis72 »

Hello,

The french translation is here

http://phpbb3.smika.net/board/viewtopic.php?f=65&t=834

;)
dramacius
Registered User
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:54 pm

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.1

Post by dramacius »

@dramacius
... which PHP5.x.x ... ? :roll: ...

... anyway try this ...
open includes/mods/smixmods_feed_news_center.class.php
FIND

Code: Select all

// config
private $download_function = 'simplexml';
if you´ve got cURL enabled ...
replace with

Code: Select all

// config
private $download_function = 'curl';
... or fopen if applicable ...
Thanks for that, I will try it ASAP and let you know, I will also check on the PHP version later and let you know that too.
piwoszq
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 5:15 pm

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.1

Post by piwoszq »

Welcome,

why that mod get content from <description></description>? How to get content from <content:encoded></content:encoded>?


Where I shoud put that code:

Code: Select all

$feed_url = "";
$xml = simplexml_load_file($feed_url);
foreach ($xml->channel->item as $item) {
$ns_content = $item->children('http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/');
$message = $ns_content->encoded;
}
to get what I want?


Please help, regards



PS. Sorry for my bad english:)
User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.1

Post by Smix »

@dramacius
sorry, change it in ...

Code: Select all

   /**
     * Main configuration for the parser
     */
    private function setup()
    {
        global $config;
        // we´ll probably don´t need a CURL or FOPEN functions any more ...
        $this->download_function = 'simplexml';
@piwoszq
Hello,
I believe it will work with "next" version, when I´ll introduce templating ...
piwoszq
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 5:15 pm

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.1

Post by piwoszq »

Welcome again,

sorry for that question but I would like to know when could I expect next version of 'Smixmods Feed News Center'?

Regards
User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.1

Post by Tripp »

I can't wait to try it out.
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs
User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.1

Post by Smix »

@piwoszq
... who knows? ... It depends ... possibly next week ;-)
bhider1
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:58 pm

Re: [DEV] Smixmods Feed News Center v0.3.1

Post by bhider1 »

Is there an easy way to make the links created by a rss feed open up in a new window. I have a javascript but it only works for normal forum posts and not the feed posts.

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”