Domain to subdomain - working internal links and misc.?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Nycklick
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 4:56 pm

Domain to subdomain - working internal links and misc.?

Post by Nycklick » Mon Sep 11, 2017 8:37 am

Hi, here's my question.

I'm planning to move my current forum on domain "xyz.com" (example) to subdomain (forum.xyz.com). The only question I have is if internal links (those referring to other threads in the forum) will still work or I have to manually set or change something?

The process of moving my forum is clear to me (moving the folders and setting Cookies and Server). However about those links I'm quite uncertain.

Thanks. :mrgreen:
Last edited by Nycklick on Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Nycklick
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 4:56 pm

Re: Domain to subdomain - working internal links?

Post by Nycklick » Thu Sep 14, 2017 7:18 pm

Anybody?

User avatar
JimA
Community Team Leader
Community Team Leader
Posts: 7454
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 5:54 am
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Jim Mossing Holsteyn
Contact:

Re: Domain to subdomain - working internal links?

Post by JimA » Thu Sep 14, 2017 7:35 pm

As long as you change your Cookie and Server Settings, internal links in topics shouldn't be a problem. The magic URLs automatically change them to the new board URLs. :)
Image Jim Mossing Holsteyn - Community Team Leader
Knowledge Base | Documentation | Board rules

If you're having any questions about the rules/customs of this website, feel free to drop me a PM.

Nycklick
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 4:56 pm

Re: Domain to subdomain - working internal links?

Post by Nycklick » Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:41 am

Thanks, that's great news. :D

Nycklick
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 4:56 pm

Re: Domain to subdomain - working internal links?

Post by Nycklick » Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:57 pm

Did the moving (domain/subdomain) but internal links don't work because they use the old url.

EDIT: phpbb 3.2, changing from fmseries.cz to forum.fmseries.cz. Changed setting in administration but nothing happened.

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 2783
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Domain to subdomain - working internal links?

Post by janus_zonstraal » Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:24 pm

I visit your board and links look Ok.

But maybe you mean the url's in the post that users posted?
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

Nycklick
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 4:56 pm

Re: Domain to subdomain - working internal links?

Post by Nycklick » Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:21 pm

That's exactly what I mean. :)

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 2783
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Domain to subdomain - working internal links?

Post by janus_zonstraal » Mon Sep 25, 2017 7:16 pm

Nycklick wrote:
Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:21 pm
That's exactly what I mean. :)
You have to change them manual
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

Nycklick
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 4:56 pm

Re: Domain to subdomain - working internal links?

Post by Nycklick » Mon Sep 25, 2017 7:20 pm

Oh my god, that cannot be true. :) My site is 7 years "old", there are hundreds, maybe thousands of links between threads... :(

No extension or htaccess edit or something? :cry:

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 2783
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Domain to subdomain - working internal links?

Post by janus_zonstraal » Mon Sep 25, 2017 7:42 pm

Do you have a example of a post with a link?
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 2783
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Domain to subdomain - working internal links?

Post by janus_zonstraal » Mon Sep 25, 2017 7:44 pm

But Why are you moving a 7 years old domain to a other?
Google don't likes that.
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

Nycklick
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 4:56 pm

Re: Domain to subdomain - working internal links?

Post by Nycklick » Mon Sep 25, 2017 7:53 pm

No need of an example. It's just a link in the forum.

I moved it just to a subdomain (because I thought from previous response that it's gonna be ok) in order to gain more visitors through my new main site. :)

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 2783
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Domain to subdomain - working internal links?

Post by janus_zonstraal » Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:01 pm

) in order to gain more visitors through my new main site.
Gain more visitors by moving your board?
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

Nycklick
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 4:56 pm

Re: Domain to subdomain - working internal links?

Post by Nycklick » Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:07 pm

Sure, my board isn't really growing, users aren't active as they used to be. So I decided to use Wordpress homepage, to focus more on articles and news, and of course I didn't want to get rid of the forum.

janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 2783
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: Domain to subdomain - working internal links?

Post by janus_zonstraal » Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:09 pm

Than it is better (for Google) to place your board in www.website.com/forum
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: appnews, Lumpy Burgertushie, Mr_Cool, stevemaury and 27 guests