Is There A Way to Post an Interstitial?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Matthew G. Saroff
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 8:48 pm
Name: Matthew G. Saroff

Is There A Way to Post an Interstitial?

Post by Matthew G. Saroff » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:39 pm

When I do an update, I expect the board to be down, and as opposed to posting in a pinned topic (where it is frequently missed), I'd like to have a page come up with the message, and then they would have to click through, so that the get the notice.
--
The Dream involves 4 sets of identical twins, 2 gallons of Cool Whip, 5 quarts of chocolate syrup, 2-1/4 pounds of strawberries, satin sheets, a magnum of champagne, a trapeze, and a python.

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 14342
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Is There A Way to Post an Interstitial?

Post by david63 » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:49 pm

When you disable the board to do the update you can add a message that will be displayed to anyone trying to access the board
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
Froddelaar
Registered User
Posts: 824
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:45 am
Location: Aalst (Belgium)
Name: Andy Dm
Contact:

Re: Is There A Way to Post an Interstitial?

Post by Froddelaar » Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:24 pm

david63 wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:49 pm
When you disable the board to do the update you can add a message that will be displayed to anyone trying to access the board
I always had some doubts with that "disable" option. The update instructions are telling you to to delete all files except "ext, images, ets" .. But when you delete your board files, the "disabled" message is not showing because everything is gone ...?
Wij promoten UW muziek in ons forum & delen alles via Sociale media!
Muziek wordt ook toegevoegd in de playlist van
textradio.be!
Mail uw single + hoesje + info naar: info@muziekpromo.net of Solidjeuh@textradio.be
===============
Onze Website: https://www.muziekpromo.net

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 64485
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Is There A Way to Post an Interstitial?

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:43 pm

true but you are supposed to replace all the files immediately after you delete them. the chances of someone trying to access in that short time are slim.
if they do they will simply get a 404 or a blank page etc. when they check back in a minute or two, the board will be back and they will get the message page again.

robert
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

User avatar
3Di
Registered User
Posts: 12557
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: Is There A Way to Post an Interstitial?

Post by 3Di » Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:09 am

Matthew G. Saroff wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:39 pm
When I do an update, I expect the board to be down, and as opposed to posting in a pinned topic (where it is frequently missed), I'd like to have a page come up with the message, and then they would have to click through, so that the get the notice.
Froddelaar wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:24 pm
I always had some doubts with that "disable" option. The update instructions are telling you to to delete all files except "ext, images, ets" .. But when you delete your board files, the "disabled" message is not showing because everything is gone ...?
Exactly, also in those moments our friend google indexes the site with his mistakes, doing damage imaginable.
That's why I always use HTML redirect.

https://gist.github.com/3D-I/8fb88dc810 ... 675a4b926f
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user

Toxyy
Registered User
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: Is There A Way to Post an Interstitial?

Post by Toxyy » Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:17 am

Froddelaar wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:24 pm
david63 wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:49 pm
When you disable the board to do the update you can add a message that will be displayed to anyone trying to access the board
I always had some doubts with that "disable" option. The update instructions are telling you to to delete all files except "ext, images, ets" .. But when you delete your board files, the "disabled" message is not showing because everything is gone ...?
You could create a copy of your site and database, upgrade the copy, then move of the old installation in a backup directly and immediately after move the files from the upgraded one, and you'll have more of a seamless transition.
I am a web developer/administrator, specializing in forums. If you have work you need done or are too lazy to do, pm me!

User avatar
Matthew G. Saroff
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 8:48 pm
Name: Matthew G. Saroff

Re: Is There A Way to Post an Interstitial?

Post by Matthew G. Saroff » Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:22 am

Toxyy wrote:
Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:17 am
Froddelaar wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:24 pm
david63 wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:49 pm
When you disable the board to do the update you can add a message that will be displayed to anyone trying to access the board
I always had some doubts with that "disable" option. The update instructions are telling you to to delete all files except "ext, images, ets" .. But when you delete your board files, the "disabled" message is not showing because everything is gone ...?
You could create a copy of your site and database, upgrade the copy, then move of the old installation in a backup directly and immediately after move the files from the upgraded one, and you'll have more of a seamless transition.
Actually, I'm worried about the unparsed posts throwing errors for a few weeks, there are over 500,000 posts on the board, and I figure that it would take a few weeks for the background task to finish that.
--
The Dream involves 4 sets of identical twins, 2 gallons of Cool Whip, 5 quarts of chocolate syrup, 2-1/4 pounds of strawberries, satin sheets, a magnum of champagne, a trapeze, and a python.

Toxyy
Registered User
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: Is There A Way to Post an Interstitial?

Post by Toxyy » Fri Jun 15, 2018 3:30 am

Matthew G. Saroff wrote:
Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:22 am
Actually, I'm worried about the unparsed posts throwing errors for a few weeks, there are over 500,000 posts on the board, and I figure that it would take a few weeks for the background task to finish that.
How do you expect them to throw errors?

And with a board that large you can export the database using cli, download it, update the board using xamp or mamp or something, upload the upgraded database, install the phpbb3 files somewhere, then update some blank database that installation uses with the upgraded one, again in cli. That would make it faster.

That probably doesn't answer your issue though about post errors which I don't fully understand?
I am a web developer/administrator, specializing in forums. If you have work you need done or are too lazy to do, pm me!

User avatar
Matthew G. Saroff
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 8:48 pm
Name: Matthew G. Saroff

Re: Is There A Way to Post an Interstitial?

Post by Matthew G. Saroff » Fri Jun 15, 2018 4:04 am

Toxyy wrote:
Fri Jun 15, 2018 3:30 am
Matthew G. Saroff wrote:
Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:22 am
Actually, I'm worried about the unparsed posts throwing errors for a few weeks, there are over 500,000 posts on the board, and I figure that it would take a few weeks for the background task to finish that.
How do you expect them to throw errors?

And with a board that large you can export the database using cli, download it, update the board using xamp or mamp or something, upload the upgraded database, install the phpbb3 files somewhere, then update some blank database that installation uses with the upgraded one, again in cli. That would make it faster.

That probably doesn't answer your issue though about post errors which I don't fully understand?
Going from 3.0.12 to 3.2.2.

Custom smilies and BBCodes don't show up until the posts are reparsed.

I tested this out on a clone of the board that I sandboxed on the server, I did a post on our longest thread before conversion with custom stuff. (Image wrapping, youtube, smallcaps, etc.)

After conversion, about 1.6 hours,:

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/php7 ./bin/phpbbcli.php db:migrate -vvv
("-vvv" so that I know what is going on, there were a lot of stub mods to be fixed)

If I bring up that post, none of the custom tags show.

If i run parse on the last few hundred posts:

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/php7 bin/phpbbcli.php reparser:reparse post_text --range-min=600000 --range-max=625000
(Actual numbers shown)

The processing speed is on the order of 7-9 posts per second, which gives about 18 hours to parse the whole database, so I am assuming that the backround parsing of old posts would take a few weeks.

Note that the above is always done via shell (SSH) on the server.

BTW, what are Xamp and Mamp? (The fact that I am board admin is kind of scary)

(On Edit)
OK, I Googled it, and Xampp and Mamp are development environments that can be put on my local machine, which would probably please our server provider.

For XAMPP at least, they now use MariaDB, which is supposed to be MySQL compatible, how is that handled?
--
The Dream involves 4 sets of identical twins, 2 gallons of Cool Whip, 5 quarts of chocolate syrup, 2-1/4 pounds of strawberries, satin sheets, a magnum of champagne, a trapeze, and a python.

Toxyy
Registered User
Posts: 436
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: Is There A Way to Post an Interstitial?

Post by Toxyy » Fri Jun 15, 2018 5:02 am

Oh I see what you mean. Well if reparsing fixes the problem... there's not much you can get around that.

If your server is good enough then I don't think running xampp or mamp will help, but you can try and see if it parses them faster, then at least you have some options.

Or even better, you can have the board be "online" while you're parsing the posts on another clone database and when it's up you can just update it, and lose the day of posts and blame it on upgrades :D

Just my bs solution.

I don't really know how mariadb is handled with it, sorry.
I am a web developer/administrator, specializing in forums. If you have work you need done or are too lazy to do, pm me!

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 14342
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Is There A Way to Post an Interstitial?

Post by david63 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 5:26 am

Froddelaar wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:24 pm
I always had some doubts with that "disable" option. The update instructions are telling you to to delete all files except "ext, images, ets" .. But when you delete your board files, the "disabled" message is not showing because everything is gone ...?
Which is why I always use the "changed files" update/upgrade option. That way there is less likelihood of a relevant file not being available as at worst you will be overwriting a file which will take next to no time, and it may even be cached anyway.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 19368
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff
Contact:

Re: Is There A Way to Post an Interstitial?

Post by Mick » Fri Jun 15, 2018 6:36 am

Considering the board goes off line once it sees the /install folder then goes back on line when it’s removed I think you’re making a mountain out of a molehill. How long is the period between uploading and deleting the /install folder? Twenty to thirty minutes, say fourty if you’ve got a slow connection?
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.
Forza Garibaldi

User avatar
Matthew G. Saroff
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 8:48 pm
Name: Matthew G. Saroff

Re: Is There A Way to Post an Interstitial?

Post by Matthew G. Saroff » Sun Jun 17, 2018 3:27 am

Toxyy wrote:
Fri Jun 15, 2018 3:30 am
Matthew G. Saroff wrote:
Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:22 am
Actually, I'm worried about the unparsed posts throwing errors for a few weeks, there are over 500,000 posts on the board, and I figure that it would take a few weeks for the background task to finish that.
How do you expect them to throw errors?

And with a board that large you can export the database using cli, download it, update the board using xamp or mamp or something, upload the upgraded database, install the phpbb3 files somewhere, then update some blank database that installation uses with the upgraded one, again in cli. That would make it faster.

That probably doesn't answer your issue though about post errors which I don't fully understand?
I just did AAMPS (much like XAMP) and got about the same speed for reparsing.

Dunno know why it's so slow.
--
The Dream involves 4 sets of identical twins, 2 gallons of Cool Whip, 5 quarts of chocolate syrup, 2-1/4 pounds of strawberries, satin sheets, a magnum of champagne, a trapeze, and a python.

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests