phpBB use domain?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
Marcyyy
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 9:56 am

phpBB use domain?

Post by Marcyyy »

Hi,
I have a phpBB forum, and I want change the IP Address to domain. (example: http://127.0.0.1/forum2/viewforum.php?f=31 --> http://forum.yourdomain.com/viewforum.php?f=31)
Thank you!
User avatar
warmweer
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:34 am
Location: Van Allen Bel ... gium

Re: phpBB use domain?

Post by warmweer »

Marcyyy wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 10:03 am
Hi,
I have a phpBB forum, and I want change the IP Address to domain. (example: http://127.0.0.1/forum2/viewforum.php?f=31 --> http://forum.yourdomain.com/viewforum.php?f=31)
Thank you!
First of all you'll need a domainname. (and just in case) Seeing that the link you showed as example points to localhost, you will need a webhost (since opening up your PC to the internet is a very bad idea (without proper knowledge, and even with).
So the answer is: get webhosting + domainname.
Spelling is freeware, which means you can use it for free.
On the other hand, it is not open source, which means you cannot change it or publish it in a modified form.
Marcyyy
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 9:56 am

Re: phpBB use domain?

Post by Marcyyy »

I have webspace and domain name.
User avatar
pikachuturkey
Registered User
Posts: 314
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 10:34 pm
Location: Türkiye(Turkey)
Name: Rıza
Contact:

Re: phpBB use domain?

Post by pikachuturkey »

Health For Everyone ==> www.saglikforum.org
Marcyyy
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 9:56 am

Re: phpBB use domain?

Post by Marcyyy »

The forum already installed on webspace.
User avatar
warmweer
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:34 am
Location: Van Allen Bel ... gium

Re: phpBB use domain?

Post by warmweer »

Then look at the info with your webhost: you must have a configuration panel somewhere.
Spelling is freeware, which means you can use it for free.
On the other hand, it is not open source, which means you cannot change it or publish it in a modified form.
User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 22650
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Watching cricket probably.

Re: phpBB use domain?

Post by Mick »

Can you post a link to your domain please?
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski©
Marcyyy
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 9:56 am

Re: phpBB use domain?

Post by Marcyyy »

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 68019
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: phpBB use domain?

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

you need to contact your web host about how to do this.

until you get this sorted out there is nothing we can help you with.

this is also not a phpbb problem it is a problem with either your host or your domain registrar or both and they are who you have to talk to.

luck,
robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”