favicon

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
Affin
Registered User
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 9:52 pm

favicon

Post by Affin » Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:15 pm

Does it take long for favicon to appear on URL? I have done one and it is not yet visible.

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 14903
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: favicon

Post by david63 » Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:28 pm

It should be instant, but you will have to reload your browser.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

Affin
Registered User
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 9:52 pm

Re: favicon

Post by Affin » Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:46 pm

david63 wrote:
Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:28 pm
It should be instant, but you will have to reload your browser.
Yes, i have.

User avatar
</Solidjeuh>
Registered User
Posts: 1068
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:45 am
Location: Aalst (Belgium)
Name: Andy Dm
Contact:

Re: favicon

Post by </Solidjeuh> » Sat Nov 10, 2018 11:08 pm

Then you misplaced the icon (again)
We offer fun HTML5 games for young and old.
Register a free account & enjoy all functions!
Save your score, challenge other members or play along with our tournaments.


~~~ https://www.solidjeuh.be ~~~

Affin
Registered User
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 9:52 pm

Re: favicon

Post by Affin » Sat Nov 10, 2018 11:22 pm

</Solidjeuh> wrote:
Sat Nov 10, 2018 11:08 pm
Then you misplaced the icon (again)
Why you think so?

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 65185
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: favicon

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sun Nov 11, 2018 3:14 am

it is working now. it is so light colored that is it hard to tell what it is but I see it.

robert
I am available for custom work on a donation basis. Please send me a PM with your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

OK, so what's the speed of dark?

Affin
Registered User
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 9:52 pm

Re: favicon

Post by Affin » Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:42 pm

Not in URL? There it is a "globe"

User avatar
EA117
Registered User
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2018 3:23 am
Contact:

Re: favicon

Post by EA117 » Mon Nov 12, 2018 2:19 pm

Affin wrote:
Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:42 pm
Not in URL? There it is a "globe"
There is some dependency on what browser you're using, with regard to "exactly how and where" the favicon will be displayed. But I presume you're using a browser where you see the favicon being displayed where the "globe" is being displayed for your site. For what it's worth, in Chrome I see your favicon being displayed, up in the tab next to your <title> site name.

For the favicon not being displayed in the URL like you see for other sites (assuming you see it for other sites with the web browser you're using), my guess is because your favicon doesn't contain the 16x16 or whatever resolution this particular web browser depends on for displaying it in the URL. If I use the favicongenerator.net site to check your favicon, it notes that at least one of the recommended resolutions is missing from the favicon.ico file.

Affin
Registered User
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 9:52 pm

Re: favicon

Post by Affin » Tue Nov 13, 2018 7:51 pm

EA117 wrote:
Mon Nov 12, 2018 2:19 pm
Affin wrote:
Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:42 pm
Not in URL? There it is a "globe"
There is some dependency on what browser you're using, with regard to "exactly how and where" the favicon will be displayed. But I presume you're using a browser where you see the favicon being displayed where the "globe" is being displayed for your site. For what it's worth, in Chrome I see your favicon being displayed, up in the tab next to your <title> site name.

For the favicon not being displayed in the URL like you see for other sites (assuming you see it for other sites with the web browser you're using), my guess is because your favicon doesn't contain the 16x16 or whatever resolution this particular web browser depends on for displaying it in the URL. If I use the favicongenerator.net site to check your favicon, it notes that at least one of the recommended resolutions is missing from the favicon.ico file.

Thanks.

User avatar
meetdilip
Registered User
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 4:33 am

Re: favicon

Post by meetdilip » Wed Nov 14, 2018 12:41 pm

You can hard refresh the browser using CTRL + F5. If favicon is there, it will show up.

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mannix_, Svensktgolfforum and 85 guests