Anyone else notice

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.2.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
Post Reply
johns1124
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:19 pm

Anyone else notice

Post by johns1124 » Wed Dec 04, 2019 10:31 pm

A bunch of IP's from China viewing the FAQ page? How can I disable the FAQ page
or remove it? Not the button the page itself.

Thanks in Advance,

John

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66930
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Anyone else notice

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Wed Dec 04, 2019 10:42 pm

is this because you think it will stop the chinese bots from visiting your site?

if so, it will have no affect.
also , they are not doing anything to hurt your site by viewing that or any other page they have permission to view.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

johns1124
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:19 pm

Re: Anyone else notice

Post by johns1124 » Wed Dec 04, 2019 10:49 pm

Thanks for the response. They are causing 500 errors, cause FAQ page is so large.
They are coming from various IP's so banning all of them is nearly impossible.

Any Ideas?

User avatar
P_I
Registered User
Posts: 959
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: Anyone else notice

Post by P_I » Wed Dec 04, 2019 10:56 pm

johns1124 wrote:
Wed Dec 04, 2019 10:31 pm
A bunch of IP's from China viewing the FAQ page? How can I disable the FAQ page
or remove it? Not the button the page itself.

Thanks in Advance,

John
This has been noticeable for many phpBB boards. You might want to read My CPU spiking up.

In the case of boards I manage I finally resorted to the solution in the blog linked in
WelshPaul wrote:
Mon Nov 11, 2019 10:32 pm
Nick225 wrote:
Mon Nov 11, 2019 10:28 pm
I enter the IP 159.138* and I keep getting an error message that No IP as been provided.
I tried 159.138.* and still the same error. Doesn't go through. the only way to work is to enter the entire IP.
But there are tons of them starting with that string, with agents looking like this:

Code: Select all

Mozilla/5.0(Linux;Android 5.1.1;OPPO A33 Build/LMY47V;wv) AppleWebKit/537.36(KHTML,link Gecko) Version/4.0 Chrome/42.0.2311.138 Mobile Safari/537.36 Mb2345Browser/9.0
that's weird
Ahhh Mb2345Browser bot! I was hit by that one last week!

https://www.johnlarge.co.uk/blocking-ag ... pers-bots/
Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams

User avatar
John connor
Registered User
Posts: 2344
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:14 pm
Location: U S Of A
Name: Aaron
Contact:

Re: Anyone else notice

Post by John connor » Thu Dec 05, 2019 5:36 am

Deploy CloudFlare and look into CIDRAM which is linked in my Sig below. Don't get owned.

Post Reply

Return to “[3.2.x] Support Forum”