How to install new software with data from an old...

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.3.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
cgn1954
Name: C Göran Norlén

How to install new software with data from an old...

Post by cgn1954 »

Hi, my forum has moved into version 3.3.10 but before that my server platform changed from PHP 7 to 8. After that (PHP 8) some functions, for example user administration/search and list, fails. Those functions only results in a blank page, a typically PHP-behaviour when there is a code type o. The 3.3.10 version did not help.

Example, this URL from inside admin results in a blank page, and I do not understand what the "sid" id:
https://www.motessparets.se/adm/index.p ... e=overview

I’ve tried PHP-checkers and to understand how the html-code is created, for example from modules like ucp.php, memberlist.php and find_username – but I cannot understand that, no luck with that… (I’m not a professional hacker).

I’ve posted some questions about this problem here before in this forum but there’s no luck.

So – what I’m thinking is to reinstall the whole forum. What I need – beside the content from the database – is knowledge about:
- which files and/or folders do I have to preserve from the old forum and paste into the new file system?
- after installing a new forum software, including a new database, my plan is to empty the new db and import the old database from a backup – ok?

Are/is there more to think of?

Best Regards /CGN
Best Regards /CGN
warmweer
Jr. Extension Validator

Re: How to install new software with data from an old...

Post by warmweer »

sid = session_id. It identifies the user (in this case absolutely necessary to verify that the user has permissions to access the acp

There's a DNS error on https://www.motessparets.se/. You need to get that sorted out first (contact your host)

BTW is that the same board as in Blank pages after upgrading to 3.3.9?