Hi! Haven't used phpBB in years, need advice on old DB found

Do not post support requests, bug reports or feature requests. Discuss phpBB here. Non-phpBB related discussion goes in General Discussion!
Scam Warning
User avatar
Prosk8er
Registered User
Posts: 1762
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 3:30 am
Location: Rochester, NY
Name: Tyler

Re: Hi! Haven't used phpBB in years, need advice on old DB found

Post by Prosk8er »

if you got it to import correctly you dont need to browse to install 3.0.11
what you need to do is make a config.php

Code: Select all

<?php
// phpBB 3.0.x auto-generated configuration file
// Do not change anything in this file!
$dbms = 'mysqli';
$dbhost = 'localhost';
$dbport = '';
$dbname = 'xxxxx';
$dbuser = 'xxxxx';
$dbpasswd = 'xxxxx';

$table_prefix = 'phpbb_';
$acm_type = 'file';
$load_extensions = '';

@define('PHPBB_INSTALLED', true);
// @define('DEBUG', true);
// @define('DEBUG_EXTRA', true);
?>
also what version of xampp are you using because you may need a older version with a compatible php version like this if on windows https://sourceforge.net/projects/xampp/ ... ws/5.6.40/
shibbyshibby
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 7:55 am

Re: Hi! Haven't used phpBB in years, need advice on old DB found

Post by shibbyshibby »

Yea I realized that obviously I'm going to be getting errors, because XAMPP is using php8. lol

I downloaded php 5.6, but don't really understand how to install it into XAMPP. I tried following some directions I found when I googled it, but didn't really understand it at all.

Any tips on how to get it installed into my current XAMPP, without having to download an older version with php 5.6 already in it?


Thanks for ALL the help guys, I really appreciate it so far!
User avatar
warmweer
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 11669
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2003 6:34 am
Location: Van Allen Bel ... gium

Re: Hi! Haven't used phpBB in years, need advice on old DB found

Post by warmweer »

shibbyshibby wrote: Mon Apr 08, 2024 3:59 pm Yea I realized that obviously I'm going to be getting errors, because XAMPP is using php8. lol

I downloaded php 5.6, but don't really understand how to install it into XAMPP. I tried following some directions I found when I googled it, but didn't really understand it at all.

Any tips on how to get it installed into my current XAMPP, without having to download an older version with php 5.6 already in it?
Try USBWebserver >>> There's a version with PHP 5.6. It's a barebones webserver with phpMyAdmin (probably the easiest one to install and use).

or
If you want a XAMPP version specifically with PHP 5.6 pre-installed >>> https://sourceforge.net/projects/xampp/ ... ws/5.6.40/
Spelling is freeware, which means you can use it for free.
On the other hand, it is not open source, which means you cannot change it or publish it in a modified form.


Time flies like an arrow, but fruit flies like a banana.
User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 26835
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am

Re: Hi! Haven't used phpBB in years, need advice on old DB found

Post by Mick »

shibbyshibby wrote: Mon Apr 08, 2024 3:59 pmAny tips on how to get it installed into my current XAMPP, without having to download an older version with php 5.6 already in it?
You seem to be asking the right questions but in the wrong place. If you search “xampp install different php version” you’ll get your answer.
  • "The more connected we get the more alone we become” - Kyle Broflovski© 🇬🇧
shibbyshibby
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 7:55 am

Re: Hi! Haven't used phpBB in years, need advice on old DB found

Post by shibbyshibby »

Ugh. Ok, so I uninstalled XAMPP and re-installed the version with php 5.6.

Imported the database again (took way longer this time, about 1 hour).

Finally got the phpBB installation page working. Everything went fine until it asked for the database/username info. No matter what I did, I kept getting this error message:

Could not connect to the database, see error message below.
Access denied for user 'screamin'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

Yes, the database name and username AND password are correct. I checked it multiple, multiple times. Still would not connect. Then, after Googling, I saw someone mention that with XAMPP, you have to use ROOT for the username, and ROOT has to have a password. So, I went into phpmyadmin, gave ROOT a password, and tried it. It was able to finish the installation, but it was a blank forum (wasn't using my imported database). AND, now I can't get into phpmyadmin and get this message:

Error
MySQL said: Documentation

Cannot connect: invalid settings.
mysqli_real_connect(): (HY000/1045): Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: NO)
phpMyAdmin tried to connect to the MySQL server, and the server rejected the connection. You should check the host, username and password in your configuration and make sure that they correspond to the information given by the administrator of the MySQL server.

Any ideas? :(

EDIT: Ok, I got back into phpmyadmin by editing the file and setting 'using password' to "YES"

But still, the forum is a fresh install, it's not reflecting the database. I checked the config file in phpBB3 folder, and it has the correct name of the database its supposed to be connected to.

Any ideas? :(
shibbyshibby
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 7:55 am

Re: Hi! Haven't used phpBB in years, need advice on old DB found

Post by shibbyshibby »

Anyone know why the forum would be blank (no posts, members except me)? My imported database with all the members and posts is the ONLY phpBB database that shows up in phpmyadmin.

I don't understand. :(
User avatar
Prosk8er
Registered User
Posts: 1762
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 3:30 am
Location: Rochester, NY
Name: Tyler

Re: Hi! Haven't used phpBB in years, need advice on old DB found

Post by Prosk8er »

i told you what to do in this post viewtopic.php?p=16007521#p16007521
shibbyshibby
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 7:55 am

Re: Hi! Haven't used phpBB in years, need advice on old DB found

Post by shibbyshibby »

Ok, but I already have a config file there. Sorry I just don't understand, been a LONG time since I've used phpBB. I'm more used to VB.

I just noticed that there's TWO sets of tables (total 140) in my imported database now. The ones with all the posts/members are phpBB3_, and there's new ones that are blank (except me as the only member) that are phpBB_.


EDIT: Nevermind! lol I didn't think I had a copy of the forum files from back then, but I did, and just uploaded them. Adjusted the config file, and it works! :D I guess I thought I could just have all the data back in a fresh install.

Anyway, thanks again for ALL the help guys...I'm sure you'll hear more from me when I encounter my next problem! lol :D

Return to “phpBB Discussion”