Invalid Host symfony

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.3.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or extension related questions here.
User avatar
durangod
Registered User
Posts: 805
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 1:26 pm
Location: USA East Texas
Name: Dave

Invalid Host symfony

Post by durangod »

Got this error

Code: Select all

PHP Fatal error:  Uncaught Symfony\Component\HttpFoundation\Exception\SuspiciousOperationException: Invalid Host "SITENAME.com: hostheader3.hit093076121616b40.group.bxss.me". in /home/USERNAME/SITENAME.com/vendor/symfony/http-foundation/Request.php:1296
Stack trace:
#0 /home/USERNAME/SITENAME.com/vendor/symfony/routing/RequestContext.php(68): Symfony\Component\HttpFoundation\Request->getHost()
#1 /home/USERNAME/SITENAME.com/phpbb/routing/helper.php(105): Symfony\Component\Routing\RequestContext->fromRequest(Object(phpbb\symfony_request))
#2 /home/USERNAME/SITENAME.com/phpbb/controller/helper.php(212): phpbb\routing\helper->route('phpbb_collapsib...', Array, true, false, 1)
#3 /home/USERNAME/SITENAME.com/ext/phpbb/collapsiblecategories/operator/operator.php(80): phpbb\controller\helper->route('phpbb_collapsib...', Array)
#4 /home/USERNAME/SITENAME.com/ext/phpbb/collapsiblecategories/event/listener.php(80): phpbb\collapsiblecategories\operator\operator->get_collapsible_link('fid_2')
#5 /home/USERNAME/SITENAME.com/vendor/symfony/event-dispatcher/EventDispatcher.php(214): phpbb\collapsiblecategories\event\listener->show_collapsible_categories(Object(phpbb\event\data), 'core.display_fo...', Object(phpbb\event\dispatcher))
#6 /home/USERNAME/SITENAME.com/vendor/symfony/event-dispatcher/EventDispatcher.php(44): Symfony\Component\EventDispatcher\EventDispatcher->doDispatch(Array, 'core.display_fo...', Object(phpbb\event\data))
#7 /home/USERNAME/SITENAME.com/phpbb/event/dispatcher.php(62): Symfony\Component\EventDispatcher\EventDispatcher->dispatch('core.display_fo...', Object(phpbb\event\data))
#8 /home/USERNAME/SITENAME.com/phpbb/event/dispatcher.php(46): phpbb\event\dispatcher->dispatch('core.display_fo...', Object(phpbb\event\data))
#9 /home/USERNAME/SITENAME.com/includes/functions_display.php(659): phpbb\event\dispatcher->trigger_event('core.display_fo...', Array)
#10 /home/USERNAME/SITENAME.com/index.php(87): display_forums(Array, '1')
#11 {main}
  thrown in /home/USERNAME/SITENAME.com/vendor/symfony/http-foundation/Request.php on line 1296
i did a search and did not find it here, is this something new ?
Last edited by Mick on Mon Jul 15, 2024 5:08 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Solved.
Username is short for durango dave
Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 28934
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier

Re: Invalid Host symfony

Post by Paul »

That sounds like it is caused by the collapsiblecategories extension. You should ask for support where you downloaded that extension :)
User avatar
durangod
Registered User
Posts: 805
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 1:26 pm
Location: USA East Texas
Name: Dave

Re: Invalid Host symfony

Post by durangod »

Ok thanks... It has been posted here
https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/exte ... 46#p882946

we can lock this topic if you wish.. :)

So do you all want error messages inside code bbcode now rather than quote bbcode? I see mick edited the post, if so then i will do that going forward :D
Username is short for durango dave
User avatar
MattF
Extensions Development Coordinator
Extensions Development Coordinator
Posts: 6035
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:37 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Name: Matt Friedman

Re: Invalid Host symfony

Post by MattF »

It’s not caused by collapsible categories extension. It just revealing whatever is wrong with their phpbb or server configuration.
Formerly known as VSEMy ExtensionsPlease do not PM me for support.
User avatar
durangod
Registered User
Posts: 805
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 1:26 pm
Location: USA East Texas
Name: Dave

Re: Invalid Host symfony

Post by durangod »

MattF wrote: Mon Jul 15, 2024 5:50 am It’s not caused by collapsible categories extension. It just revealing whatever is wrong with their phpbb or server configuration.
Hi, thanks for the quick reply. :) Can you be more specific, i feel i have a pretty general server with cpanel and i usually never have any issues with software over the years very very few. Is there a particular config value your speaking of?

When i google the error it comes back with stackoverflow talking about
The problem is related to PHP variable $_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] not being set correctly
Curious because that all the time in my own software development on my server and never ever an issue with it not having value.


PS this is why i hate frameworks and i will never use them to code my projects, too many darn freaken dependencies
Username is short for durango dave
User avatar
thecoalman
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 6411
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 3:52 am
Location: Pennsylvania, U.S.A.

Re: Invalid Host symfony

Post by thecoalman »

Code: Select all

in /home/USERNAME/SITENAME.com/
This is Cpanel's file structure from root and the script would be getting this path from the server. USERNAME should be the main username for the Cpanel account and SITENAME would be the domain so it's more than $_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] set incorrectly. You'll need to contact host to resolve this.
“Results! Why, man, I have gotten a lot of results! I have found several thousand things that won’t work.”

Attributed - Thomas Edison
User avatar
durangod
Registered User
Posts: 805
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 1:26 pm
Location: USA East Texas
Name: Dave

Re: Invalid Host symfony

Post by durangod »

thecoalman wrote: Mon Jul 15, 2024 12:51 pm

Code: Select all

in /home/USERNAME/SITENAME.com/
This is Cpanel's file structure from root and the script would be getting this path from the server. USERNAME should be the main username for the Cpanel account and SITENAME would be the domain so it's more than $_SERVER['SERVER_NAME'] set incorrectly. You'll need to contact host to resolve this.
Actually cPANEL for as long as i can remember even back in 2008 the path was

Code: Select all

 /home/USERNAME/public_html/SITENAME.com
It has been that way until the last half dozen years when they can now store a domain outside the public_html in its own folder and still make it work. Which is the case of this domain that i am getting this error on. hmmmm interesting.... Which is what you are referring to

Code: Select all

 /home/USERNAME/SITENAME.com/
So when you add on a domain you have a choice now, the domain can share the public_html or can be set outside the pubic_html in its own folder. :)

Just wanted to clarify that as to now confuse folks.. :)

Yeah i guess i will contact my host to see whats up, more than likely they will (as most hosts do) pass the buck to some software or someone else lol :)

But it does make me think, i wonder if symfony has considered that some domains could be outside the public_html. Would be interesting if they had not and that is the issue... hmmmm


Thanks :)
Username is short for durango dave

Return to “[3.3.x] Support Forum”