[DEV]IE Information Bar Login or Register

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
snafumaster
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 11:07 am
Location: S. of Boston
Name: Matthew Gendreau
Contact:

[DEV]IE Information Bar Login or Register

Post by snafumaster »

MOD Title: IE Information Bar Login or Register
MOD Description: Adds a IE information bar prompting the user to login or register for access.
MOD Version: 1.0.0
MOD Download: http://snafumaster.com/files/log_in_or_register_bar.zip
Demo Board: http://badmatty.webhop.net/bb
Demo Username: test guy
Demo Password: 1234
_______________________________________________________

OK folks...this is for sure my first try at submitting any mod. I saw this neat trick on a few web pages and even a phpbb forum. I looked and looked for the MOD do impliment it on my practice board, but no luck. So I reverse engineered a few pages and found some code froma few other places...basically cut and paste. This is what I came up with and it appears to work fairly well. Although it was tough(for a stooge like me) to get it working for both Firefox and Internet Explorer, I have it working on two forums and three templates...all 2.0.17.

Here are some screenshots...
What it looks like in ie
Image

What it looks like in ie with mouse over
Image

In ie, logged in
Image

What it looks like in FF
What it looks like in ff with mouse over
In ff, logged in

I expect that because of my ineptness in coding that there will be some errors, redundancy or plain old better ways to get the job done. If so, please let me know and I will be happy to attempt the changes.
Last edited by snafumaster on Sun Nov 12, 2006 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
onigumo
Registered User
Posts: 1755
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 2:32 am
Contact:

Post by onigumo »

I assume that you can change the text that's displayed. Can one make any of the text displayed a link? Also, does this just support IE and Firefox? It'd be great if you could apply compatibility to other browsers, as well, such as Opera and Netscape.
I write articles on community building
@ The Infinity Program.

snafumaster
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 11:07 am
Location: S. of Boston
Name: Matthew Gendreau
Contact:

Post by snafumaster »

You can very easily change
  1. what is read on the bar
  2. the image that is displayed
  3. where the link directs you to.
I have only tested this in IE and FF, I'll make sure in a minute whether you can use Opera. Just have to fire up my *Nix box for that. I'll report later.

User avatar
smithy_dll
Former Team Member
Posts: 7630
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2002 6:27 am
Location: Australia
Name: Lachlan Smith
Contact:

Post by smithy_dll »

Isn't the use of the shield graphic a copyright violation?

snafumaster
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 11:07 am
Location: S. of Boston
Name: Matthew Gendreau
Contact:

Post by snafumaster »

You know, it may be. I honestly don't know. I was looking for something similar, but I found this graphic doing a google image search. Frankly, the image could be swapped out for anything. So, if it is an issue at all, that would be the easiest to correct. If anyone knows for certain, please let me know. I sure don't need Bill getting mad at me :wink:


*edit to add*
Please let me know of anything else that may be of issue. I really am a total novice. I just wanted to share what I thought was neat. I'd like to improve this and make it so it is a functional MOD that someone else may enjoy.

snaf

User avatar
3Di
Former Team Member
Posts: 14695
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Post by 3Di »

I think it should be nice to remove the register link from your overall_header.tpl , in order the MOD to be used everytime by visitors/users.

About the image.. i'll be glad to make some if you want, (i don't like it).
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
:studio_microphone: Premium extensions @ The Studio

User avatar
3Di
Former Team Member
Posts: 14695
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Post by 3Di »

this one removes the link: register, this way i prefere .. that's it. :wink:

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ OPEN ]------------------------------------------------
#
templates\subSilver\overall_header.tpl

#
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------
#
						<!-- BEGIN switch_user_logged_out -->
						&nbsp;<a href="{U_REGISTER}" class="mainmenu"><img src="templates/subSilver/images/icon_mini_register.gif" width="12" height="13" border="0" alt="{L_REGISTER}" hspace="3" />{L_REGISTER}</a></span>&nbsp;
						<!-- END switch_user_logged_out -->
#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]----------------------------------------
#
						<!-- BEGIN switch_user_logged_out -->
							</span>&nbsp;
						<!-- END switch_user_logged_out -->

#
#-----[ SAVE/CLOSE ALL FILES ]--------------------------------
#
# EoM
on the fly.. edited.
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
:studio_microphone: Premium extensions @ The Studio

snafumaster
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 11:07 am
Location: S. of Boston
Name: Matthew Gendreau
Contact:

Post by snafumaster »

@3Di-I think that might be a real good sugestion, as far as removing the register link and thanks for the code. I'm not sure if it should be an option or part of the default MOD install. But I guess I'll wait to see if anyone else will comment on it for now. As far as suggestion that you might have for the image...I'd love to hear sugestions or see examples of better images. If there is any kind of issue with the image I am using currently, I want it gone. Heck, even if there is only a hint of "copyright violation", I'd like to change it. Maybe I could have something that looks like it is more part of phpbb in color and style...I think that idea might have potential.

An issue I am having is the placement of the image. I currently have it as a backgroung image, but the different browsers are shifting it slightly so the alignment is sketchy in Opera. :hrmm:

snafumaster
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 11:07 am
Location: S. of Boston
Name: Matthew Gendreau
Contact:

Post by snafumaster »

Has anyone given this a try?

Just wondering if I should work on cleaning up the code and making it all around better. Several people has downloaded it, but I have no feedback. Could be that it's lame...my coding stinks...or my install info is not correct. I don't know :?

considering;
  • adding "on page load first load warning.gif" type statement so there is less lag for the image to display. Like in a mouse-over comment
  • creating a new image.
  • rewriting the install.txt so it is easier for people to cusomize to thier liking
Anyone?

User avatar
merqury07
Registered User
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 1:52 pm
Contact:

Post by merqury07 »

Well i just installed it but I cant get it to work. The bar doesnt show up in IE.
...

snafumaster
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 11:07 am
Location: S. of Boston
Name: Matthew Gendreau
Contact:

Post by snafumaster »

Sorry, I stopped working on this due to the apparant lack of interest.

Which version of IE are you using and have you tried viewing your forum with any other browsers? Do you have a link that you could post or PM me so I could take a look myself?

User avatar
Ramon Fincken
Registered User
Posts: 4835
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 1:04 am
Location: NL, The Netherlands Amsterdam area @GMT +1
Contact:

Post by Ramon Fincken »

no offence, but I saw this mod 'in action' a couple of times an immediately closed my browser because I did not trusted the sites AND .. it looked like an official warning..

The thing is ... the code is allright, yet I ( personally ) think you should re-consider the usage of an 'official' look of your mod.

Good luck developping !

Rfn
Dutch quality fully managed WordPress hosting - ManagedWPHosting.nl

Before changing a file, some code or installing a MOD >> Make a backup first!

Do you like my mods? paypal me $1 :) forumsoftware[AT}creativepulses[DOT}nl [/size]
PhpBBantispam.com || Instant find your mod here

snafumaster
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 11:07 am
Location: S. of Boston
Name: Matthew Gendreau
Contact:

Post by snafumaster »

Certainly no offense taken.

That is a good point too. The initial idea was to have it lok just like an Internet Explorer pop-up block or an Actual information bar. I hadn't considered that it would turn people off. I can now see how it might. It would be relatively easy to modify this mod to make it clearly not an official information bar.

I hadn't considered working on this in some time. I guess I could again if some people were interested, but as it stands now there hasn't been much real interest from the phpbb community.

deejaybet
Registered User
Posts: 1814
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 2:01 pm
Location: Derry, Northern Ireland
Contact:

Post by deejaybet »

maybe they aint as interested because it does turn people away from sites as soon as they see the yellow info bar

snafumaster
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 11:07 am
Location: S. of Boston
Name: Matthew Gendreau
Contact:

Post by snafumaster »

After being reminded that I had started this MOD, I went to my test site and found that in the last time I wiped the test forum out and re-did it, I forgot to reinstall this MOD. I just reinstalled this MOD so if you want to see it live, it's there.

It literally took me five minutes to download and install this time. That includes using remote desktop from a MAC into my 2003 Windows webserver to make the changes. I forgot how simple of a MOD this is.

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”