[2.0.18] Configure Member Profile Required Fields

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.

Rating:

Excellent!
7
50%
Very Good
1
7%
Good
3
21%
Fair
0
No votes
Poor
3
21%
 
Total votes : 14

[2.0.18] Configure Member Profile Required Fields

Postby MOD Robot » Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:41 pm

MOD Name: Configure Member Profile Required Fields
Author: ycl6
MOD Description: This mod allow admin to configure which information in member profile is required inside admin control panel. The required field will need to be filled in during registration and upon profile update.


MOD Version: 1.2.1

Download File: Configure_Required_Field_1.2.1.zip
mods overview page: View
File Size: 39968 Bytes

Security Score: 0

Support for this MOD needs to be asked within this topic. The phpBB Teams are not responsible or required to give anyone support for this MOD. By installing this MOD, the phpBB Support Team or phpBB MODifications Team may not be able to provide support.

This MOD has only been tested by the phpBB MOD Team with the phpBB version in the topic title. It may not work in any other versions of phpBB.
Last edited by MOD Robot on Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
(this is a non-active account manager for the phpBB MOD Team)
MOD Robot
MOD Queue Bot
MOD Queue Bot
 
Posts: 24703
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 7:36 am

Postby ycl6 » Sat Dec 03, 2005 12:35 pm

MOD Validated/Released

Notes:
Admin can decide and set which fields (present in default phpBB) are required during registration and profile update inside admin control panel.
User avatar
ycl6
Translator
 
Posts: 5695
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan

Postby darakhshan » Sat Dec 03, 2005 9:34 pm

offthe topic

I do not need a complicated mod

Can any body tell me how I can make only one field required
:lol:
darakhshan
Registered User
 
Posts: 794
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2004 7:18 pm

Postby tony44 » Mon Dec 05, 2005 2:42 am

Edit nevermind. Had to clear the cache in my browser.

Nice job! 8)
tony44
Registered User
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 4:34 pm

Postby niobium8 » Tue Jan 10, 2006 6:58 pm

I'm assuming that I edit the files in the templates folder I'm using for my forum and not subSilver. Right?

Also I would like a little help understanding;
#-----[ SQL ]------------------------------------------
#
# Remember to change the table prefix used on your database
CREATE TABLE phpbb_profile_config (
config_name VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
config_value VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
PRIMARY KEY (config_name)
);

INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('icq','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('website','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('location','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('signature','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('aim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('yim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('msnm','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('occupation','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('interests','0');
#
-----------------
in the install notes.

Image
I think I created the table ok and...
Image
1st insert went well, but...
Image
get an error inserting the 2nd value.

Any help would be appreciated.

--
Bri/nio/Zen
Brian C.
BestBuyApplanceParts.com (http://www.bestbuyapplianceparts.com) [/img]
niobium8
Registered User
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 6:56 pm
Location: USA

Postby ycl6 » Tue Jan 10, 2006 11:57 pm

Can you check if the phpbb_profile_config table has the additional 9 fields added?

~Mac
User avatar
ycl6
Translator
 
Posts: 5695
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan

how?

Postby niobium8 » Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:51 pm

I didn't add the fields. Can you show me where I can add the 9 fields...

Image

or can I just copy and paste:
Code: Select all
CREATE TABLE phpbb_profile_config (
config_name VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
config_value VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
PRIMARY KEY (config_name)
);

INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('icq','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('website','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('location','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('signature','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('aim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('yim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('msnm','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('occupation','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('interests','0');
#

this in when I'm creating the table?
niobium8
Registered User
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 6:56 pm
Location: USA

Postby ycl6 » Fri Jan 13, 2006 12:01 am

Since the table has been created, you only need to execute these:
Code: Select all
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('icq','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('website','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('location','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('signature','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('aim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('yim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('msnm','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('occupation','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('interests','0');


~Mac
User avatar
ycl6
Translator
 
Posts: 5695
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan

think I did it

Postby niobium8 » Fri Jan 13, 2006 12:28 am

OK... that parts done I think.
Image

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:58 pm Post subject:
I'm assuming that I edit the files in the templates folder I'm using for my forum and not subSilver. Right?


I'm using a BlackandSilver style... I edit .php file in it?
niobium8
Registered User
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 6:56 pm
Location: USA

hmmm

Postby niobium8 » Fri Jan 13, 2006 12:46 am

getting an error... which isn't making much since. As you can see above i created the tables and the values are in place.

Image

back to the drawing board
niobium8
Registered User
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 6:56 pm
Location: USA

Postby ycl6 » Fri Jan 13, 2006 1:16 am

since you aren't using the default phpbb database table prefix "phpbb_", you have to change your SQL query accordingly
Code: Select all
#
#-----[ SQL ]------------------------------------------
#
# Remember to change the table prefix used on your database


~Mac
User avatar
ycl6
Translator
 
Posts: 5695
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan

sry... not following

Postby niobium8 » Fri Jan 13, 2006 8:22 am

Can you explain a little more?

For example; You said I wasn't using the default phpbb database table prefix "phpbb_", so what am I using?

Is this the name I'm using?
Image

Is the name wasc.profile_config_table or I'm looking in the wrong place for the database table prefix?

If so does that mean I have to create:
Code: Select all
#-----[ SQL ]------------------------------------------
#
# Remember to change the table prefix used on your database
CREATE TABLE wasc.phpbb_profile_config (
    config_name VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
    config_value VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
    PRIMARY KEY (config_name)
);

INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('icq','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('website','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('location','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('signature','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('aim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('yim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('msnm','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('occupation','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('interests','0');
#
insted of
Code: Select all
#-----[ SQL ]------------------------------------------
#
# Remember to change the table prefix used on your database
CREATE TABLE phpbb_profile_config (
    config_name VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
    config_value VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
    PRIMARY KEY (config_name)
);

INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('icq','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('website','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('location','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('signature','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('aim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('yim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('msnm','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('occupation','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('interests','0');
#
niobium8
Registered User
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 6:56 pm
Location: USA

Postby ycl6 » Fri Jan 13, 2006 12:10 pm

If you forgot your setting, you can look at your config.php
Code: Select all
$table_prefix = 'phpbb_';


Also, have to perform all the necessary changes to the files described in the MOD install tutorial, e.g. includes/constants.php, and others.

~Mac
User avatar
ycl6
Translator
 
Posts: 5695
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan

hmmm

Postby niobium8 » Fri Jan 13, 2006 12:28 pm

not sure if I follow...

looked at my config.php and is this it?

Code: Select all
$dbname = 'wasc';


if so how do I figure out the table prefix name of my database?

This is my second MOD install... any help would be appreciated.... like saying a little more so this nerd (me) can understand.
niobium8
Registered User
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 6:56 pm
Location: USA

Postby ycl6 » Fri Jan 13, 2006 12:37 pm

Hi niobium8, look at my codes more carefully, it is $table_prefix, not $dbname :wink:

~Mac
User avatar
ycl6
Translator
 
Posts: 5695
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan

Next

Return to [2.0.x] MOD Database Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests