SOLVED-Problem with quote in 2.0.20 (solution on last post)

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
fred_mc
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 4:55 pm

SOLVED-Problem with quote in 2.0.20 (solution on last post)

Post by fred_mc » Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:06 pm

I just installed phpBB 2.0.20 but I have problems with quote after that. If I just write quote within brackets it works but if I write quote with = and a name within "", everything is just shown as plain text and not as a quote. Has anyone else also seen this problem?

User avatar
StitchMagician
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 6:26 pm

Post by StitchMagician » Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:08 pm

Same problem here. I did notice that it left the original quotes in other posts as they were. This problem only occurs if it is a new post or you edit an existing post.

mc0676
Registered User
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2004 2:23 pm

Post by mc0676 » Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:12 pm

I'm the same problem.

fred_mc
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 4:55 pm

Post by fred_mc » Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:12 pm

Yes, it worked with 2.0.19 for me but after the update to 2.0.20 it doesn't work anymore :( .

User avatar
will_hough
Former Team Member
Posts: 1952
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 8:47 pm
Location: Michigan
Name: Will Hough
Contact:

Post by will_hough » Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:14 pm

Works just fine on my v2.0.20 board

Code: Select all

[quote="name"]said[/quote]

sonyboy
Registered User
Posts: 2980
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 2:10 am

Re: Problem with quote in 2.0.20

Post by sonyboy » Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:18 pm

fred_mc wrote: I just installed phpBB 2.0.20 but I have problems with quote after that. If I just write quote within brackets it works but if I write quote with = and a name within "", everything is just shown as plain text and not as a quote. Has anyone else also seen this problem?


Here's the quote from phpBB.com, it's fine

dbdummy
Registered User
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 9:22 pm
Location: arizona
Contact:

Post by dbdummy » Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:30 pm

Do you have any mods installed on your board?

Quoting works fine on my forum also.

Or, fill out the support request template...since there seem to be a few bb boards in here having the same problem.

miccom
Registered User
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 2:56 pm
Location: Germany - Hamburg
Contact:

Post by miccom » Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:34 pm

i have the same problem...

sundstrom24
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:56 pm

Post by sundstrom24 » Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:36 pm

I am having a similiar issue with quoting. If I turn HTML off it works fine. With HTML on and this style quoting

Code: Select all

[quote="name"][/quote]
it is all just text.
Last edited by sundstrom24 on Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BZebra
Registered User
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2003 1:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by BZebra » Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:36 pm

Same problem on my forum. I have equote installed and a couple of other bbcode-modifications.

Code: Select all

[quote="Author"]Text[/quote] and
[equote="Author"]Text[/equote]
doesn't work any more.

If someone would like to take a look, here is my bbcode.php: http://www.skoliose-info-forum.de/datei/bbcode.php.txt

Thank you!

arnaud.lb
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 4:21 am

Post by arnaud.lb » Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:46 pm

I have the same problem with HTML ON.

Work around I found is to add this line:

Code: Select all

$message = str_replace('"', '\\"', $message);
after

Code: Select all

$message = addslashes($message);
in includes/functions_post.php

fred_mc
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 4:55 pm

Post by fred_mc » Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:47 pm

sundstrom24 wrote: I am having a similiar issue with quoting. If I turn HTML off it works fine. With HTML on and this style quoting

Code: Select all

[quote="name"][/quote]
it is all just text.


It's the same for me. I think that those people for whom it works probably have HTML disabled.

User avatar
onigumo
Registered User
Posts: 1755
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 2:32 am
Contact:

Post by onigumo » Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:50 pm

I have the same problem. This is too much a coincidence to not be a problem with the update itself. Anyways, I'll try this. . .
arnaud.lb wrote: I have the same problem with HTML ON.

Work around I found is to add this line:

Code: Select all

$message = str_replace('"', '\\"', $message);
after

Code: Select all

$message = addslashes($message);
in includes/functions_post.php
I write articles on community building
@ The Infinity Program.

User avatar
onigumo
Registered User
Posts: 1755
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 2:32 am
Contact:

Post by onigumo » Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:52 pm

Well. . . it didn't work for me.
I write articles on community building
@ The Infinity Program.

sundstrom24
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:56 pm

Post by sundstrom24 » Fri Apr 07, 2006 8:53 pm

arnaud.lb wrote: I have the same problem with HTML ON.

Work around I found is to add this line:

Code: Select all

$message = str_replace('"', '\\"', $message);
after

Code: Select all

$message = addslashes($message);
in includes/functions_post.php


Thanks arnaud, this at least lets my board function the way it did prior till a possible fix is released.

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”