Update problem: FTP path invalid

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Nenad
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2003 11:26 am
Contact:

Update problem: FTP path invalid

Post by Nenad »

I am trying out the update from B3 to B4, I have chosen to update the files using the scripts FTP function.

I enter all the information, server address, user, pass, path.

The script returns the following error:

"Connection failed
The phpBB path entered seems to be not valid."

The path I use is: /netpixeldesign.com/phpBB3/

What could be the problem?

Also, shouldn't the error message be "The phpBB path entered does not seem to be valid", maybe I am wrong but it would sound like a more natural use of language. Or "seems to be invalid".



edit by Acyd Burn:

All of you entering this topic for searching the "fix", here it is:

In includes/functions_transfer.php, just replace the function file_exists with this code:

Code: Select all

/**
   * Check if a specified file exist...
   */
   function file_exists($directory, $filename)
   {
      global $phpbb_root_path;

      $directory = $this->root_path . str_replace($phpbb_root_path, '', $directory);
      $this->_chdir($directory);
      $result = $this->_ls('');

      if ($result !== false && is_array($result))
      {
         return (in_array($filename, $result)) ? true : false;
      }

      return false;
   } 
theJman
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 7:36 am

Post by theJman »

I had the same problem. I think the issue is that you have a period in the directory name. Mine is b3.mydomain.com, and it fails in the same way. Decided to do the manual update. (I downloaded the zip archive, uploaded it to the directory and unzipped via ssh). Worked fine. So I think that is the issue.
carloclaessen
Registered User
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 11:55 pm

Post by carloclaessen »

you need to fill in the doc_root where your forum is installed

mostly if you look at your ftp progam you see it

it looks some like

Code: Select all

/var/www/html
Nenad
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2003 11:26 am
Contact:

Post by Nenad »

The path I used initially is the correct FTP path, that isn't the problem.
carloclaessen
Registered User
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 11:55 pm

Post by carloclaessen »

upload this file in your root (unpacked ofcourse)

http://www.live-rpg.eu/uri.rar

and check if its the same, that should be placed with path
Nenad
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2003 11:26 am
Contact:

Post by Nenad »

Firstly, I believe that returns the server path and not the ftp path.

Secondly, no difference, now its giving the error:

Connection failed
Unable to change directory

Because it /home/.... isn't an FTP path, on my server the two are different, and my path in FTP is as follows (straight from root)

/netpixeldesign.com/phpBB3/

Which produces the initial error.
carloclaessen
Registered User
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 11:55 pm

Post by carloclaessen »

it will be then /home/..../phpbb3

an often made error is that people add a last backslash.

dont do that, much times it errors
Nenad
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2003 11:26 am
Contact:

Post by Nenad »

I don't mean to sound rude, but I am quite certain that that is not the problem, the path I used is correct (unless the program wants some other path other than the FTP path, in which case it should state that). I have tried your suggestions to make sure of course.
carloclaessen
Registered User
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 11:55 pm

Post by carloclaessen »

did you run my script????

it really needs the doc_root as far as i understand it
Nenad
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2003 11:26 am
Contact:

Post by Nenad »

I did, it didn't work. It does not need the server path, it needs the path as would be seen when logged in to the FTP as I understand it.
SamG
Former Team Member
Posts: 3221
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2001 6:35 pm
Location: Beautiful Northwest Lower Michigan
Name: Sam Graf

Post by SamG »

It may be all you say is true, but a typical FTP path refers to a directory path. See this tutorial for an illustration/example of a typical FTP path.

I don't know this for a fact, but it may that the script sees the .com and considers the path invalid, which is not surprising.
Rick Deckard
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 2:21 am

Post by Rick Deckard »

carloclaessen wrote: did you run my script????

it really needs the doc_root as far as i understand it

That script of yours returns server path, and what we need here is an FTP path. You surely cant ftp change dir (CWD) to a path like /home/... ;) (if you dont have acces to /home folder, and on shared hosting you dont).
Your FTP root is the folder where you are initially placed when you connect to FTP server with your username and pass, and FTP path begins from there.
SamG
Former Team Member
Posts: 3221
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2001 6:35 pm
Location: Beautiful Northwest Lower Michigan
Name: Sam Graf

Post by SamG »

I have accounts where ftp'ing into the server places me at the directory root (ftp.myserver.com), and I have to navigate (CWD) to /public_html.
carloclaessen
Registered User
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 11:55 pm

Post by carloclaessen »

sometimes indeed filling in things like public_html or html will also do

if you connect to the ftp you get chained icons (i use wsftppro)

i dont know how other progams react, it is a kind of shortcut

filling this name only as path will do also sometimes
SamG
Former Team Member
Posts: 3221
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2001 6:35 pm
Location: Beautiful Northwest Lower Michigan
Name: Sam Graf

Post by SamG »

Went through some of my FTP accounts and do in fact have one that CWDs to /home/accountname/mainwebsite_html.

The point of all this is that a typical FTP path (which may begin with /home) is probably what the script considers to be a valid path.
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”

cron