[Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Scam Warning
User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by Tripp »

Drop the table
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs
User avatar
battye
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 11056
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 11:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by battye »

That probably would be wise, particularly if you were only adding a column to a vital table such as _users or _posts

Generally, you don't need to worry about undoing SQL queries as they tend not to affect the way the forum runs. Undoing the general PHP changes should be sufficient.
Customisations Team Member

https://github.com/battye/php-array-parser - Give it a Star! :D
User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by Tripp »

battye wrote:That probably would be wise, particularly if you were only adding a column to a vital table such as _users or _posts

Generally, you don't need to worry about undoing SQL queries as they tend not to affect the way the forum runs. Undoing the general PHP changes should be sufficient.
:roll: A lot of mods create entire tables which is fine to delete, when adding columns then I wouldn't so much worry about that.
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs
nabeelmallick
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 12:02 am

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by nabeelmallick »

i installed paul's shoutbox.. http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 9&t=590977 which asks me to do this..

Code: Select all

CREATE TABLE phpbb_shoutbox (
	shout_id int(11) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
	shout_user_id mediumint(8) NOT NULL,
	shout_time int(11) NOT NULL,
	shout_ip varchar(32) character set latin1 NOT NULL,
	shout_text text collate utf8_bin NOT NULL,
	shout_bbcode_bitfield varchar(255) character set latin1 NOT NULL,
	shout_bbcode_uid varchar(8) character set latin1 NOT NULL,
	shout_bbcode_flags int(11) unsigned NOT NULL default '7',
	PRIMARY KEY	(shout_id)
) DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8 COLLATE=utf8_bin;
so u mean i should goto php my admin of my forums... and delete phpbb_shoutbox table from the database??

:?
User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by Tripp »

nabeelmallick wrote:i installed paul's shoutbox.. http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 9&t=590977 which asks me to do this..

Code: Select all

CREATE TABLE phpbb_shoutbox (
	shout_id int(11) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
	shout_user_id mediumint(8) NOT NULL,
	shout_time int(11) NOT NULL,
	shout_ip varchar(32) character set latin1 NOT NULL,
	shout_text text collate utf8_bin NOT NULL,
	shout_bbcode_bitfield varchar(255) character set latin1 NOT NULL,
	shout_bbcode_uid varchar(8) character set latin1 NOT NULL,
	shout_bbcode_flags int(11) unsigned NOT NULL default '7',
	PRIMARY KEY	(shout_id)
) DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8 COLLATE=utf8_bin;
so u mean i should goto php my admin of my forums... and delete phpbb_shoutbox table from the database??

:?

Yes sssirrr
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs
nabeelmallick
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 12:02 am

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by nabeelmallick »

thankyou sir .. appreciate it..
User avatar
axl409
Registered User
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2003 3:18 pm
Location: wherever i may roam

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by axl409 »

what about when it says this

ALTER TABLE `phpbb_drafts` ADD `draft_description` VARCHAR( 255 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT '';
ALTER TABLE `phpbb_topics` ADD `topic_description` VARCHAR( 255 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT '';

it doesnt exactly say in the instructions where to actually do that
VISIT THE 4 HORSEMEN WEBSITE
http://www.4horsemensite.com
User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by Tripp »

You do it the same exact way. ALL SQL queries are executed the same way. All that does is alter the table.
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs
User avatar
3Di
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 17538
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: I'm with Ukraine 🇺🇦
Name: Marco

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by 3Di »

axl409 wrote:what about when it says this
ALTER TABLE `phpbb_drafts` ADD `draft_description` VARCHAR( 255 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT '';
ALTER TABLE `phpbb_topics` ADD `topic_description` VARCHAR( 255 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT '';
it doesnt exactly say in the instructions where to actually do that
Better to insert the same QUERY but as it is here, below.
ALTER TABLE phpbb_drafts ADD draft_description VARCHAR( 255 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT '';
ALTER TABLE phpbb_topics ADD topic_description VARCHAR( 255 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT '';
`` Backticks (spelling?) aren't DBAL AFAIR but not so important if you are on MySql.

Where?

Once you are logged into your SQL admin+database you want to modify - just click on the SQL button and insert that QUERY there, in the input box (if blank) - once done click on the EXECUTE button and see.
🆓 Free support for our extensions also provided here: phpBB Studio
🚀 Looking for a specific feature or alternative option? We will rock you!
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx. Buy me a coffee -> Image
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user º Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
User avatar
axl409
Registered User
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2003 3:18 pm
Location: wherever i may roam

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by axl409 »

na doesnt work...this is what it says

SQL query:

ALTER TABLE phpbb_drafts ADD draft_description VARCHAR( 255 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT ''

MySQL said:

#1060 - Duplicate column name 'draft_description'

could it be because ive already done this? in that case, why doesnt this mod work?
VISIT THE 4 HORSEMEN WEBSITE
http://www.4horsemensite.com
User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by Tripp »

Yes, it's already been entered. As for the mod, ask in the appropriate topic.
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs
User avatar
axl409
Registered User
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2003 3:18 pm
Location: wherever i may roam

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by axl409 »

i have but noones answering...ok so how do i undo the sql edit then so its back to what it was before?
VISIT THE 4 HORSEMEN WEBSITE
http://www.4horsemensite.com
User avatar
3Di
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 17538
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: I'm with Ukraine 🇺🇦
Name: Marco

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by 3Di »

axl409 wrote:i have but noones answering...ok so how do i undo the sql edit then so its back to what it was before?
You could leave it as it is, no harms.
🆓 Free support for our extensions also provided here: phpBB Studio
🚀 Looking for a specific feature or alternative option? We will rock you!
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx. Buy me a coffee -> Image
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user º Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
SilverHawke
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:17 am

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by SilverHawke »

I am SO confused on how to use this. I had to install it myself, and I doubt I even did it correctly. I dont have an SQL tab, I have some kind of tab that says mySQLmanual. Is there anyone that can take the time to walk me through this please?

All I'm wanting to do is add a mod that will allow the members to be automatically promoted to groups through their post counts. I've done everything but this SQL stuff, and I'm so lost and confused on what to do. I've reached the point where I'm about to throw my laptop across the room. PLEASE someone, get on an IM or something, and help me through how to do this. I'm VERY,VERY new with all this phpbb3 things. If I could just have someone show me how, step by step, I would be increadably greatful to them.
User avatar
battye
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 11056
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 11:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: [Tutorial] How to use phpMyAdmin

Post by battye »

Does the top of the right frame look like this:

Image

?
Customisations Team Member

https://github.com/battye/php-array-parser - Give it a Star! :D

Return to “[3.0.x] MODs in Development”