[How To] Modify prosilver's header

For support and discussion related to templates, themes, and imagesets in phpBB 3.0.
Get Involved
User avatar
Sinom
Translator
Posts: 1686
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:53 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Sinom »

You can center the headerbar by adding:

Code: Select all

	margin-left: auto;
	margin-right: auto;
Open common.css and find:

Code: Select all

.headerbar
Hugs :ugeek:
ixtril
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:33 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by ixtril »

Sinom wrote:You can center the headerbar by adding:

Code: Select all

	margin-left: auto;
	margin-right: auto;
Open common.css and find:

Code: Select all

.headerbar
Hugs :ugeek:
Doesn't work, i did it before and now, but nothing :(

*(I have clean the cache etc..)
User avatar
Sinom
Translator
Posts: 1686
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:53 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Sinom »

How are you editing your style?

I would recommend the following:

*Download a good text editing program - Such as Notepad++*
  • Log in to your server using your FTP-client. Find and download the file you need to edit.
  • Save a backup, make the changes you're going to do, and then save your file.
  • Re-upload the file to your server, and then head into your forum.
  • Log in to the ACP and head to ACP >> Styles > Choose Templates/Themes/Imagesets for your style and click Refresh!
  • When you're done, you will have cleared the cache and will be able to see the changes you've done the next time you go to the board and hit F5.
Hugs :ugeek:
ixtril
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:33 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by ixtril »

Sinom wrote:How are you editing your style?

I would recommend the following:

*Download a good text editing program - Such as Notepad++*
  • Log in to your server using your FTP-client. Find and download the file you need to edit.
  • Save a backup, make the changes you're going to do, and then save your file.
  • Re-upload the file to your server, and then head into your forum.
  • Log in to the ACP and head to ACP >> Styles > Choose Templates/Themes/Imagesets for your style and click Refresh!
  • When you're done, you will have cleared the cache and will be able to see the changes you've done the next time you go to the board and hit F5.
Hugs :ugeek:

Doesn't work! :( I removed the style, i downloaded and intalled again, I have done all that you said me, and doesn't work :(, what can i do?
User avatar
Sinom
Translator
Posts: 1686
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:53 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Sinom »

Can you provide a larger screen shot of your forum?

Or explain in text, what you're trying to accomplish from scratch.

Hugs :ugeek:
ixtril
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:33 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by ixtril »

User avatar
Sinom
Translator
Posts: 1686
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:53 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Sinom »

I would recommend doing it the following way.

Go to \styles\prosilver\template and open overall_header.html

Find:

Code: Select all

		<div class="headerbar">
			<div class="inner"><span class="corners-top"><span></span></span>

			<div id="site-description">
				<a href="{U_INDEX}" title="{L_INDEX}" id="logo">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a>
				<h1>{SITENAME}</h1>
				<p>{SITE_DESCRIPTION}</p>
				<p class="skiplink"><a href="#start_here">{L_SKIP}</a></p>
			</div>

		<!-- IF S_DISPLAY_SEARCH and not S_IN_SEARCH -->
			<div id="search-box">
				<form action="{U_SEARCH}" method="post" id="search">
				<fieldset>
					<input name="keywords" id="keywords" type="text" maxlength="128" title="{L_SEARCH_KEYWORDS}" class="inputbox search" value="<!-- IF SEARCH_WORDS-->{SEARCH_WORDS}<!-- ELSE -->{L_SEARCH_MINI}<!-- ENDIF -->" onclick="if(this.value=='{LA_SEARCH_MINI}')this.value='';" onblur="if(this.value=='')this.value='{LA_SEARCH_MINI}';" />
					<input class="button2" value="{L_SEARCH}" type="submit" /><br />
					<a href="{U_SEARCH}" title="{L_SEARCH_ADV_EXPLAIN}">{L_SEARCH_ADV}</a> {S_SEARCH_HIDDEN_FIELDS}
				</fieldset>
				</form>
			</div>
		<!-- ENDIF -->

			<span class="corners-bottom"><span></span></span></div>
		</div>
The entire headerbar div.
Move that to above <div id="wrap">

Next, go to \styles\prosilver\theme and open common.css

Find:

Code: Select all

#wrap {
	padding: 0 20px;
	min-width: 650px;
}
Add your width here, and adjust the wrap to be centered. IE, replace with:

Code: Select all

#wrap {
	padding: 0 20px;
	min-width: 650px;
	width: 1100px;
	margin-left: auto;
	margin-right: auto;
}
Hugs :ugeek:
Karen Eidson
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 11:05 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Karen Eidson »

I am in the process of modifying the header in my new forum. However, when I get to step #4, 1) Open styles/prosilver/template/overall_header.html, I open the file named and it is blank. Nothing is in there to change. What do I do now?
ixtril
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:33 pm

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by ixtril »

Thank you, works so well!!

I'd like to know how can i change the size of logo, because when I put a picture as logo, the picture became small.
User avatar
Rahber
Former Team Member
Posts: 2720
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 3:39 pm
Location: Pakistan
Name: Rahber

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Rahber »

Karen Eidson wrote:I am in the process of modifying the header in my new forum. However, when I get to step #4, 1) Open styles/prosilver/template/overall_header.html, I open the file named and it is blank. Nothing is in there to change. What do I do now?
Looks like you have deleted the content while making some changes before. as phpBB is cached based so the changes are not reflected until the cache is update.
if you dont have any mod installed that involved edit in overall_header.html you need to take the overall_header.html from a vanilla download of phpBB ,copy it to your prosilver folder and then make the edit.
ixtril wrote: I'd like to know how can i change the size of logo, because when I put a picture as logo, the picture became small.
your site_logo image is controlled by imageset.You will need to make the change in imageset/imageset.cfg
img_site_logo = site_logo.gif*52*139 52 is height and 139 is the width.
You will also need to refresh your imageset from acp for the change to appear.
bayer04forum
Registered User
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:48 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by bayer04forum »

Fixed the problem. :lol:
User avatar
Unifier
Registered User
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 1:17 pm
Location: KS
Name: Unis

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Unifier »

I have read through this thread and did not find a reference to prosilver2. Does that mean the techniques provided here for customizing the header, will also apply to prosilver2?
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 69228
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

Unifier wrote:I have read through this thread and did not find a reference to prosilver2. Does that mean the techniques provided here for customizing the header, will also apply to prosilver2?
there is no prosilver2 there is a subsilver2 and no, the prosilver methods do not apply because the code is completely different.


robert
Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

I am pleased to announce that I have completed the first item on my bucket list. I have the bucket.
User avatar
Ghalebi
Registered User
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 9:47 pm
Location: Yemen
Name: Ali

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Ghalebi »

Hello,

I have followed the instructions and it worked with me in a localhost installation, picture:
Image

But when I applied it on my website, this was the result:
Image

as you see, it is a little stretched in the next photo, how can I fix this :roll: ?

Thanks in advance.
User avatar
Ghalebi
Registered User
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 9:47 pm
Location: Yemen
Name: Ali

Re: [How To] Modify prosilver's header

Post by Ghalebi »

Problem solved! I don't know how the picture was re-sized to a bigger dimensions when I uploaded it. I just re-uploaded it and it worked!

Thanks to Garebooo (phpBBArabia) for the tip :)

Return to “[3.0.x] Styles Support & Discussion”