apostrophe thing

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785

apostrophe thing

Postby Michaelton » Thu Feb 14, 2002 12:19 am

Whenever I put an ' in one of my posts, it comes out as this: &#8217

What can I do to fix this problem? (I need to open my forums to the public tonight...)

Also, smileys aren't showing up either, only the writing...
User avatar
Michaelton
Registered User
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2002 12:56 am

Postby psoTFX » Thu Feb 14, 2002 1:20 am

What language are you using? The &xxxx; appears because the browser is doing a conversion to Unicode of certain characters ...

As for smilies, have you enabled them in your profile/post/admin?
User avatar
psoTFX
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 7425
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2001 8:50 pm

Postby Michaelton » Thu Feb 14, 2002 3:19 am

I'm using english... and I just casually posted a message and that happened... it happened for some - ones too...

As for the smilies I'll go and check that.
User avatar
Michaelton
Registered User
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2002 12:56 am

Postby Michaelton » Thu Feb 14, 2002 3:23 am

I checked the allow smilies thing, and it was on yes, so I don't know what's wrong there. The thing I really need help with is the ' - thing... :(
User avatar
Michaelton
Registered User
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2002 12:56 am

Postby zoid » Thu Feb 14, 2002 3:52 am

Michaelton wrote:I checked the allow smilies thing, and it was on yes, so I don't know what's wrong there. The thing I really need help with is the ' - thing... :(

Did you uncheck the "Disable Smilies in this post" checkbox when posting?

Alexander
Whatever you want to know, please do a Image Search before asking :).

Run your own Chatcommunity
>> PINO - Client/Server Chat for Windows <<
zoid
Registered User
 
Posts: 743
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2001 6:29 am
Location: $SCRIPT_NAME

Postby Dzien Dobry » Thu Feb 14, 2002 3:59 am

I generally write my posts in MS Word 97 for the spell-checking and then just copy and paste into a message box for posting. If I use smart (curly) quotes or a smart (curly) apostrophe, I get the same error.
User avatar
Dzien Dobry
Registered User
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 3:55 pm

Postby Michaelton » Thu Feb 14, 2002 4:03 am

I get what you mean now... I copied and pasted it from Word 2000.
User avatar
Michaelton
Registered User
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2002 12:56 am

Postby Dzien Dobry » Thu Feb 14, 2002 4:24 am

It used to be that smart looking quotes and apostrophes would post correctly. As you may know, sometimes when one bug is fixed, two more develop. This must be one of those problems. They'll get it all working eventually, I'm sure.
User avatar
Dzien Dobry
Registered User
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 3:55 pm

Postby Michaelton » Thu Feb 14, 2002 5:25 am

Hopefully... I guess for now I can change the font in word to Verdana, then paste it in and see if that works...
User avatar
Michaelton
Registered User
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2002 12:56 am

Postby Dzien Dobry » Thu Feb 14, 2002 5:53 am

Copying Verdana text from Word 97 and then pasting it into the message box doesn't work.
User avatar
Dzien Dobry
Registered User
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 3:55 pm

Postby blulegend » Thu Feb 14, 2002 6:30 am

You write it in a word processor????!
blulegend
Registered User
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 5:41 pm

Postby Dzien Dobry » Thu Feb 14, 2002 6:36 am

blulegend wrote:You write it in a word processor????!


Yes.

Dzien Dobry wrote:I generally write my posts in MS Word 97 for the spell-checking and then just copy and paste into a message box for posting. If I use smart (curly) quotes or a smart (curly) apostrophe, I get the same error.
User avatar
Dzien Dobry
Registered User
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 3:55 pm

Postby psoTFX » Thu Feb 14, 2002 11:40 am

Dzien Dobry wrote:It used to be that smart looking quotes and apostrophes would post correctly. As you may know, sometimes when one bug is fixed, two more develop. This must be one of those problems. They'll get it all working eventually, I'm sure.

We've been over this soooo many times now ... if you post non-standard chars they'll be internally converted within the browser into Unicode NCR's (numeric character references) since the codepage set (iso-8859-1 for Western European) doesn't include the char/s. When phpBB gets this data it converts all & (which prefix the NCR in SGML/HTML) to &amp; because it thinks you want to display &xxxx; as a word ... and hence the output you see.

Why do we convert & to &amp;? Because we had lots of complaints from people posting things like &amp; &nbsp;, etc. seeing either & or blank space rather than the word they typed (makes sense ...).
User avatar
psoTFX
Former Team Member
 
Posts: 7425
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2001 8:50 pm

Postby ICMafia » Thu Feb 14, 2002 1:40 pm

é hmm
User avatar
ICMafia
Registered User
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2001 5:19 pm

Postby Dzien Dobry » Thu Feb 14, 2002 2:38 pm

psoTFX wrote:we had lots of complaints from people posting things like &amp; &nbsp;, etc. seeing either & or blank space rather than the word they typed (makes sense ...).


I wonder why UBB is smart-quote enabled? Don't they have users posting things like &amp; &nbsp;, etc? How did they solve this problem? It would be nice if things like &amp; &nbsp; would post correctly but only if placed in a code box. Does this sound like a possible feature request for phpbb 2.2?
User avatar
Dzien Dobry
Registered User
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 3:55 pm

Next

Return to 2.0.x Support Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests