Delete My Account

Option to recover / un-delete account? - Delete My Account

Option to recover / un-delete account?

by WelshPaul » Mon Aug 21, 2017 2:56 pm

Nice extension!

Would be great if this extension included an option to recover or un-delete an account?

E.g. A member deletes their account, but a few days later they regret doing so and decide to un-delete their account. Maybe have something where when logging in with their old login info, an information notice shows that the account is pending delete, would you like to cancel your request to delete this account - yes or no?

If after 14 days (or some other pre-set time) they have not logged in or requested to un-delete their account, only then is the account is permanently deleted.
User avatar
WelshPaul
Registered User
Posts: 353
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 2:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Option to recover / un-delete account?

by BrokenCrust » Tue Aug 29, 2017 8:58 am

Thanks for the positive feedback and for the enhancement suggestion.

It's not something that I would use on my site as I think users expect immediate action and if someone storms off in a huff and deletes themselves but regrets it the next day then they can always sign up again and I don't mind that but I can understand why you might want a cooling off period.

I think personally that it's better for it to but a simple and clear process. You delete your account and it is gone, immediately and forever. If you as the site admin want to discuss it with them or give them the chance to stay then perhaps it's better for you to ask them to PM or email you deletion requests and process them manually.
User avatar
BrokenCrust
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 8:43 pm
Contact: