phpBB Media Embed PlugIn

Cannot use [media] bbcode - phpBB Media Embed PlugIn

Re: Cannot use [media] bbcode

by DavidIQ » Fri Oct 26, 2018 7:15 pm

If you're not using the default roles then just set it for the roles you're actually using. If you're not using any roles at all then yes, you'll need to set the permissions for each of the 30 forums.
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.
User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 16973
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Re: Cannot use [media] bbcode

by Badhon_raj » Fri Oct 26, 2018 7:24 pm

DavidIQ wrote:If you're not using the default roles then just set it for the roles you're actually using. If you're not using any roles at all then yes, you'll need to set the permissions for each of the 30 forums.
That's a pain :( It has complex permission setting based on groups, not role.
edit:
if I add

Code: Select all

['permission.permission_set', ['REGISTERED', 'f_mediaembed', 'group']],
in m4_permissions.php, then disable/enable the extension,
will it set the permission for all forum?
Badhon_raj
Registered User
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 6:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot use [media] bbcode

by DavidIQ » Fri Oct 26, 2018 7:48 pm

Changing it now won't really help, unless you go through uninstalling and then reinstalling it. Would probably be easier to just change the permission for the roles instead if you're using them.
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.
User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 16973
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Re: Cannot use [media] bbcode

by Badhon_raj » Fri Oct 26, 2018 7:54 pm

DavidIQ wrote:Would probably be easier to just change the permission for the roles instead if you're using them.
Problem is, I'm not using roles.
unless you go through uninstalling and then reinstalling it.
uninstall/reinstall as in uninstall -> delete data -> reinstall?
or just disable then enable (without deleting data)?

Will it have any bad effect? If not, I think this will be easier then going through all 30+ forums.

Please suggest the edits.
Badhon_raj
Registered User
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 6:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot use [media] bbcode

by DavidIQ » Fri Oct 26, 2018 9:14 pm

If you're not using roles then changing the migration file isn't going to help you. All it does is add the permission and then set it for those roles listed. There is no direct provision for setting the permission for every forum in migration files.
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.
User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 16973
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Re: Cannot use [media] bbcode

by Gubkin » Sat Dec 01, 2018 5:30 am

remove please permissions in 1.0.3
1.0.2 give only problem
Gubkin
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 7:15 am
Location: RU
Name: Alexander
Contact:

Re: Cannot use [media] bbcode

by thelorax » Fri Dec 07, 2018 7:10 pm

I was having the same issue as OP, the forum permissions were already set to allow parsing so the fix offered wasn't helpful, kept getting the error: "You can not use certain BBCodes: [media]"

Posting this here for anyone else seeing this issue after updating your board to 3.2.4 and/or updating the extension, disable and enable it again, this seems to have fixed the permission error.
thelorax
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot use [media] bbcode

by VSE » Mon Dec 24, 2018 5:08 pm

Anyone having permission issues should check your forum permissions.

For example:

Go to
  1. ACP
  2. Permissions
  3. Forum Permissions
  4. Select one of your forums (or all of them)
  5. Select a User or Group and click Edit permissions
  6. Advanced Permissions
  7. Content
  8. set Can use [media] BBCode
If you are using roles, and have roles set for your forums, you should check them too:

Go to
  1. ACP
  2. Permissions
  3. Forum Roles
  4. Click the edit icon for a forum role
  5. Content
  6. set Can use [media] BBCode
When This extension is installed, it by default should be enabled for all forums and enabled in the following forum roles:
  1. Full Access
  2. On Moderation Queue
  3. Standard Access
  4. Standard Access + Polls
Also note that if any of the permissions are set to NEVER, then it won't work in that case...period! For example, if one of your Forum's is set to NEVER for Registered users, then even you, as an Admin, won't be allowed to use it in that forum even if your Admin permission was set to yes. For this it is always helpful to look at your Forum Permission Masks, like:

Go to
  1. ACP
  2. Permissions
  3. View Forum Based Permissions
  4. Select one of your forums (or all of them)
  5. Select a User or Group and click View permissions
  6. View the Content tabs of each forum
FYI: It's also got a user permission for use in Private Messages (and has been allowed for all registered users, and in the All Features and Standard Features user roles).
Dictated but not read.
Official phpBB Extensions My Extensions & MODs
Please do not PM me for support.
User avatar
VSE
Extensions Development Coordinator
Extensions Development Coordinator
Posts: 4836
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:37 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Name: Matt Friedman
Contact:

Re: Cannot use [media] bbcode

by Gubkin » Sun Jan 20, 2019 10:16 am

remove please permission in 1.0.3
unnecessary nonsense with a bunch of problems
Gubkin
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 7:15 am
Location: RU
Name: Alexander
Contact:

Re: Cannot use [media] bbcode

by ukautoforums » Fri Feb 15, 2019 12:42 pm

thelorax wrote:I was having the same issue as OP, the forum permissions were already set to allow parsing so the fix offered wasn't helpful, kept getting the error: "You can not use certain BBCodes: [media]"

Posting this here for anyone else seeing this issue after updating your board to 3.2.4 and/or updating the extension, disable and enable it again, this seems to have fixed the permission error.
Thanks - this just fixed it for me.
ukautoforums
Registered User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2017 10:00 am
Contact:

Re: Cannot use [media] bbcode

by DavidIQ » Fri Feb 15, 2019 1:18 pm

For anyone else having this problem you should be following the extension update instructions for this and any other extension you update:
https://www.phpbb.com/extensions/installing/

Just replacing the files is not enough since that will not run new migrations which is why you would be having this problem since the new permission is added via a migration.
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.
User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 16973
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Re: Cannot use [media] bbcode

by Gubkin » Mon Apr 15, 2019 6:24 am

Can you please make the option like in viewtopic.php?f=456&t=2506381
Need swith off permissions systems
2019-04-15_111947.gif
Gubkin
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 7:15 am
Location: RU
Name: Alexander
Contact:

Re: Cannot use [media] bbcode

by DavidIQ » Mon Apr 15, 2019 11:45 am

A setting to negate another? That's an anti-pattern we won't be doing or promoting, sorry.
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.
User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 16973
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Re: Cannot use [media] bbcode

by VSE » Tue Apr 16, 2019 4:01 am

Gubkin wrote:remove please permission in 1.0.3
unnecessary nonsense with a bunch of problems
It's not unnecessary nonsense. It's the exact same Forum permissions that are in phpBB's default install for the IMG and FLASH BBCodes. They're there so admin's can control who has the privileges to actually post external media onto their forums.

As detailed in as many ways as we can (in this post and in the FAQ) if you set your permissions correctly, and have magic urls and bbcodes enabled it will work just fine.

Of course if you think you're still having trouble, post an image of your permission masks for us to see.
Dictated but not read.
Official phpBB Extensions My Extensions & MODs
Please do not PM me for support.
User avatar
VSE
Extensions Development Coordinator
Extensions Development Coordinator
Posts: 4836
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:37 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Name: Matt Friedman
Contact:

Re: Cannot use [media] bbcode

by null2 » Mon Apr 29, 2019 11:44 pm

I solved this boring issue in version 1.1.0 modifying ext/phpbb/mediaembed/event/main_listener.php (near to line 209) to:

Code: Select all

public function check_forum_permission($event)
{
	if (!$this->auth->acl_get('f_mediaembed', $event['forum_id']) || !$this->auth->acl_get('f_bbcode', $event['forum_id']))
	{
		$this->disable_plugin = false;
		$this->disable_tag = false;
	}
}
Now, everybody may post media in any forum.

Its not practical to set permissions to big forums (my forum has 400+ subforums). So, this modification solved this issue in a quick way.
Last edited by null2 on Sat May 25, 2019 11:35 pm
Sorry for my bad english. I'm from USA.
User avatar
null2
Registered User
Posts: 461
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:03 am
Contact: