phpBB Media Embed PlugIn

youtube 'conflicts with bbcode'.. how do we fix this? - phpBB Media Embed PlugIn

youtube 'conflicts with bbcode'.. how do we fix this?

by neptronix » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:36 am

Hey all. I'm running a forum with 10 years of content in it..
I was excited about the media plugin, until i found out the big deal breaker.. that youtube does not work if you've been using the youtube bbcode..

Is there a code patch or workaround for this? seems like an arbitrary behavior that should go by the wayside..
neptronix
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 3:53 pm
Contact:

Re: youtube 'conflicts with bbcode'.. how do we fix this?

by VSE » Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:20 am

No you'll just have to continue using your OLD youtube BBCode and can't use the one from Media Embed.
Dictated but not read.
Official phpBB Extensions My Extensions & MODs
Please do not PM me for support.
User avatar
VSE
Extensions Development Coordinator
Extensions Development Coordinator
Posts: 4681
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:37 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Name: Matt Friedman
Contact:

Re: youtube 'conflicts with bbcode'.. how do we fix this?

by neptronix » Sun Oct 28, 2018 5:02 pm

That sucks. That makes this plugin useless because of the inconsistency. Our users are already confused despite us putting a sticky up.
Another thing is that if you are not logged in, you get error messages about attachment permissions for the embeds.

Since you guys have stated you won't support it and don't have any tips, i won't bother hacking on it to fix these things. Just gonna uninstall it.
This is a shame because this plugin is huge for phpbb and adds functionality other platforms have had for ~5 years. phpbb desperately needs these things.
neptronix
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 3:53 pm
Contact:

Re: youtube 'conflicts with bbcode'.. how do we fix this?

by neptronix » Wed Oct 31, 2018 2:16 pm

Let me ask you this while i have your ear.
I'm willing to hack on this plugin and maintain it myself and submit the resulting code because i truly want it to work without any warts.

..BUT.. is this functionality planned to be integrated into 3.3.x at some point?
If so, will it use the [media] tag?

Because i know my work will be broken in 3.3.x..
neptronix
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 3:53 pm
Contact: