Stop Forum Spam

Error when registering new user with SFS active - Stop Forum Spam

Re: Error when registering new user with SFS active

by RMcGirr83 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:33 am

It is beyond my control is SFS is down. I just tried it and it's back up.
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored
User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 20934
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: Error when registering new user with SFS active

by RobLatour » Tue Apr 10, 2018 11:44 am

Well, I just set "Allow if Stop Forum Spam is down" to 'no' and ran a test. I am still getting the same error, so I reverted "Allow if Stop Forum Spam is down" to 'yes'. Perhaps something else is causing this other than sfs being up or down?
RobLatour
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Error when registering new user with SFS active

by RMcGirr83 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:44 pm

Give me the credentials that are trying to register.
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored
User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 20934
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: Error when registering new user with SFS active

by RobLatour » Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:57 pm

I was using a user id name of TestName, password of p123456T, email id was a hotmail email id - I don't what to type it out here - I tried to pm you but didn't see your name on the list. I assume you can't pm me either, but if you need to you can email me at info@push2run.com for more info.
RobLatour
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Error when registering new user with SFS active

by papa parrot » Wed Apr 11, 2018 1:13 am

You could send a "team member " a PM, and ask them to forward it, or all you need is 1 more post,
In order to combat spam, users with fewer than 5 posts may only send private messages to team members.

We apologise for the inconvenience.

I suggested that RobLatour asked about this here, when they posted at Stop Forum Spam, the API and data base access is up and running , and has not been down recently, we have had others ask us about this before as well, but no one ever posted anything clear as to what was done to resolve the problem, I couldn't help, because I am not using phpBB and this extension. I can confirm though, using fluxbb and a mod, for detecting spambots, there is no problems connecting to SFS, and using the data base info to decide if a registrar can register, Stop Forum Spam is not down, nor has been recently.. any way, hope the OP finds a solution.
User avatar
papa parrot
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:11 pm
Name: Bryan Parrot
Contact:

Re: Error when registering new user with SFS active

by papa parrot » Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:48 pm

It is hard to help anyone , when they don't give much relevant details, but any way,...
one important thing:

allow_url_fopen = 1

You can use your : phpinfo.info to check this,
/admin_statistics.php?action=phpinfo
Where it says "core", allow_url_fopen should be on,... ? If it isn't, try setting it to on and see if the problem still occurs.

I just now remembered when I first installed php, and the data base , etc on my server, even though the forum software was different, the mod I wanted to use is similar, and I had the same problem, it was not accessing SFS and submitting the data like it should, when I looked at the "phpinfo", I found that the default setting for allow_url_fopen
was 0 or OFF, as soon as I changed it to on, everything started working as it should. The OP needs to check this.
User avatar
papa parrot
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:11 pm
Name: Bryan Parrot
Contact:

Re: Error when registering new user with SFS active

by RobLatour » Sat Apr 14, 2018 1:17 am

Thanks for the suggestion. I went into my phpbb site as an administrator, clicked on the 'System' tab, in the menu bar to the left under 'General Tasks' I clicked on 'PHP information', and on that screen there was a value for 'allow_url_fopen' and to the right of that it said under 'LOCAL VALUE' 'On' and under 'MASTER VALUE' 'On'. So it seems to already be set as required.
RobLatour
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Error when registering new user with SFS active

by papa parrot » Sat Apr 14, 2018 2:20 am

I saw your post at SFS, and I noticed in another thread :
Sklerder> I was to reply to enable "allow_url_fopen" in you php.ini, but RMcGirr83 posted (today) on another discussion on the forum that it's not used by the plugin.
But as he says that cURL is used by the plugin, maybe it's that cURL is not enabled on your system ...
In your most recent post at SFS, it shows "cURL" is enabled,
Also, there are many curl options, but none mention wrapping - here is what is listed:

curl
cURL support enabled
cURL Information 7.38.0
User avatar
papa parrot
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:11 pm
Name: Bryan Parrot
Contact:

Re: Error when registering new user with SFS active

by papa parrot » Sat Apr 14, 2018 2:38 am

From SFS:
Pedigree>>
If you have SSH access to your server, what does this command output?

Code: Select all

curl -o - http://api.stopforumspam.org/api?ip=1.2.3.4
Also, if you have not done this, you should install the "https://www.stopforumspam.com/sfsdiag.zip"
mentioned in this thread: https://www.stopforumspam.com/forum/vie ... 039#p48039
It may have some useful information. Look for some thing like this :

Code: Select all

file_get_contents exists
allow_url_fopen = 1
attempting file_get_contents of sfs
file_get_contents for sfs returned string(109) " username no 0 "
attemping file_get_contents of dyndns
file_get_contents for dyndns returned string(107)
User avatar
papa parrot
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:11 pm
Name: Bryan Parrot
Contact:

Re: Error when registering new user with SFS active

by RobLatour » Sat Apr 14, 2018 12:41 pm

Unfortunately, I do not have ssh access, my host provider charges extra for that
RobLatour
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Error when registering new user with SFS active

by papa parrot » Sat Apr 14, 2018 2:11 pm

Oh, that is not good, but ok, well, Have you tried contacting their support on this ? They may need to help on this. In one thread at SFS, and actually
the same person posted here as well, but in a different topic, any way they had the same problem, did not have ssh access, I don't have it "bookmarked", and will take me a while to find it, also have some morning chores to do.
I am pretty, "stumped" on this, and not really sure how to proceed, Hopeing maybe RMcGirr83 will have some ideas. I notice in his signature,
All requests for support via PM will be ignored
, but I think , if he is willing to try to help, he will need details that are some what sensitive, and
would be better handled by PM, by now , I think you should be able to send a PM, but it won't do any good if he ignores them, also you will need to know exactly what details he needs, if he will help. I will check back later,
Signature>> Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer </quote>
Hint, hint,... if you have the means, quite often a beer, or coffee helps motivate people, the same, I hope you don't have to pay extra for support from your hosting, but you might have to, I suppose it would just be a 1 time deal,... but any way, try contacting them.
================ edited ==========
Found it, https://www.stopforumspam.com/forum/vie ... 041#p48041
I don't have shell access unfortunately.
The OP communicated with Pedigree via PM and apparently solved the problem by upating the php version,
What version of php do you have ? You can look at the "phpinfo" in your php administration options:

Code: Select all

/admin_statistics.php?action=phpinfo
User avatar
papa parrot
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:11 pm
Name: Bryan Parrot
Contact:

Re: Error when registering new user with SFS active

by allroadusa » Sat Apr 14, 2018 5:01 pm

Hi guys,
I can confirm SFS is down since Friday 13. I don't know if it has to do with the SFS.com website or with the extension by itself but there is something wrong.
Please look into it.
Thanks
allroadusa
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Error when registering new user with SFS active

by papa parrot » Sat Apr 14, 2018 6:13 pm

It must be you, or your server, because I have no problems accessing, https://www.stopforumspam.com/]
I just connected now, and yesterday as well , this is part of my logs, of spammers blocked :

Code: Select all

Blocked last 14 days
2018-04-13	12	12	0
2018-04-14	9 
yesterday and today,
From another server:

Code: Select all

2018-04-13	72	72	
2018-04-14	29

And using ssh access:

Code: Select all

$ curl -o - http://api.stopforumspam.org/api?ip=1.2.3.4
<response success="true">
        <type>ip</type>
        <appears>yes</appears>
        <lastseen>2017-10-03 10:40:11</lastseen>
        <frequency>53</frequency>
</response>$ date
Sat Apr 14 13:10:52 CDT 2018
$ curl -o - http://api.stopforumspam.org/api?ip=1.2.3.4 
<response success="true">
        <type>ip</type>
        <appears>yes</appears>
        <lastseen>2017-10-03 10:40:11</lastseen>
        <frequency>53</frequency>

I did this just now, if SFS was down, and it is NOT, I would not have been able to connect.
So, What do you have to "confirm" this,? any logs, or anything ?
Last edited by papa parrot on Sat Apr 14, 2018 6:22 pm
User avatar
papa parrot
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:11 pm
Name: Bryan Parrot
Contact:

Re: Error when registering new user with SFS active

by papa parrot » Sat Apr 14, 2018 6:19 pm

Please look into it.
With out any details from you, about how it is you are trying to access, ...etc. Nobody can really look into it, all I can say , is it is not down for me, so it is something wrong with your server, or this extension, or how you have it configured.
User avatar
papa parrot
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:11 pm
Name: Bryan Parrot
Contact:

Re: Error when registering new user with SFS active

by allroadusa » Sat Apr 14, 2018 6:29 pm

It has been working great for the last 3 years but suddenly starting from Friday 13 my forum got spammed.
So I looked at the Admin log :
log.jpeg
I own 3 phpbb forums and all 3 show same behavior.
Something happened between the extention and SFS api and I'm not the owner of any of this. There isn't much I can do...
allroadusa
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 2:06 pm
Contact: