QuickReply Reloaded

"Enable Ajax posting" and "Post Numbers" extension. - QuickReply Reloaded

"Enable Ajax posting" and "Post Numbers" extension.

by Anuj Dhawan » Mon Aug 01, 2016 11:45 am

Hi,

Just installed this extension it seems to work great. However, observed one thing that if you 'Enable Ajax posting' set to yes - any reply made in a given topic with "Quick Reply" re-number the post number from #1; setting 'Enable Ajax posting' to "No" keeps the post-numbers in sync. I'd believe, even with "Enable Ajax posting" set to yes - the post numbers should not re-start from #1, in the middle of the topic, yes? Please guide.
Thanks,
Anuj Dhawan
Registered User
Posts: 375
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 6:44 pm
Contact:

Re: "Enable Ajax posting" and "Post Numbers" extension.

by LavIgor » Mon Aug 01, 2016 7:41 pm

Please contact the author of that extension to add compatibility with QuickReply or try to use the alternative NumPosts extension (note: the page is in Russian).
LavIgor
Registered User
Posts: 541
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 1:47 pm

Re: "Enable Ajax posting" and "Post Numbers" extension.

by Anuj Dhawan » Thu Aug 11, 2016 1:25 pm

Thanks for the reply. NumPosts is in Beta so I have not tried it yet. I observe that there is another who has reported it some time back and the reply from kasimi (author of that extension) goes like this:

When posting with QuickReply Reloaded the contents of the new post is rendered and returned via Ajax, i.e. the page doesn't reload. The numbering fails because only that one post is rendered, making the Post Numbers extension treat it as the first post of the topic/page.

There is a way for me to detect if QuickReply Reloaded is used when calculating the post numbers. However, I'd have to re-calculate the start value which requires an additional database query and a bunch of logic. A simpler solution would be for the QuickReply Reloaded extension to send the last post number to the server when making a post, so that I can use that value as a starting point.

Keeping in mind that reloading the page fixes the wrong post number, in my opinion both of those solutions don't justify the effort. Unless I can think of an easier solution I'm afraid there won't be a fix for this.


Looks like, there is no easy solution...
Thanks,
Anuj Dhawan
Registered User
Posts: 375
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 6:44 pm
Contact: