Warning: The author of this contribution does not provide support for it anymore.

ACP Announcement Centre

Centre not showing. - ACP Announcement Centre

Re: Centre not showing.

by Jo Ann » Sun Apr 24, 2011 8:56 pm

ran the install, but there was no install dir to delete, and board index has two boxes and known of the original categories lol
Jo Ann
User avatar
Jo Ann
Registered User
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Western PA
Contact:

Re: Centre not showing.

by Jo Ann » Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:04 pm

my categories are still there but i have two centres...guess you got to watch what you wish for....should i uninstall and try again to have only one...or is there a file i can go to to modify to get rid of one of the centres ;-)
Jo Ann
User avatar
Jo Ann
Registered User
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Western PA
Contact:

Re: Centre not showing.

by Jo Ann » Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:09 pm

i can not find where i go to manage the centre(s) I must still be missing something
Jo Ann
User avatar
Jo Ann
Registered User
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Western PA
Contact:

Re: Centre not showing.

by lefty74 » Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:15 pm

if you have two boxes then the code

Code: Select all

 <!--- INCLUDE announcement_centre.html -->
is probably twice in the overall_header.html file. it's probably best to manually remove one of the two entries.

to manage the announcement centre, go to the acp, then you should see a .MODs tab. click on that and you should see the announcement centre modules.
lefty74
zoocrew.eu - help us save our wildlife
My MODS | Due to lack of time I unfortunately am unable to work on my mods anymore, anyone who has ideas to improve them and would like to take any of them over, please PM me.
User avatar
lefty74
Registered User
Posts: 3649
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 8:26 pm
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Centre not showing.

by Jo Ann » Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:26 pm

i went to the overall file in style template, but is does not show this line <!--- INCLUDE announcement_centre.html --> at all....going to scrutinize it again
Jo Ann
User avatar
Jo Ann
Registered User
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Western PA
Contact:

Re: Centre not showing.

by Jo Ann » Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:33 pm

mchat appears to have broken my .mod. when i uninstalled it, it left error junk in it
Jo Ann
User avatar
Jo Ann
Registered User
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Western PA
Contact:

Re: Centre not showing.

by Jo Ann » Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:46 pm

there were two include statements and took one out, but both are still there. i am one of those ppl that are good for doing beta testing cuz if it can go wrong, it will. ;-) also to uninstall this you have to do so first with automod and then try and re-install and then the acp install program, uninstalls it correctly. and how do I uninstall .mod? I had to manually remove mchat stuff from the db myself, after uninstalling, but .mod can't find the info in the db and so its a page of errors.
Jo Ann
User avatar
Jo Ann
Registered User
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Western PA
Contact:

Re: Centre not showing.

by Jo Ann » Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:54 pm

i am just gonna go and redo my board, apparently the autoback didn't work either LOL
Jo Ann
User avatar
Jo Ann
Registered User
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Western PA
Contact:

Re: Centre not showing.

by lefty74 » Sun Apr 24, 2011 10:35 pm

if you took one out and saved it on your server again, you probably need to refresh the template via the acp for you to see the change as the cached template file is still the old one.

edit: it's best to download the file from your server, edit it with a decent texteditor (like notepad++), then reupload it.
lefty74
zoocrew.eu - help us save our wildlife
My MODS | Due to lack of time I unfortunately am unable to work on my mods anymore, anyone who has ideas to improve them and would like to take any of them over, please PM me.
User avatar
lefty74
Registered User
Posts: 3649
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 8:26 pm
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Centre not showing.

by Jo Ann » Sun Apr 24, 2011 11:49 pm

I have my own domain and server...but i decided to delete the board and then put it back up and then i installed automod then that blew up the board and left acp, and then I redid the whole board again and made sure it was backuped and it half blew up my board, sooo i am starting all over again and then will work on extras tomorrow or so....when it rains it pours.. ;-)
Jo Ann
User avatar
Jo Ann
Registered User
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Western PA
Contact:

Re: Centre not showing.

by Jo Ann » Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:54 am

i am now having an issue with automod. it blew up my test board and my real board...acp was intack, but when i went to the board this error msg was on both


Warning: include(../common.php) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/jomay/www/test/index.php on line 19

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening '../common.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5/lib/php') in /home/jomay/www/test/index.php on line 19

Fatal error: Call to a member function session_begin() on a non-object in /home/jomay/www/test/index.php on line 20
Jo Ann
User avatar
Jo Ann
Registered User
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Western PA
Contact:

Re: Centre not showing.

by lefty74 » Mon Apr 25, 2011 3:10 pm

I am not sure what you did but you are missing files from the standard phpbb, certainly includes/common.php.
lefty74
zoocrew.eu - help us save our wildlife
My MODS | Due to lack of time I unfortunately am unable to work on my mods anymore, anyone who has ideas to improve them and would like to take any of them over, please PM me.
User avatar
lefty74
Registered User
Posts: 3649
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 8:26 pm
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Centre not showing.

by Jo Ann » Mon Apr 25, 2011 5:17 pm

no my common was there...i finally just restored my forum from my server back up. but the thing is, my test form i totally redid and the first thing i did was load automod and my acp was fine but my board index showed that error too, and the files where there.

now with the restore, it had automod on there, just afraid to use it, can only redo a forum so many times before you feel like going postal on all electronic items including my dish washer...and that is some serious postal....LOL

i put up the test and my forum up again (i forgot about this) left out automod and did the same with my regular forum and this is what it they both looked like before the restore and without the new style, and what my forum looks like now withouthttp://test.jomay.com and than my forum after restore (cuz i couldn't get it to work) http://wpatrailriders.jomay.com I had thought maybe the problem was the style.

I really appreciate your time and help lefty, sometimes its just easier to blow someone off...but it shows you are not only helpful, but like some of us, you are driven to find the problem and correct....that kinda like me spending all those hours sitting at the puter going nuts over files and redoing that forum and the test forum about 11 times yesterday. :mrgreen: i didn't even practice my fiddle and that's rare.
Jo Ann
User avatar
Jo Ann
Registered User
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Western PA
Contact:

Re: Centre not showing.

by lefty74 » Mon Apr 25, 2011 8:19 pm

jo ann, white pages often refer to suppressed errors. do you have an error log somewhere on your server?

i am a bit confused as to what you ended up doing. did you restore your (test)board or installed it completely new? i would probably have done a new install. when you do a new install, don't use a script from cpanel or something like this. it's always best to do this yourself with the software from here.
lefty74
zoocrew.eu - help us save our wildlife
My MODS | Due to lack of time I unfortunately am unable to work on my mods anymore, anyone who has ideas to improve them and would like to take any of them over, please PM me.
User avatar
lefty74
Registered User
Posts: 3649
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 8:26 pm
Location: NL
Contact:

Re: Centre not showing.

by Jo Ann » Mon Apr 25, 2011 8:46 pm

no i did my real forum from server back up, and that's whats up now. I had done both boards from total scratch three times. and the last time from scratch,both ended up with blank broswer screens. so gave up and restored it from the server. not sure why i am having this problem. decided to run a total virus scan just for the heck of it, cuz things just don't seem right somehow....
Jo Ann
User avatar
Jo Ann
Registered User
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Western PA
Contact: