Warning: The author of this contribution does not provide support for it anymore.

Breizh Ajax Checks

ACP screen posts incorrectly after install. - Breizh Ajax Checks

ACP screen posts incorrectly after install.

by Tnias » Sat Aug 25, 2012 10:37 pm

Support Request Template

What version of phpBB are you using?: phpBB 3.0.10
What is your board’s URL?: http://teamlawforum.net
Which database type/version are you using?: MySQL(i) 5.5.23-55
Which PHP version are you using?: 5.2.17
Who do you host your board with?: HostGator
How did you install your board?: I used the download package from phpBB.com
Is your board a fresh install or a conversion?: Update from a previous version of phpBB3
What MODs do you have installed?: Auto Backup (1.0.3)
Private Message Moderation (1.5.4)
Peoplesign CAPTCHA Plugin (1.0.15)
installed the links to the STK as directed in the STK documentation
Breizh Ajax Checks (1.3.0)
What styles do you currently have installed?: prosilver
subsilver2 (not active)
What language(s) is your board currently using?: British English
What is your level of experience?: Novice to PHP but have used phpBB since 2005
What username can be used to view this issue?: Only occurs in the ACP therefore No username or password is given here
What password can be used to view this issue?: No answer given
When did your problem begin?: Our forum was working perfectly until we used AutoMod to load the "Breizh Ajax Checks" mod (hereinafter "BACmod"); however, when we tried to get support from that mod's support area on the phpBB.com forum, they deny that the BACmod could have had anything to do with the glitch we are receiving.
Please describe your problem.:We installed the BACmod using AutoMod and the mod seemed to install correctly; however, after that install the ACP page does not display correctly; see the following screen image: Post BACmod install image.

When we saw the error we tried to uninstall the BACmod also using AutoMod. However, that failed. So, we copied both the screen image from that error and did a [crtl]+[c] screen copy and pasted the resulting text in a notepad file.

From those screen images you can see that the “>” characters between the tabs for the pages on the ACP are all listed, as text, at the end of the same line of the screen the tabs are on with the code “id="activetab"> >”following those other misplaced “>” characters; and, the colums of the ACP page are also messed up (see the images provided).

Generated by Support Toolkit SRT Generator.

Hello:
Can someone help us?
The BACmod will not uninstall, it gets an error so we have no idea what to do now.
Prior to installing the BACmod our forum worked perfectly.

Can anyone help us or direct us to the proper place to secure the help we need?

Thanks in advance, Tnias.
Last edited by Tnias on Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:09 am
Tnias.

"In memory of our God, our faith, and freedom,
and of our spouses, our children, and our peace."
User avatar
Tnias
Registered User
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:37 am
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: ACP screen posts incorrectly after install.

by sylver35 » Sun Aug 26, 2012 10:51 am

Hello,

This mod is not responsible for this bug.
You has made modifications in the html of the administration and it is this that is the cause just.
Hello world !
User avatar
sylver35
Registered User
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:38 pm
Location: France / Bretagne
Name: Philippe
Contact:

Re: ACP screen posts incorrectly after install.

by Tnias » Sun Aug 26, 2012 5:30 pm

Thank you for your response.
Ok; so, as noted in the "Support Request Template" above, several mods were installed before this one; however, all of the mods on our board were officially approved mods for the version of phpBB in which they were installed; and, they were installed either by AutoMod or prior to AutoMod's installation (well over a year ago) using the install method prescribed in the officially approved mod as presented on this phpBB.com site.

However, the problem occurred when we installed the BACmod into our properly working phpBB forum; Thus, though the AutoMod installation of BACmod may not be responsible for the ACP screen presentation glitch we are experiencing; the glitch only became apparent when we used AutoMod to install the BACmod into our properly working phpBB forum and AutoMod cannot reverse what it did.

Thus, regardless of how it happened we still need to resolve the problem and we know of no other place to ask for help.

Given that the error is only a screen presentation it seems like that solution could be simple enough if we can only find someone willingto help.

Thus, if someone can direct us to how we might correct this glitch that only became apparent when we installed the BACmod we would certainly appreciate it.

Thanks, in advance.
Last edited by Tnias on Sat Sep 01, 2012 3:53 pm
Tnias.

"In memory of our God, our faith, and freedom,
and of our spouses, our children, and our peace."
User avatar
Tnias
Registered User
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:37 am
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: ACP screen posts incorrectly after install.

by sylver35 » Mon Aug 27, 2012 9:39 am

I simply have no time to fix this, I also have a family and a job that takes a lot of time.

Install this mod on a test forum and you will find that this bug can not be derived from this mod.

Consequently, as this bug comes from a change you made ​​(you can also see that you changed the logo in your phpbb administration) you must then you turn to the direct support phpbb

Thank you.
Hello world !
User avatar
sylver35
Registered User
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:38 pm
Location: France / Bretagne
Name: Philippe
Contact:

Re: ACP screen posts incorrectly after install.

by Tnias » Mon Aug 27, 2012 12:02 pm

We certainly understand the time limitation and can only express our thankfulness that you took part of that time to respond. Thank you.

We know glitches like this can occur as combinations of adjustments (mods) grow in a very complex system like the phpBB. Quite frankly, we are constantly amazed at how well the phpBB software (system) is maintained by volunteers like yourself and the support team.

We have used the BACmod on other phpBB forums as well with good success; and, that is exactly why we added it to the Team Law Forum.

By the way, the logo change on our site was provided the phpBB Support Team; and, it requires no code changes. You simply save an appropriate graphic file with the same name (and in place) of the phpBB logo used by default. Though I have had a lot of coding experience in the past, php is new to me—so I need all of the help I can get. I don’t have the programming skills necessary to make changes in files like you do; that is why people like me rely so much on help from people like you. I don't even know what file generates the ACP page. If I did, I would have already opened that file and compared it with a virgin file to see if I could see what was different. That alone might help resolve this matter. So, given that you do not have the time to help us fix this, can you help us learn where we might get the help we need. From what we can tell, the phpBB.com support team instructs people with such glitches to post requests for support in the area where the Mod that was installed when the problem occurred—and that is right here.

Can you redirect us?
Last edited by Tnias on Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:15 pm
Tnias.

"In memory of our God, our faith, and freedom,
and of our spouses, our children, and our peace."
User avatar
Tnias
Registered User
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:37 am
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: ACP screen posts incorrectly after install.

by sylver35 » Mon Aug 27, 2012 12:41 pm

You have made ​​changes in administration html files, for example the link to the support toolkit.
Change the file adm/style/overall_header.html by a new and everything will be in order.

And again, I repeat, is not this mod is the cause of your mistakes made in an administration file...
Hello world !
User avatar
sylver35
Registered User
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:38 pm
Location: France / Bretagne
Name: Philippe
Contact:

Re: ACP screen posts incorrectly after install.

by Tnias » Mon Aug 27, 2012 3:40 pm

Thank you for the reference to the header file, we will check that out.
    However, the only way our board has been changed has been in accord with mods installed either by AutoMod or by the install method prescribed in the officially approved mods as presented on the phpBB.com site [as with the link to the support toolkit (hereinafter “STK”); which was provided with the STK by the phpBB.com support team]. And, before we installed this BACmod, everything worked perfectly. Therefore, regardless of the correctness of the BACmod, whatever is wrong became apparent only after we installed the BACmod.
Respectively, that is why we posted our original inquiry in this topical thread. Also, please be aware of the fact that we never accused you or the BACmod of being the cause of the glitch—the AutoMod installation of the BACmod was simply when the glitch began. In fact, the mod seems to be working perfectly in the forum “where it counts.” And though the ACP does not appear properly on the screen, it still seems to work correctly. Thus, we are not so concerned over that.

The bottom line: we simply want to learn how to resolve whatever it is that happened to our phpBB forum’s ACP page presentation.

Of course, that is also why we are so thankful that:
sylver35 wrote:Change the file adm/style/overall_header.html by a new and everything will be in order.
However, please forgive us for our ignorance. We didn’t understand what you meant. We understand the file name, but we do not understand what you meant by: “by a new”.

Would you be so kind as to explain?

Thank you, again, and in advance for your time and help.
Last edited by Tnias on Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:31 pm
Tnias.

"In memory of our God, our faith, and freedom,
and of our spouses, our children, and our peace."
User avatar
Tnias
Registered User
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:37 am
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: ACP screen posts incorrectly after install.

by sylver35 » Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:03 pm

Install this mod on another forum test and see that this mod can not produce this bug.
If I say that from the beginning it is because I have the sufficient knowledge for that...
Hello world !
User avatar
sylver35
Registered User
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:38 pm
Location: France / Bretagne
Name: Philippe
Contact:

Re: ACP screen posts incorrectly after install.

by Tnias » Fri Aug 31, 2012 1:40 am

Thank you again for you knowledge, experienced and help.

However, the reason we installed this BACmod on our phpBB forum was that we had already installed it on another less critical board and were pleased with the results. However, that does not help us understand why when we installed it on the Team Law forum our ACP stopped being written to the screen properly (even though the ACP still seems to work properly in every other way).

Thus, the simple fact remains, the AutoMod installation of the BACmod triggered the problem. However, we simply need help correcting the problem; thus, we are simply looking for that help—from anyone willing to help.

Accordingly, we accept your no fault plea (we never alleged BACmod was faulty); and, we are happy for that. However, we are still stuck with the problem and only know that it happened when we installed the BACmod.

Previously, you referenced the file: “adm/style/overall_header.html”; and, though we hoped that would help, when we changed that file on our phpBB forum to a virgin file (from a new test install), that did not correct the problem; thus, we still have not discovered how to fix the glitch.

Respectively, we still need help if anyone can spare the time or direct us to where we might find the needed help.

Thanks again.

PS: by the way we hope you understand how greatful we are for the work you have done on the BACmod. It works beautifully on our our forum and we would like to expand it to handle the other data fields (like mailing location) that can be added through the ACP. Keep up the good work!
Tnias.

"In memory of our God, our faith, and freedom,
and of our spouses, our children, and our peace."
User avatar
Tnias
Registered User
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:37 am
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Follow up.

by Tnias » Fri Sep 07, 2012 11:44 pm

Because the glitch happened the moment we installed the BACmod using AutoMOD, our request for support was first posted here. As you indicated, somehow the ACP header file got corrupted. You suggested that it may have been the changes that were installed with the STK links that were edited into the Header file. However, because those files were changed quite some time before the BACmod was installed and we saw no change in the output until the BACmod was installed, we expected the error came either from BACmod or from AutoMOD. Nonetheless, knowing your software could not have caused the problem, you sent us to the STK Support Team; and, though the glitch was not a problem with the STK mod; they helped us find the solution. Accordingly, it seems proper to brief that correction here as follows:
Noxwizard wrote:The problem isn't caused by the edit for the STK. It looks like someone thought there was a mistake in the HTML later on when there wasn't.

Open: /adm/style/overall_header.html
Find:

Code: Select all

<li><!-- IF t_block1.S_SELECTED --> id="activetab"<!-- ENDIF -->><a href="{t_block1.U_TITLE}"><span>{t_block1.L_TITLE}</span></a></li>

Replace with:

Code: Select all

<li<!-- IF t_block1.S_SELECTED --> id="activetab"<!-- ENDIF -->><a href="{t_block1.U_TITLE}"><span>{t_block1.L_TITLE}</span></a></li>

The opening <li> is supposed to be missing the closing >. It's added after the first <!-- ENDIF -->. By adding it back, the HTML became malformed.

Looking through that file we found another instance that seemed like the same kind of error [where the opening <li> is supposed to be missing the closing >. It's added after the first <!-- ENDIF -->]; so, we changed that code in the same fashion; that block of changed code now looks like this:

Code: Select all

<li<!-- IF l_block1.l_block2.l_block3.S_SELECTED --> id="activemenu"<!-- ENDIF -->><a href="{l_block1.l_block2.l_block3.U_TITLE}"><span>{l_block1.l_block2.l_block3.L_TITLE}</span></a></li>

But, that still did not fix the ACP display glitch.

However, the glitch was removed when we followed the additional instructions we received as follows:
D¡cky wrote:There are still some problems with your adm/style/overall_header.html

FIND

Code: Select all

<!-- IF META --></head>{META}<!-- ENDIF -->

REPLACE WITH

Code: Select all

<!-- IF META -->{META}<!-- ENDIF -->

FIND

Code: Select all

</div></div></div></div></div></div></body></html>
REMOVE the complete line.

After editing, purge the cache. You can use FTP and delete all files in the cache folder except for index.htm and .htaccess.

Before we received that solution (on 9/7/2012), we manually stepped all of the way through your BACmod; and, as you said, we could find no place where your awesome MOD could have possibly caused the glitch. So, we expected the reason the glitch only appeared the instant BACmod was installed by AutoMOD was because AutoMOD likely refreshed the cache files after your MOD was installed. Thus, the glitch did not become apparent until the cache files changed after the STK header mod was installed.

We believe we also discovered how the file got changed without anyone actually making a change in the file itself; and, your input was elemental to that discovery as well.

We use Dreamweaver to manage several Internet sites and during the process of changing the files as noted above we opened, changed the file, saved and uploaded it to the server several times. However, during that process we noticed that sometimes the instant we opened the file it would indicate that it had changed even before we made any changes. Our system had never done that before so we wondered how that was all of the sudden happening now. We checked the Dreamweaver preference settings and discovered that when we recently upgraded Dreamweaver to the newest version, the Preference setting for “CodeRewriting” had been changed to “Fix invalidly nested and unclosed tags”. Thus, without our ever knowing the code had been changed, we expect Dreamweaver changed it (when the file was opened for the STK tool header adjustment). We came to this conclusion because all of the changes that fixed the form were of just that type of thing. Respectively, we again turned off that option—we never want software to rewrite anything we don’t on purpose change ourselves.

Respectively, we want to personally thank you again for the part you played in helping us resolve this matter—thank you for all of the great work you do!

May you have all of the blessings you desire.
Tnias.

"In memory of our God, our faith, and freedom,
and of our spouses, our children, and our peace."
User avatar
Tnias
Registered User
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:37 am
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: ACP screen posts incorrectly after install.

by sylver35 » Sat Sep 08, 2012 6:24 pm

We use Dreamweaver

Do not use this software is not suitable for editing files from a phpbb forum
A very good solution is to use only free software: notepad++
Hello world !
User avatar
sylver35
Registered User
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:38 pm
Location: France / Bretagne
Name: Philippe
Contact:

Re: ACP screen posts incorrectly after install.

by Tnias » Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:08 pm

We just downloaded, installed and reviewed a couple of files using: notepad++.
It looks good.
Thanks for the recommendation.
Tnias.

"In memory of our God, our faith, and freedom,
and of our spouses, our children, and our peace."
User avatar
Tnias
Registered User
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:37 am
Location: Colorado
Contact: