Support Toolkit

STK Database Cleaner: unexpected "new" in captcha_qa_plugin - Support Toolkit

STK Database Cleaner: unexpected "new" in captcha_qa_plugin

by Zebix » Mon Dec 30, 2019 2:00 am

Greetings,

I am experiencing a problem with STK Database Cleaner.

I am running a board in 3.0.12 and would like to upgrade it to 3.2.8. I'm not sure I have modded the database in the past (been a while!), so as they advise on the official page, I'd rather use the Database Cleaner to be sure.

I downloaded the 1.0.7-PL3 version of the STK here : https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/official_tool/stk/ which is said to be compatible with 3.0.12.
I unpacked in my forum directory successfully.

I browse to the STK index and it's ok, I am logged with my admin account.
I browse to Support Tools -> Database Cleaner and I get a blank page with only 1 text error line:
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected 'new' (T_NEW) in /home/zebix/public_html/forum/includes/captcha/plugins/phpbb_captcha_qa_plugin.php on line 104

I went to that file and checked the mentioned line, here is the code:

Code: Select all

function &get_instance()
	{
		$instance =& new phpbb_captcha_qa();  // my comment: this is line 104
		return $instance;
	}
What am I doing wrong?
Bix
Zebix
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 8:39 am
Location: Belgium, Europe
Contact:

Re: STK Database Cleaner: unexpected "new" in captcha_qa_plu

by 3Di » Mon Dec 30, 2019 3:17 am

Use max PHP 5.6.xx with this tool.
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
My development's activity ยบ PhpStorm's proud user
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
Looking for a specific feature or alternative option? We will rock you! ๐Ÿš€
User avatar
3Di
Former Team Member
Posts: 16032
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: STK Database Cleaner: unexpected "new" in captcha_qa_plu

by Zebix » Tue Dec 31, 2019 4:25 pm

Ouch, my server's PHP version is 7.0.33-0+deb9u6, I guess I'll have to do without the STK then :'(
thanks for your answer.
Bix
Zebix
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 8:39 am
Location: Belgium, Europe
Contact:

Re: STK Database Cleaner: unexpected "new" in captcha_qa_plu

by 3Di » Tue Dec 31, 2019 4:35 pm

Do it locally first, which is a good habit IMHO.
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
My development's activity ยบ PhpStorm's proud user
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
Looking for a specific feature or alternative option? We will rock you! ๐Ÿš€
User avatar
3Di
Former Team Member
Posts: 16032
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact: